Customer Reviews for

Phantom (Sword of Truth Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

I love all terry goodkind books, although pillars of creation was a little boring only because it was all about jensen, but i think that the author has a great imagination and sense of creation that he writes into these books. Some of these things I would have never tho...
I love all terry goodkind books, although pillars of creation was a little boring only because it was all about jensen, but i think that the author has a great imagination and sense of creation that he writes into these books. Some of these things I would have never thought out. I'm sad that there is only one more in this series, that I still have to get to, because I have fallen in love with Richard and Kahlan and several others characters I though I never would, like Chase, Nicci, and Cara. This story is about Richard trying to find Kahlan, and dealing with the 'final battle the seeker must lead.' Shota is involved in this book, and so is Samuel. You also see Kahlan's chapters and get another look and Jagang, just so you can hate him more. I recommend this book, but only if you've read the first 9.

posted by love-to-read-teen on February 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Redundant Plots

On each of the books of this series, the plot revolves around Richard or Khalan being held captive. It seems the author has no more ideas than this. TG it seems cant think of any other way to make his plots. Such redundant plots makes this series annoying.

posted by 595486 on December 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Disappointed yet again

    I have read every single book in this series. It has continued to go down hill and like others, I am wondering, when will it end? I have read that there is one more book in the final trilogy. I intend for that to be the final book I read from this author. Like in the Wheel of Time saga, it has gone on far too long. I found myself skimming through much of the book because I got tired of hearing about one lady's personal observations in the war camp. The side tracks that takes you away from the story are unimportant and although a previous reviewer says it is all for a purpose, I can say there is no way to tie in all the side tracks and make it worth my time. I found myself wanting to skip paragraphs, then pages and eventually a whole chapter that I simply skimmed over. If I am going to pay the extra money for a hard back edition for my collection, I would like very much for it to be worth the money. I am tired people. Let it end. If the dream walker doesn't die in the next book, I am going to take care of him myself. Jajang must die....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Please put us out of our misery....

    I have been a fan of this series since I started in on it years ago. This book is a total let down when compaired to all other books that preceded it. I ditched work early the day of its release just to pick up this book. Sad to say I should have stayed later for the hours. I probably skimmed thru a solid 7 chapters of just plain non sense and meaningless filler. Sure, there was plenty of action and story building going on here, but for the most part I couldnt manage to stay awake to enjoy this latest from Mr. Goodkind. On the bright side, I am looking forward to the next and 'last' volume in this series. Don't want to spoil it for anyone reading, but the last few chapters of this book were just amazing, its just too bad that the rest of the book was just filler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    A very sloppy addition to the Sword of Truth

    The first 200 pages are potentially the most tedious first 200 pages I have ever read. We go from an advanced lesson on the complicated workings of spell analysis, to a detailed, gory narration of the Order¿s atrocities that makes you want to throw up, to a lecture on the Order¿s philosophy and why it¿s very bad, and finally, Shota shows up. Richard and Shota proceed to ramble over about ten different topics that are loosely connected and rather jarring. I thought the whole book might take place in that one room. The single most annoying problem with this book is the repetition. This occurs in four main ways: (1) repeated lectures that go on and on, (2) constant repetition of information that¿s already been established, (3) simple repetitive writing, and (4) repeated dialogue. (1): Goodkind spends way too much time on lecture. We understand why the Imperial Order is bad and why life is good one lecture would suffice and then showing-and-telling would carry us nicely through the whole book. But instead, everywhere Richard goes, every new person he encounters, we have to wade through the whole lecture again. (2): Goodkind constantly repeats information we already know, as if we¿re idiots and can¿t remember something he said the page before. And I kid you not, he repeats bits of ¿critical info¿ pages apart. Along that line, he is also obsessed with reminding you of things every chance he gets. My favorite involves Magda Searus. Berdine if you will: ¿Magda Searus. You know, the one who was made into a Confessor.¿ In case you missed that: Again, Nicci, if you please (one page later): ¿Magda Searus, the woman who became the first Confessor...¿ Now, do people having conversations really keep repeating things to each other they already know? The book is full of this. (3): The third repetition is simply stylistic. Goodkind seems obsessed with making absolutely sure you got what he wrote, so he repeats certain concepts and descriptions repeatedly, sometimes in the same paragraph, as if the first mention wasn¿t powerful enough. The writing therefore lacks confidence and weakens itself when he¿s trying to make it strong. And then there¿s dialogue (4): The best example of this are cases in which Richard says something like this: ¿Is there anything, anything at all you can tell me about such-and-such, any last scrap that might help?¿ Shota (for example): ¿Sorry, Richard, that¿s everything I could possibly, conceivably pull from my brain.¿ They continue to talk, then Richard asks again: ¿Is there anything more, anything you can tell me?¿ Shota: ¿Oh, well, there is this one thing...¿ Why didn¿t she say so before!? The dialogue is very disorganizes and instead of editing the conversations to flow in one direction, characters keep remembering information where before they had said everything. Overall, this book is very sloppy. I am almost certain he did not read through and give his finished work that much editing, nor did the publishers. It shows. I even found a lot of typos and missing words, more than I usually do in published books. That being said, the latter half of the book does get better as characters start going off on adventures and the plot thickens as they say. True fans will be able to look through the mess and get a feel for that ole¿ Goodkind plotting and puzzle solving, and even grip the book to find out where it all leads, but you do at all times have to read through the mess. Familiar themes appear, familiar situations, the separation, the captivity and torture, even familiar evils appear (hello boxes of Orden). But this book felt more suitable to a child audience this time around (if it weren't for the sickening gore). I¿m saddened at what¿s become of the Sword of Truth series. The first four were great, then he started to lecture, then he had two books that you may as well skip. With Chainfire I thought he had it again, but he lost it again with Phantom. This book is the Phantom. Goodkind cast the chainfire spell on book 7

