BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Peter and the Starcatchers (Starcatchers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

It's always interesting, at least to me, to read a book that is the retelling of a beloved childhood tale. Whether it be a retold fairy tale such as SNOW WHITE or SLEEPING BEAUTY, or a classic such as PETER PAN, these new spins on old stories usually fall into one of tw...
It's always interesting, at least to me, to read a book that is the retelling of a beloved childhood tale. Whether it be a retold fairy tale such as SNOW WHITE or SLEEPING BEAUTY, or a classic such as PETER PAN, these new spins on old stories usually fall into one of two categories--terribly bad remakes, or truly amazing, imaginative stories with new twists. Thankfully, authors Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson have turned PETER AND THE STARCATCHERS into the latter.

In this rendering, Peter is an orphan about the ship Never Land. He's become the leader of sorts to the other young orphans who have been sold into slavery to King Zarboff the Third, evil ruler of Rundoon. Not long after Peter and his boys board the boat, he meets Molly Aster. The fourteen-year old daughter of the new Ambassador of Rundoon is unlike any other girl Peter has ever met. Actually, the only other girl he remembers seeing in a very long time was the daughter of the Headmaster of St. Norbert's Home for Wayward Boys.

Peter's increasing infatuation with Molly is challenged when she lets him in on a secret--she is an apprentice Starcatcher, one who guards the magical starstuff from the Others who would use it to do harm. Starstuff is magic that, when it falls to Earth, it brings about increased intelligence, happiness, and even the ability to fly. Although Peter is, at first, quite skeptical of Molly and her Starcatcher business, he soon learns that she's being nothing but truthful.

Add to the story the dreaded Pirate Black Stache and the evil pirate crew of the ship the Sea Devil, and you have an interesting story. Throw in the a shipwreck, a missing cargo of starstuff, mermaids, a flying crocodile, and island dwellers that just may be cannibals, and the story goes from interesting to amazing. This is a remarkable retelling, or possibly even a prequel, to the well known story of PETER PAN. Kudos to both Mr. Barry and Mr. Pearson for a highly entertaining and thoroughly engrossing read!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever

It is a good start to this epic series

posted by 11334149 on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good

    This is an excellent book. I reccomend this to readers in middle school and above. It is a little boing in the beginning but other than that its really good. It is confusing in the beginning because you dont know whats going on until one of the later chapters. Its also a page turner because it really keeps you guessing until the very end. Read this book!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Peter and the Starcatchers is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This seems like a very interesting book that I can't wait to read! It is adds a cool twist to the classical Peter Pan story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Loved it!

    So I was in the mood for something light and just a bit brainless, and dove into my daughter’s shelves for the first book in Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson’s Peter Pan prequels, called “Peter and the Starcatchers.” And oh, what fun this was.

    The story is essentially the adventure that got Peter and the Lost Boys to Neverland, introduced his pirate nemesis (here called The Black Stache, as he’s pre-hook), and birthed Tinkerbell. Barry and Pearson did an awesome job of creating characters full of personality and a thirst for adventure, and villains worthy of the name.

    This book was a joy to read. It’s absolutely suitable for kids (for whom it was written) as well as adults craving light, fun adventure.

    4 of 5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Truly imaginative!

    I read this book after seeing the cast on the Tony awards because I wanted to see if this kids book could live up to the hype of a Broadway play. It most certainly does. I couldnt put it down. I am now even more excited to see this show on Broadway this summer!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story except some language

    This is a fun story for the kids but I do have to edit it a bit as it has some questionable pirate talk. I usually just skip over words like idiot, stupid, damn and hell.

    It is really engaging and the kids beg for more chapters! Not sure why authors put language in children's books?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!!  I got

    My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!! 

    I got this audio book the SYNC summer program.

    The cover is definitely very Peter Pan, and I think it will attract any Peter Pan fans to read it.

    I listened to this book in the car with my son to and from school.  My son really enjoyed this book and wants to listen to the rest of the series if I can afford to get them in the future :)

    Peter and Molly are awesome lead characters.  I loved all the adventures that they had.  All the details and Peter Pan references was awesome.  This really was a long book too!!  I was amazed how long it was and how many chapters were in this story.  This book had a mission, flying, pirates, mermaids, a wrecked ship, giant storm, fighting, talking porpoises, and so much more.

