Customer Reviews for

Phantom (Sword of Truth Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

I love all terry goodkind books, although pillars of creation was a little boring only because it was all about jensen, but i think that the author has a great imagination and sense of creation that he writes into these books. Some of these things I would have never tho...
I love all terry goodkind books, although pillars of creation was a little boring only because it was all about jensen, but i think that the author has a great imagination and sense of creation that he writes into these books. Some of these things I would have never thought out. I'm sad that there is only one more in this series, that I still have to get to, because I have fallen in love with Richard and Kahlan and several others characters I though I never would, like Chase, Nicci, and Cara. This story is about Richard trying to find Kahlan, and dealing with the 'final battle the seeker must lead.' Shota is involved in this book, and so is Samuel. You also see Kahlan's chapters and get another look and Jagang, just so you can hate him more. I recommend this book, but only if you've read the first 9.

posted by love-to-read-teen on February 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Redundant Plots

On each of the books of this series, the plot revolves around Richard or Khalan being held captive. It seems the author has no more ideas than this. TG it seems cant think of any other way to make his plots. Such redundant plots makes this series annoying.

posted by 595486 on December 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    All good things MUST come to an end.

    Ok, Mr Goodkind, it is time for an end to your tale.. I did rate Phantom as reccomended, but with reservations... but with reservations...but with reservations. Now does that sound familiar... WE KNOW THE BIG BAD DUDE IS EVIL..So please end a good story (but with alot of repitions) Just a little request...make attempts at Trilogies...you'll sell a heap of them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Goodkind does it again

    Very well done. With so many previous books in the series its gotta be hard to be original, but Goodkind does a very good job of keepin the story going. Good fascinating writing. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    If you like fantasy you should love this series!

    I have truly enjoyed reading this series and would recommend it to anyone who loves reading fantasy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Phantom

    More like 3.5 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    At last, my first Terry Goodkind novel, and worth the wait

    I like science fiction and fantasy, and I'd never read anything by Terry Goodkind until this month. How's that for a confession? I think his books must have started coming out when I was avoiding series (due to kids, lack of finances. who knows). But Phantom sounded really intriguing, with a female protagonist who can't remember who she is, and a husband who's the only person left who knows she exists. Throw in a little magic and global annihilation and I'm bound to be hooked. I decided, with a series this long, it had to be possible to pick the story up halfway through so of course I bought the book.

    Terry Goodkind has certainly created a fascinating world, and I learned a lot about it as I read-its history, its mythology, the way its magic works. I particularly loved a scene where the protagonist looks at a magic spell and tries to explain how symbolically there must be something wrong. I guess because I'm a mathematician, and mathematicians work with symbols, the concept intrigued me. It felt like when I've tried to explain that a proof is false without being able straight away to put my finger on the reason.

    The author fills in gaps in the backstory quite cleverly, bringing this new reader at least partly up to date. But I found the adventure much slower than I expected, with lots of paragraphs devoted to explaining and re-explaining the same feelings-thoughts that go round in circles repeated on the page. It was a fun story, and if the next really is the concluding tale in the series I will probably plan on reading it. But it was a surprisingly heavy read, so I may not go back to catch up on the earlier books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    A good read

    When I picked this book up I was not aware that it was one of a series and I kicked myself for doing so. However, as I began reading the book I became immersed in the story line and the characters in the book.

    I do miss the first book but have been on the lookout for the second and finally found it.

    This first book is obviously a battle of good vs evil and many other things but it is well thought out and the plot will keep you reading until you finish the book.