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    what is the point?

    Goodkind continues his intriguing style of adventure. But after 3 books, four years and still not a single subplot finished I find myself asking 'what is the point?'. I couldn't even finish the last few chaptes because it was painfully obvious that once again, nothing would be finished and it will be another year or so before the sagaaaaaa continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    A lot about nothing

    I too have really enjoyed Terry Goodkinds Sword of Truth Series but this book was a let down.....He went on and on about the evil bad guys to a nausiating continuium. I realize this was a trilogy but it was painful from cover to cover....Let's get on with it and get it over with already....I think this was one more book for Terry to get his royalties. I felt very let down....I hope the finally is better than the build up to the end. I think Terry is laughing all the way to the bank. Terry is a very capable writer and I think he's rushing to the finish line. He now writes like he is bored with his job and wants the paycheck so he will add a bunch of fluff, and then 'get er done'. What an end to a promising career and a way to disappoint fans that have supported and nurtured him. Save your money and read the final book -- he will probably explain everything from this book is his final book and then slap the ending on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Slow, philosophical, but it's still SoT so can't complain

    Has anyone counted how many times the word 'Phantom' is used in this book? At least 2-3 times per chapter...but anyways. Speaking from the perspective of a fan of the series (I have purchased every book on release day since Wizard's First Rule), I must say it didn't live up to the series' reputation. This book seemed to me to be TG's last ditch to grab some royalties before retirement of the series. The content in this book should've simply been compressed and used as the first 4-5 chapters of the final book. I know this sounds harsh but just because I'm a fan of the series doesn't mean I have to turn a blind eye to poor writing simply because Richard Rahl is the main character. If you're a fan of the series, borrow this from the library. If you've never read the SoT series, please don't judge it by this installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    End this now please!

    I honestly feel this series has fell on its face. It started out strong and gave something new to the fantasy world. Now, each new book has too much summary of the last book. This series could have easily been chopped down to a 8 book series. I will only finish it because I went this far and put money into all of the other books. After this series I won't ever touch any new books from Terry Goodkind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    I AM SICK AND TIRED OF GREEDY WRITERS!!!!!!!

    when i first met this series i was hooked. But it doesn't end, it is stagnant, story line is the same except everyone around richard dies eventually. end it all ready!! richard learns to use his powers, richard and kalan re unites and we all figure out how to defeat the old empire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Another Cash Cow, nothing of substance.

    This series has run very dry as far as substance goes. This is just another 300+ Pages of dribble that covers a single day or two in the saga. Nothing happens, the story does not progress...it is just the author milking his fans dry for the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    The same old thing.

    From what I have read, its going to be the same old thing. Kahlan and Richard get or are still seperated, and blah blah blah... Seriously, cant Goodkind come up with a little variation in his books?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1