Customer Reviews for

Phantom (Harry Hole Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Marvelously woven plot.  Less 'fictional' than what the real dru

Marvelously woven plot.  Less 'fictional' than what the real drug underworld is probably all about.  Readers with personal or family addiction issues  should beware of the extremely dark and cruel reminders of the effect of the disease.  Highly recommended if you can de...
Marvelously woven plot.  Less 'fictional' than what the real drug underworld is probably all about.  Readers with personal or family addiction issues  should beware of the extremely dark and cruel reminders of the effect of the disease.  Highly recommended if you can detach from the subject matter.

posted by Lamarn1 on December 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Confusing-

Too many characters & subplots

posted by 17070758 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    it's a good follow up.

    slow reading. Hard to keep track of what is happening. Lost interest.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Confusing-

    Too many characters & subplots

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    If you enjoy good crime drama-----

    This was my first Harry Hole novel and I must say it was very good.
    Nice plot twists and plenty of realistic drama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Marvelously woven plot.  Less 'fictional' than what the real dru

    Marvelously woven plot.  Less 'fictional' than what the real drug underworld is probably all about.  Readers with personal or family addiction issues  should beware of the extremely dark and cruel reminders of the effect of the disease.  Highly recommended if you can detach from the subject matter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Very Good Read

    If you like dark, tightly written mystery/police procedural novels,especially Scandanavian ones, you will enjoy this. If you've never read any of the books in Jo Nesbo's carefully plotted Harry Hole series, I'd recommend that you read them in order. However, each of the novels stands alone. The translation from Nesbo's native Norwegian is into "British" English so there are a couple of quirky wordings but they don't diminish the work and sometimes add to its appeal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Nesbo is one of the best

    Complex crime novel deals with drug and alcohol abuse on a very personal level. Dark, believable story that pulls no punches.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the three years since the conclusion of ¿The Leopard,¿ Harry

    In the three years since the conclusion of “The Leopard,” Harry Hole has been serving contentedly as a non-violent enforcer based in Hong Kong, collecting money owed to his employer. Then one day, he ups and returns to Oslo when he learns that Oleg, the drug-using son of the love of his life, has been arrested for the murder of a fellow junkie. The police consider the case closed, so Harry acts independently to investigate.

    And along the way he finds himself immersed in the midst of Norway’s large drug problem. Hole uncovers a trail of violence and disappearances, police and political corruption, and Harry himself becomes a target of the mysterious drug lord Dubai. The novel is a bleak story of damaged individuals hooked on drugs, and the sleaziness inherent in the activity.

    The prior novels were forceful, clearly showing Harry’s tortured soul, and his unswerving ability to dig, dig, dig to the heart of a case, honestly and insightfully. “Phantom” accomplishes these ends, but to some extent is confusing at the end; whether the author did this purposely or not yet remains to be seen. As usual, the novel is translated faithfully and excellently, and the book is recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is pretty mediocre crime fiction

    You might like it if you're drawn to bleak, brutal Scandinavian crime stories, where all the characters are brooding and depressed. But it's hard to find anything to like or admire about any of the characters.

    Phantom is a Norwegian thriller, but nowhere near the quality of those Girl with the Dragon Tattoo books. I read a lot of crime fiction, and I’m not hard to please when it comes to this genre. But I found Phantom tedious, hard to believe and barely worth the effort of completing.

    This is the sixth (groan) in a series about Harry Hole (what a name -- is the author kidding?), an ex-Oslo detective with a substance abuse problem. Exiled to Hong Kong, he returns to Oslo to help out his ex-girlfriend and her drug-addicted son, who have run afoul of Russian drug dealers. Parts of the plot really strained credibility, such as the chapter where Harry Hole (???) suddenly produces, as if from nowhere, all the equipment and knowledge required to do an impromptu forensic examination of a crime scene that entirely resolves the plot. Harry repeatedly responds “Mmm…” when people tell him things. That’s what I call sparking dialogue. Sorry, I need more believability, more characterization and better writing than this one offers.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great read.

    If you are a fan of Harry Hole series, this latest book will not disappoint. It has a very surprising ending which makes me hope there will be another book soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    My husband and I recommend Jo Nesbo. His mysteries are real thrillers.

    Having read quite a few of Jo Nesbo's books, this one starts out more gently. Some just assault you right off the bat. It will grip out, however and bring Harry Hole back onto the scene. You will get reacquainted with his lady love. This one deals with drug trafficking. If you haven't read his novels before, you might want to get a couple of the older Harry Hole mysteries and this one, so you can get to know the character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Loved the book! I have been following Harry Hole series since th

    Loved the book! I have been following Harry Hole series since the Bat. Can't wait to see what happens next - it can't be over!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Another Great Harry Hole Story

    As good as it gets although sometimes you do wish that Harry could find happiness. Still the ending surprised me, I will be disappointed when the series ends but I expect that Nesbo will come up with something equally great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Must have for Harry Hole fans!

    Well I don't want to give anything away! This one is surprising and I really had no idea how it was going to end. As always, the Harry Hole novels are great page turners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Good reading

    Jo Nesbo's books always have interesting information, characters, and plot twists. Some things you can see coming but others are a surprise. You want to see how things are resolved once the story begins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Warning, drugs on board.

    A moving story of a former cop and step father trying to save his own from the all consuming drug culture in Oslo, Norway. Its sometimes hard to identify the good guys and nobody wins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly recommended

    The Harry Hole series has justly moved Nesbo from the ranks of a mystery writer to that of literati. His novels all involve murder and the nitty gritty if soolving them, but with insights into the minds of the hunter and hunted, the ripple of life shatterd by the crack of the fatal shot. These books are not beach reads, nor are they easily forgotten.

    Start them now. Read them. Then ask yourself,"Steig who?"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Not all that

    Too long and strung out

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    With all the previous reviews, there's no reason to outline the

    With all the previous reviews, there's no reason to outline the plot and risk spoiling the surprising ending (if that truly is the ending). Phantom continues the line of Scandinavian detective novels featuring world weary, scarred (literally and figuratively in this case), psychologically impaired, but brilliant and dogged detectives willing to cut through bureaucratic and legalistic obstacles in the pursuit of the guilty party. All this takes place in the bracing and oft gloomy weather patterns of northern Europe, specifically Oslo. The pattern is consistent with the genre. A thrilling and enticing introduction, a somewhat belabored middle section as clues and false trails are planted and interspersed with periodic suspense, and a final rush of a "don't put this book down" climax, but here, interestingly, an ambiguous ending. To me, that's a good thing, as pat resolutions can be unsatisfying. Nesbo fans will enjoy this well written novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was great! I did not see the ending coming! This author is one of my favorites. Every time I thought I got the plot figured out I was wrong. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Entertaining

    Not as good as his previous books featuring Harry Hole

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4