    J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    Bring It On

    The series is fantastic, but it is also clear that it is coming to an end and the author is running out of plot. It's very hard to sustain the quality and the caliber of this kind of plot, but the author manages to keep you hanging on wanting more. Even through the introduction of new characters sometimes muddy the plot, and take away from the relationship between the two main characters. Characters that you have gotten attached to, disappear from the story without explanation, but some eventually reappear in the last book. I have just finished reading the final book in the series "The Confessor", and it was not as exciting as the first seven, but it did tie up a few of the loose ends. It's still well worth the investment of your time in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This book is great but not the best, I do like this book better than #9, and #6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    While I think most avid readers of Terry Goodkind's books will admit that we have suffered through some parts of this series (Pillars of Creation, anyone??), Phantom delivers the magic that captured all our hearts in Wizard's First Rule. The end of the book preludes that this series is coming to an end. Phantom keeps you on the edge of your seat, it is well written and makes one want to jump ahead to November when we will finally get Confessor!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    10 books in and still going strong.

    I am proud to say that I own all of the Sword of Truth series and I don't think I can properly put into words the enjoyment I get from reading them. This TENTH book is more of the rollercoaster that is Sword of Truth. I could not give this book a rating of outstanding because if you have read the previous books the plot gets much less hopeful and proud after the series climax of Faith of the Fallen. To me much of the appeal of the series is the victory and exciting adventure and this book gave me less of that. The author Terry Goodkind is brilliant his writing style and well established characters make it so you cannot put this book down. Goodkind pulls 'and sometimes drags' you through the heart chrushing lows of the book by showing you glimmers of hope and change. Goodkind's amazing writing is extremely enthralling and puts you on the edge of your seat. For those of us that finish this book I think we can expect our efforts will be rewarded a thousand times over in an amazing event that will make the brilliant Faith of the Fallen pale in comparison. I would say this book is a must read but I definately think other books in the series were better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Good but easy

    This second installment of the Magic Study series is a good and flowing addition to the first. For anyone who enjoys a good fantasy read, and is interested in something quick, fun, and easily finished in a day, this is the perfect book. This book is well worth reading, but lacks the complexity to rate on my best books list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Still good, but...

    This continuation is a good read within the series, however, just like chainfire it is a to be continued book.... All the other books upto chainfire had mostly an ending, or at least a stopping point. This book, along with chainfire (previous one) don't really stop at a good point. It's almost worth waiting for the next book to then read the 3 books together to get the story. Other than that, I thought it was a great continuation, just a bit disappointed that Terry Goodkind is starting to go the route of stringing out the series like so many other authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Fillers, yes...Anticipation, definately!

    Let me first start this by explaining this is the second book in a 'trilogy ending' of the Sword of Truth Series. So in answer to the questions of 'fillers', I say yes, it is chock full of them. I will also state they were needed. Mr Goodkind does not write for the sake of writing, he informs. The information that may be scuttled aside or skipped over comes back full circle, as proving within the storyline of 'Phantom'. I had it finished in 2 days (I have two children). He does an excellent job of creating the anticipation for the final book in the series. The book was great. I won't call it 'excellent' but, it was riviting, informative, and a climatic builder. It was a mid-book meant to do just that, give us the final tidbits and even some new questions to set the finale' up. If you are a fan, it is a must. It does swing full circle now bearing to question the 'givens' we all knew, including but not limited to, the core, principle prophecies. The 10th rule can be seen as 'general', however it is much more a personal, 'individual' rule if one takes the time to look. I will add for prosperity, and only in response to the previous reviews listed. I enjoyed all of Mr Goodkind's novels thoroughly. I learned more about myself through each of them. When some see a 'disintergration' of his writing, I wonder, because I see an intensity on a particular ideal. There have been comments concerning 'Naked Empire' and 'Pillars of Creation' I saw them as a different theme and enjoyed them both. It was a way to explore prejudices within a fantasy realm. He gives you the basis to explore that abstract within yourself, by offering a 'different' type of story.Is the prejudice in the story, or the reader? Each of Goodkind's novels explore abstracts we deal with everyday. It is our job as readers to learn from as well as enjoy the story. Each author we read gives us their soul -their viewpoint on life, love, and hate, as directed within the text. This is certainly not an exception for Mr Goodkind. The fore-ground has been laid in 9 previous novels, it should not come as a surprise in the 10th. Overall, it was a great read. I am both happy and sad to see this favorite series of mine come to an end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    It was still good.

