Customer Reviews for

Phantom (Sword of Truth Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

I love all terry goodkind books, although pillars of creation was a little boring only because it was all about jensen, but i think that the author has a great imagination and sense of creation that he writes into these books. Some of these things I would have never tho...
I love all terry goodkind books, although pillars of creation was a little boring only because it was all about jensen, but i think that the author has a great imagination and sense of creation that he writes into these books. Some of these things I would have never thought out. I'm sad that there is only one more in this series, that I still have to get to, because I have fallen in love with Richard and Kahlan and several others characters I though I never would, like Chase, Nicci, and Cara. This story is about Richard trying to find Kahlan, and dealing with the 'final battle the seeker must lead.' Shota is involved in this book, and so is Samuel. You also see Kahlan's chapters and get another look and Jagang, just so you can hate him more. I recommend this book, but only if you've read the first 9.

posted by love-to-read-teen on February 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Redundant Plots

On each of the books of this series, the plot revolves around Richard or Khalan being held captive. It seems the author has no more ideas than this. TG it seems cant think of any other way to make his plots. Such redundant plots makes this series annoying.

posted by 595486 on December 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    Redundant Plots

    On each of the books of this series, the plot revolves around Richard or Khalan being held captive. It seems the author has no more ideas than this. TG it seems cant think of any other way to make his plots. Such redundant plots makes this series annoying.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2006

    It started out sooooo well.....now a literary whimper

    This started out as an incredible series. Original premise, interesting 3 dimensional characters and a unique world. I don't know what happened, but by Pillars, he was sliding. But I still cared about the people. But PHANTOM continued the slide down unfortunately. The lecturing is even worse then Chainfire. Shota the witch, spends 60 pages telling Richard that the Order is filled with bad people. And if you didn't get that message, Kahlan and others have experiences that show that the Order is filled with bad people. And if you STILL didn't get the message, we finally meet Jagang and he ponderously makes it clear that he is a bad person. The other thing that has grown is the arguing. Remember Chainfire where everyone spent their time arguing with Richard (you know the guy they are trusting as their savior). Well know everybody is arguing with everyone, often spending pages arguing about how certain spells work or don't work. Who cared other then TG? I was frustrated with page after page and only found about 30 pages to be interesting. The best line in the whole book? At the end, when they let us know that the next book is the final one! Thank goodness, we can put this tortured dog out of its misery. What a shame. He took an excellent concept and for whatever reason drained it of any interest. Personally, I blame the publishers, they had to know how bad it was getting. Of course, that's maybe why I got it for 40% off when it came out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    Bleah, not again

    I don't know why I do this to myself. I loved the first book in this series, even though the writing was clunky, because it was passionate and interesting. Now after so many 'Richard is searching for missing Kahlan' stories I truly can't stand it anymore. Goodkind is clearly making this stuff up as he goes along and is stringing it along to milk it for the money. The person who said it was becoming a comic book is so right. There just nothing left to this story anymore. Long past time to end the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    Beware Its a Trap!

    I have anticipated this book, purchased it immediately and was very disappointed to be treated to the endless captivity and humilation of the main characters. As an avid reader of the series, I feel that the author has mistreated his readers, mistreated his own craft and dishonored the story. This should have been the last book. Enough with the mild S&M fantasies of capture, torture and humiliation of the main characters. As a reader I feel as trapped and abused as the characters. I am now searching the previous books to find other characters mentioned so I can be prepared when they are brought back, mentioned and rewriten just to sell another in the series. There is a point even in torture where they execute the prisioner.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    We don't want it!

    Please, please, spare us the agony of reading this book. We don't want it. As I noted in a review of Chainfire, this series is limping along as badly as its main protagonist. The pain Lord Rahl constantly endures is matched only by the reader¿s own suffering effort to slog through such pathetic, repetitive, unoriginal prose. No matter how many wakeful nights and broken sleeps Richard bears, he cannot be as tired as the reader after encountering yet another vapid, platitudinous remark about free will and fighting for what¿s right. Richard is about as multi-dimensional as the period at the end of this sentence. I'd not recommend this book to anyone over age 10. But if you care nothing for writing as an art and instead only want to help Goodkind make money, go ahead and buy this book. Just don't read it, or else you might die of vicarious embarrassment. Please note that I think it's silly to rate a book before one has read it, but Goodkind's stories are so predictable that I'm quite certain this one will be terrible.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Terry sure is impressed with himself

    I stopped reading after Pillars of Creation. I loved this series with a passion up until then. Goodkind has dragged this series out. I love long never ending series as long as stuff happens but ever since the blood of the fold nothing has progressed. Darken Rahl had a much stronger grip on the world than Jagang and Richard took care of him in one book. Why has this namby pamby Emperor been such a problem when Richard has an army and powers to fight back with? Oh and whatever happened to Kahlan having a baby? I thought that a male confessor with both sides of magic would have been a great story. Imagine Richard and Kahlan having to fight their own son. That would have made a much more interesting story. Come on Terry please write something interesting and quit patting yourself on the back for being so intellectual. I have a bible and if I need some moral lessons I'll read it or my poly sci book. My advice to new readers is to stop after wizard's first rule.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    end it!

