Customer Reviews for

Peter and the Starcatchers (Starcatchers Series #1)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Excellent

    Well developed characters, exciting storyline, creative plot -- this was one of the best books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Great adventure read

    The best reviewer of a children's book are kids. Well, I read this to my own sons,and then to my class of 5th graders,and they all love it! Even the girls! The action never stops,and it's like edge of your seat reading. My students beg me to read it every day. It's been a great read aloud for 5th graders. I think it would work well with any grade level, teachers! Now my students are asking if they can read the original Peter Pan. Read this book, kids, (and adults that are kids at heart). YOU WILL NOT REGRET THE TIME SPENT ON THIS ONE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    A GREAT prequel to Peter Pan

    I was unable to put it down!! A book filled with wry humor and exciting adventure -- a new classic for all children (even those at heart!) I plan on reading it to my children along with Peter Pan so that they can get the 'full story' of the wonderful characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    For the kid in ALL of us!!!

    I really liked this book and I'm 15. I never really liked peter pan but read it anyway just because I was bored. In hard-back it has 451pg.s plus some interesting illustrations that gives the book color. It tells you what happens before the book PETER PAN.It tells you how Tink. came to be-the reason Peter can fly, what happened to Capt. Hooks' hand and how he meets the Indians and Mermaids and some other things you might have wanted to know when you read PETER PAN. It really is a good read no matter your age or your normal reads are.But if you're an adventurer and kid at heart this is defineately a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    MAGICAL

    omgosh!!! this book was amazing. ive always been a fan of peter pan and this book made me love it even more. i finished it in one day. it tells how faries were made and how peter pan was created and why he could never grow up. it opened my mind and took me away on an adventure. i was almost sad when i finished it. i wanted it to go on longer and tell more great stories. even if your not a fan of peter pan you will be after you read it. its a great adition to the origial!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Excellent story!

    While not sure what to expect from this book, I am happy to say I was extremely enraptured by this story. The subtle humor, sly dialogue, constant action and the well developed lead in to the original Peter Pan legend was very well executed. A family oriented story, adults and children of all ages should enjoy the fun of reading this tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    Absoultely FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was great! It told you every little secrect about Peter Pan that you could know. I really loved it. I couldn't put it down until I finished it. Absoultely FANTASTIC!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    WOW

    I LOVED this book! I'm in my late teens and this book caught attention right away. It was great read; it had it's hold on me all throughout the story. It had my imagination going wild (that, in itself, is a hard thing to go... and it had been a long time coming.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    I always wondered how Peter Pan started out...

    A wonderfully creative story, this adventure kept me on the edge of my seat throughout its pages. It's written on an easier level for younger kids, but I'm 16 years old and couldn't put it down. I finished the thick book in four days, and i'm not that fast of a reader. It is amazing- especially if you like any adventure or fantasy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    My 10 year old son LOVED this book

    My 10 year old son loved this book. He couldn't put it down, when he did it was only to tell us about what was happening! It is fast paced and adventurous. I highly recommend for you and your child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    Incredible!!

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes books with magic in them. I liked the book because it was filled with action. It's one of the best books I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2005

    Pretty Good

    I was a little hesitant at first, and the book was a little hard to get into. But once I started reading, it was really pretty good. Everyone should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    I was lucky enough

    to be at the Miami Book Fare recently and have the chance to hear Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson talk about how they came up with the concept of this book. Their talk was so hysterical that even though I am well into my adult years I had to purchase it to give to my wonderful godson. Of course I had to read it myself before he received it. I think this is a must read for all Peter Pan fans young, old and anyone who just won't grow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    A Wonderful Adventure

    Even as a 26 year old man I was intrigued by the cover of this adventure. That Dave Berry is a favorite columnist of mine only added to the pleasure I received while reading this story. Adults who watched Peter Pan as a child will no doubt be itching to get thier hands on this book! Those who are pirates at heart will be longing to get thier hooks into Peter and the Starcatchers as well! Enjoy this read and revel in the innocence of young love; bask in the glory of amazed wonder as you see mermaids born and crocodiles fly. Set your imagination free with Peter and the Starcatchers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    ABSOLUTLY FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A great book! i loved all the characters, from mister grin to Molly.i also thought that the book serous yet at the same time humurous.i really liked the way the Starcatchers cummunicated through Ammm and the other porpoises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    The Origin of Peter Pan!!!!!

    I came across this book in the USA Today book review. At first I was skeptical about buying it, but I must say it is a page turner. Good characters, from Peter, Molly, Black Stache, Captain Stank, and Alf(along w/the future Never Land boys). Get the details on how Peter can fly, where Tinkerbell came from and the promise to go to London again one day. Great character action between Molly and Peter throughout the book. Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson have a winner on their hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2004

    A Novel Worthy of Peter Pan

    Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson have revived Barrie's classic tale of Peter Pan and his adventures on Neverland. It gives a great explanation of how Peter Pan came to be Peter Pan. There are some anecdotes here and there that I think everyone would enjoy-this story is so funny and brimming with adventure! My favorite character had to be Peter or Molly. They were both so funny and brave- without them this story could not have existed; if you put James in Peter's place for example, and took Molly out of the story, then it just wouldn't have been the same. This has to be the best book written in recent years- I absolutely enjoyed it. A classic worthy of any age- from ages 8-??????!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2004

    wonderful backstory of Peter Pan

    I was under the spell of this book from the beginning word. Each chapter leads so fast to the next that you never want to stop reading. This 'prequel' to Peter Pan is just charming and irresistable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    A nice change from the witches and wizards!

    It's great to get back to the classic tales. This book gives a new look to Peter Pan without losing that old magic. I couldn't put it down. It has a combination of both cleverness and humor. Great for kids or adults!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3