Customer Reviews for

Phantom (Sword of Truth Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 325 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

I love all terry goodkind books, although pillars of creation was a little boring only because it was all about jensen, but i think that the author has a great imagination and sense of creation that he writes into these books. Some of these things I would have never tho...
I love all terry goodkind books, although pillars of creation was a little boring only because it was all about jensen, but i think that the author has a great imagination and sense of creation that he writes into these books. Some of these things I would have never thought out. I'm sad that there is only one more in this series, that I still have to get to, because I have fallen in love with Richard and Kahlan and several others characters I though I never would, like Chase, Nicci, and Cara. This story is about Richard trying to find Kahlan, and dealing with the 'final battle the seeker must lead.' Shota is involved in this book, and so is Samuel. You also see Kahlan's chapters and get another look and Jagang, just so you can hate him more. I recommend this book, but only if you've read the first 9.

posted by love-to-read-teen on February 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Redundant Plots

On each of the books of this series, the plot revolves around Richard or Khalan being held captive. It seems the author has no more ideas than this. TG it seems cant think of any other way to make his plots. Such redundant plots makes this series annoying.

posted by 595486 on December 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    Not that Great, but go ahead and read it.

    Goodkind likes to hear himself talk; he should stop preaching and try a little editing. I've read them all and they just seem to get progressively worse. Maybe I'm tiring of his over emphasis on torture and a sadistic, uber hate complex going on with the women. Dude, enough of the rape thing; move on.<BR/><BR/>He has some good stuff, but it's hard not to start skimming through his 8th grader dialog. Choke down the fluff, and move to the good parts, and it's worth sitting through all 10, 11, or 12 of them; whatever.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    Just get to the point plz!!!

    Well, I have never read the first of this series. I was walking through the B&N store and decided to judge a book by its cover. So, i ended up reading the third book first. After that, it was pointless to read the first one. May I add, what a fantastic artist for the covers. BravO!!! Well, about Phantom, sometimes Terry just drags on and on with borrying details. Some characters sound really dumn at times when Richard has to explain every single detail. If I understand, then a wizard or Kahlan should as well. And, I thought he said this was his last book. I read and read and reached the last chapter realizing he couldn't possibly finish the story in one chapter. I was really, REALLY, disappointed and felt like he is taking advantage of some good readers. Not good :( Also, when is he going to release the last book after all? I am tired of waiting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Decent middle portion of the finale. Worth reading.

    I have been working through these books over the last year or so with two or three of the books being a weekend reader because I was so addicted, and other being my bedtime knockout for several months. This book is somewhere in between. Good body, but Goodkind definitely could have told the same story in 100 less pages. Overall the good chapters are worth the read and made up for the ones that were less exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Looking forward

    I've not yet read the book but I'm eagerly looking forward to doing so, having just finished Chainfire about five minutes ago. I'd just like to point out that the reason the author has his characters go into such depth when explaining themselves to the others in the line of dialogue is that they don't have the benefit of 500-some pages of omniscient narration at their disposal... please do the author some justice and appreciate the basic functions of good writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    stop dragging the story on

    I have read every story he has every wrote. It started out great but their is so much unfinished business with the orginal characters. He needed to let the reader know what is up with the first characters before he jumps to the offspings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    An end in sight!

    I have been a lover of fantasy in general and TG in particular since WFR came out. I loved that first book, couldn't put it down, literally! I am, sad to say, happy to be seeing the end of this series. Having read other reviews, I agree that a LOT (& I do mean A LOT) of this is filler & some needed, but for goodness sake, do we have to hear 15 times a chapter how evil the emperor is? Some of his points may be valid about life & the world, but does he have to beat us over the head with them? I skimmed over quite a few chapters in this book for that reason. I have all the books, (including Debt of Bones) and will get the *sigh* last one, but when I re-read this series, I'll be skipping most of them to get to the end. I hope TG can pull himself out of this preachy funk & get back to the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Just not sure....

    I have totally gotten into these books and have loved every single one of them..But i feel that this one just went on and on and on i am getting tired of reading over the same thing time and time again I just dont know if it is a build up for the finale or if the books are just getting awful this one was a little disappointing. I feel bad even writing that because i have so enjoyed the others an i am just not sure about this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    What happen?

    I've been a huge fan since I picked up Wizards First Rule some years back, and have recommended the series to any one I come accross that reads for fun. but im not sure what happen, did the origonal auther die and some smuck take his place? every book in this epic tale has had a build up of excitement and suspence that added to a larger story, saddly Phantom does not. I still recommend the series, but don't be in a hurry to pick up Phantom, wait till the next and final book comes out and read them to gether as one, cuz if your lookin for that rollercoster ride of suspence you wont find it in this latest book from Goodkind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    Comic Book Series

    With every book he comes out with it draws this series more and more to being a comic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Gee...Kahlan is lost again?

    It seeems like every book from the time Richard and Kahlan got married is about Richard trying to find Kahlan or rescure Kahlan or some goffy thing about being reunited with Kahlan. His allies should do him a favior and kill Kahlan, that way he might actually get something done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    A HUGE Fan - Who Is Disappointed

    I am truly one of Goodkind's truest fans - but he has stopped being a consumate story teller and is now using his 'fame and reach' to espouse his anti-socialism philosophy. It isn't that I disagree with any of his philosophy - but this is not what hooked me to the Sword of Truth series. Where is the story telling, the action, the development of characters?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Dragging On, Loosing Critical Mass...

    Can't wait until the series is done, and Terry is released from the saga and doing something fresh and new. I can only imagine that writing such a long series begins to drain, and in my opinion is certainly have shown a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    HELLOOOOO

    Hellooooo, does anybody understand this is a page for reviews of 'THIS' book. How can you leave a review when you have not read the book? If you want to bash or praise the author then move on to another site. There are plenty of them out there. As for me I'll wait to give my review AFTER I read the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    where have our friends gone

    i would like to know what happened with chase and rachel, jebra the seerer, and a number of other characters i miss. and maybe mr. goodkind should go back and reread his books and tie up some loose ends. for expample, didnt zed promise at one time to find a way to make red fruit not poison, and can we please have a new bad guy? i like his books, and i like his style of writing, but if your main characters are never happy, your readers wont be either, and one winter in the woods doesnt count. i will read the new one, but i hope he wraps some things up and then starts something new, or just finishes the series all together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2