    If you have seen Peter Pan and liked it, you need to read this book because you will definitely like it.  This is a fabulous book to read with your son, and it is for all ages, but probably more for middle grade readers. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    A good book

    This book was ok. It was kinda boring until the ending because nothing much happened. I pretty good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I found this book to be extremely interesting, however, also ext

    I found this book to be extremely interesting, however, also extremely dry and boring at parts.  I felt at some parts I couldn't put it down and I just HAD to read the next chapter, only to be disappointed with a chapter that seemed to just be there to take up space.  Peter, an orphan, gets sent on a ship along with five other young boys to become slaves of King Zarboff of Rundoon, who enjoys killing quite a lot.  The boys find themselves aboard "The Neverland" and Peter meets a girl named Molly Aster.  He also stumbles upon a magical trunk that is weightless and gives you the most amazing feeling in the world.  However, the evil pirate Black Stache wants the trunk and its magical power.  He destroys the ship that Molly's father is on, only to find out that the trunk is actually aboard the Neverland.  There are sword fights, storms, monstrous crocodiles, angry natives, and twists and turns.  I would recommend this book if you're looking for an entertaining read, but don't mind sitting through some uneventful chapters for the action.  Barry and Pearson do a nice job of crafting this prequel to the original "Peter Pan", and bring to life the story of how Peter came to be.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Lpve:)

    I was never waiting for my prince charming to come riding in... as a child i was always waiting for pter pan! Awsome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Cool

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Cool

    I am a big fan i have read all the books i have always wonder how he met wendy and all that i even chose this book for a book report i think the stories are really cute not my fav series no it does not even come close the harry potter or the hunger games but it is still a good book if u have free time and have nothing to read it is boring at parts though so ya but besides that its a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Awsome book

    Awsome book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    An amazing prequel to the classic Peter Pan. This book is an instant page-turner from page 1. You won't want to put it down. Perfect for boys and girls of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Great Read for all Peter Pan fans

    I read this at the suggestion of one of my students. It is a wonderful novel that tells the back story of Peter Pan, Captain Hook, and all the rest. Very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great story that precedes the story we all know.

    I enjoyed reading this book and excited to share with young readers. Love that the language is appropriate for all ages and that the story keeps you on your toes. I couldn't wait to see how Peter came across his ability to fly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    read all about it

    Peter and the Star Catchers

    The book starts on a hot day in England. Five boys in a hot stinky carriage don't know where they are going. Well let's just say it isn't pleasant. The five boys are going on an old ratty boat named the Never Land.
    They're going to King Zarboff III's castle. The boys will become King Zarboff III's slaves where they will work not daring to stop.
    You may not know this but the boys were forced on the boat from an orphanage. Peter, the boys leader, is always calm and he always has to be the oldest. Like if a new boy comes to the group that is 12 then Peter says he is 13 to be the leader.
    Well back to the book. When the boys and Peter get on the boat he was going to run off and escape, but one problem there is a big bad body guard. He was warned by a girl named Molly. Well there are flying alligator's, evil villains, and fallen stars. Read the book to find out the rest, and remember watch for falling stars.

    I would give this book 3 out of 5 stars because the book had great description but lacked in action. Read the book if you can handle it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Interesting reading

    Once I made a mental adjustment, I was able to go with the pre-Peter Pan concept. Based on some of the more 'violent' incidents, this wouldn't be a story for my young GKs. I would have to wait until they were pre-teen for sure, but then, the original Peter Pan story wasn't really for young children either. While it was a good read, it wasn't a book that I couldn't put down. The short chapters were a brilliant concept, especially if these books are put into the film genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    This is a great adventure.

    The title of this book is Peter and the Star catchers. The authors are Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson. Peter and the Star catchers is about this orphan boy named Peter who is about to have the adventure of a lifetime. Peter and his orphan buddies board a ship called the Never Land. When Peter boarded the ship he met a girl named Molly. Not long after that Black Stache appeared. He took over the Wasp which had the trunk. A little bit after that Black Stache, one of the most feared pirates in the seven seas, destroyed the Never Land. Peter¿s friend¿s luckily found shelter on a island which they thought was uninhabited. Peter and Molly were already there because they flew there. On the island Peter¿s friend¿s run into some savages. The savages end up helping Peter¿s friend¿s to stop Black Stache. Black Stache ends up getting his hand cut off. I think the message was not to be evil. The most evil character in this story gets his hand cut off. Most evil person in this book was Black Stache. Every time Stache came close to the trunk Peter found a way to neutralize Staches evil plan. I think this was a very good book because it was a great adventure. I liked Peter who is the main character. I also liked Black Stache. He was the villain of the story. I think this was the perfect book any reader. I don¿t really know anything the author could have changed in this book. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Pirates. Argh!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A surprisingly fun read!

    I had seen this book in stores for a very long time before I actually bought it. I was afraid it was going to be some kind of Peter Pan in space type of thing, similar to Treasure Planet. Boy was I wrong! It is a fantastic story about a boy who would become the infamous Peter Pan and his journey to becoming him. Once I started the book I couldnt put it down! The entire trilogy is outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book!! It was great to see how Peter Pan became Peter Pan. The characters are hard to forget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3