    OK, the book did have some filler to it, and it does have quite a bit of background information, but in truth, I think it is necessary (to a point). The chapters with the seer telling her story, and then where he is on his knees at the pit, those scenes show what 'may' happen. All of that information covered while he was with the whisps and the talk of 'everything' from before, like when his Mom died, well that is needed too. I agree, it makes the book slow in spots, but there is much more of it that is very interesting too. Although, he does get convaluted and confusing with the explanation of magic, but I try to chalk it up to story realism. He is just trying to bring us further into the world. Overall, I'm glad I read it and the ending has me excited about the last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    The highly anticipated finality

    Terry Goodkind brings to fantasy the very ideal of what fantasy stands for philosophy. I feel that Goodkind has created a world where essential truths are examplified and only require the readers attention to enjoy. Although, at points throughout his series the story does become long winded the overall enjoyment is easily attained for those who like to think about the intangible concepts that rule reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    'Neverending' might be shortsighted

    This is more a review of this series than of this particular book, since it isn't published yet. I've read several reviews of this book calling it a rehash of previous plots, the same storyline over and over again, etc. I'll admit, my first thought at seeing that Kahlan had forgotten her identity (again!) made me slap my forehead. Yes, we can predict the end of this book, but seriously, there are very few books where you can't predict the end, truly. This series started to drag down under its own weight for a few books, but the last couple in this series have been great. This book gets 4 stars on potential only - it could go the way of Pillars of Creation and wallow around in the mud for 500 pages, or it could go the way of Chainfire and grab you by the collar and fling you through so quickly you're left panting for breath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    Not as good as Chainfire, but...

    ...does it ever set up for what will surely be a spectacular conclusion! I can't wait for the next (and, sadly, final) book in the series. This book contains several great new characters and plot developments, including Richard's new foreign policy direction for the D'Haran empire (it's about damn time!) which is highly relevant to the real world today, and a shocking twist at the end. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Mostly Great

    Terry Goodkind has an excellent imagination and his stories are totally engrossing. He has gotten to a point, however, where he spends way too many pages philosophizing at the expense of pages he could spend storytelling. Don't get me wrong, I both love the world he has created and agree with the philosophy he advocates. Nevertheless, since Faith of the Fallen (a book I thought was wonderful), he has been very heavy handed in how he attempts to beat an appreciation for this philosophy into his readers. I think Terry can safely make two assumptions at this point: 1. Most of his readers are pretty smart people 2. Most of the people buying the 10th book in his series have read the ones that came before. The conclusion I would like him to draw from those assumptions is this: We Get It! I understand how important the philosophy is to what he's trying to say, but at a certain point he starts to repeat himself well beyond what it should take to flesh out the idea - at that point, he is doing himself a disservice in that it is hard to care as much about a point you feel is being hammered into you over and over, rather than one that is perhaps a little more subtly made. That aside, Goodkind's storytelling in Phantom is, as always, mesmerizing, and it is almost impossible not to loose yourself in the world he lays out for his readers. Two other small points about Phantom: 1. I'm not sure how I feel about the extent to which he rewrites the back story behind events that have taken place in the previous books - it is quite interesting, but it seems a little, um, sacrilegious. 2. If you feel like it, try to keep track of the number of different contexts in which he makes use of the word 'Phantom' - I've become convinced that he must have written the book with the goal of applying the title in as many ways as the English language allows. Despite my criticisms, I thoroughly enjoyed reading Phantom, and highly recommend it to any fan of the series...As for the series itself, if you haven't read it, go pick up Wizard's First Rule today...you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Avid fan of Goodkind

    I had some issues with some of his works, but as a whole i do enjoy reading all of the Sword of Truth Series. I am looking forward to its conclusion and see all his (Richard Rahl) friends come together. Wonder if Gratch ever re-appears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3