    First off I enjoy these books and I'll read this one, but mainly because it's supposed to be the last. Every book in this series is a small peice of the larger story, I get that, but 80-90% of each book is not really needed to move the larger story along. There's alot of fill. For instance, the Pillars of Creation did nothing for the story line. A few characters were added and some 'action', but nothing that seems necessary was added. I'm also bored with the love story. The most interesting part of any love story is the anticipation of the two people getting together. Once they get together it's boring. I think he realized that he actually got them together way too soon in the story line and had to manufacture things to separate them to then artifically create separation anxiety. If it's so easy to separate them why hasn't one of them been killed? They are so vulnerable yet still remain indestructable. That's very run of the mill tension but it's hidden in lofty writing. I also find that Richard has been given a 'superman' persona. Everytime he's faced with somethingn surely insurmountable, he 'mysteriously' has some other power that we didn't know about (even he didn't know about) that is used to neatly solve the problem. Oh, and we usually find out about that in the last few chapters. There are some very redeeming qualities to this series though which do make me come back to the stories. Things like the Mord Sith and the Palace of the Prophecies, etc. But unfortunatly all of these were burned out in the first few books. I think that he should've wrapped up a first series with the defeat of Darken Rahl and then started a second series against Jagang and the Order. Overall these books are a good read and I recommend them, but the middle books are contain many similar situations with endings that wrap things up but in most cases just 'happen'. It's like he's trying to create a twist but misses it. A good twist is one that should be obvious and with plenty of clues but you miss it and then when it happens you realize 'Oh yeah! How did I miss that it was so obvious.' With these twists you really aren't given the information you need so you have no way to guess at what might happen. So it's less of a twist or more of a 'i'm going to make stuff up to wrap this up in the next two chapters'. Just my two cents. The first few books are GREAT, then they trail off and we'll see about the last one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Did I arrive late?

    After reading reviews by Goodkind fans, I feel like I came late for the party where they explained what new literary style this book employs. Is it written for children? Who else could be facinated by the silly 'magic powers,' and Ricard's two-page transition to the realization that he is the most powerful man alive, the only one able to withstand the Jagang hordes of evil? Is Goodkind consumed with mental pictures of gross evil men and rape? He surely over-emphasizes it! This ain't Harry Potter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    What a let down...

    I've read about the first 150 pages and I simply haven't been able to continue, after the first 100 pages of philosophical babble and amateur dialogue I just couldn't take anymore, perhaps I will finish this book, but honestly I feel as if I should have stopped reading at book number 7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Put us out of our misery

    Please someone tell Goodkind that we've read the first book - so we don't need to read it over and over again in books that are supposed to be a series. I loved the first book. These new ones are just horrible and are tainting my affection for the original story. I agree - they should stop making the same mistake of splitting up and Kahlan should freakin' look before she leaps. Please kill them all off and end our misery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Is it ever gong to end?

    It is ever going to end. I like the first 2 books but after that, everything is repetitive and boring. Does Goodking ever think or does he think that a series made up of repetitive story lines make a good series. Without reading the book, I could even predict the outcome. Richard angonizes over Katherine's safety, trying to ignore other people's pleas for help for their own good, katerine angonizes over her lost love, finally remembers, then reunited, but will become seperated again for another installment. Come on, end it already... Stop trying to prolong something that has been dead since the 3rd book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    kind of like star wars,

    the first few books were the best... now he's just dragging it out. Too much philosophical 'the people must only see but the good in themselves, the wonder and fascinating thing that is life!' I'm tired of that, and would like more of a story. And Kahlan just needs to stay in the Keep with Zedd... I'm tired of these two getting split up. It's well into the point of being cheesy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    BOOOOO!!!!

    I have to agree with a previous post. WHAT HAPPENED to this series??? I stopped buying this authors works two or three books ago. I realized it was cheaper to buy a cup of joe and sit in the store and skim through this mass of wasted paper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Bill's right it's a sad disappointment

    I too rushed to buy this even though I've always been a little uncomfortable with the S&M aspect. But, this was too much, too long and too boring. What's happened to Goodkind's creativity? I'll wait for a library copy of the next one, if I even bother. Too bad ... I'll miss Zed, Kahlan, and many of the others who've become 'friends.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    same old story

    when i first read terry books i was hooked, but how many times out of all these books must we wait so that richard can use his powers, everyone else know how to use their powers except richard, i am not looking forward to another story about him protecting or searching for his wife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1