Customer Reviews for

The Phantom Diaries

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Really good read

    A fun twist on a classic story. Intriguing characters and a novel plot. My mom enjoyed it as a gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    With Enough Twists and Turns to Keep You Guessing

    If you thought Phantom Diaries will be just like Phantom of the Opera, you'll be surprise. The author seamlessly blends the story of Phantom with a story of love, betrayal, and mystery that can stand on its own. Following the rise of young singing sensation Annette Binoche and the dramatic twists and turns that come her way, is pure escapism that is satisfying, yet will leave you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had pretty high hopes for this one, especially after seeing th

    I had pretty high hopes for this one, especially after seeing the four/five star ratings on Goodreads. I also love the musical by Andrew Lloyd Webber, but I'll admit I've never read the original story. Still, I was excited for the story to continue in Gow's book. I found the synopsis intriguing, and couldn't wait to pick it up. Due to my high expectations, I was a bit disappointed. There were, however, a few aspects of the book that I did enjoy.

    I really enjoyed reading the last quarter of the book. The story really picked up, there was quite a bit of action/suspense, and information regarding the history of certain characters. The writing seemed to flow well in this portion of the story, and everything was paced well. I also enjoyed Gow's portrayal of Eric. She did a great job of recreating a character that many people love (love to hate, pity, etc). His manner of speaking, behavior, and emotions seemed consistent with past versions of the phantom. Plus, there was quite a good twist at end of the book.

    My issues began with something that wasn't the fault of the author. I'm going to mention it here, but keep in mind it has nothing to do with the story. There were quite a few issues with editing. I can usually handle a few typos and missing punctuation, but the number of things I noticed distracted me from the story. Another issue I had was with the flow of the book, it just didn't work for me until the action picked up toward the end. I also really wanted to know more about how Annette ended up at the New York Metropolitan Opera House. There is a brief mention of how she ended up there, but I would have loved to have seen it at the start of the story.

    The ending left me wondering what was going to happen to the characters, and there is a sequel in the works. Despite only getting into the story toward the end, I'm interested to know how Gow resolves the conflict she's created for Eric and Annette. Overall, this book didn't work for me, but since many people really enjoyed this one, I'm in the minority.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Ehhhh....

    This was a gross book.... it was OVERLY discripted and awkward for the reader... i am IN LOVE with the phantom of the opera, but because of this i will never think of it the same way again..... (btw they spelt all the previous people's names wrong :()

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Intresting theory

    Liked the concept more than the execution. I mean how long can the heorine go on being clueless. Not all the characters are believable or liekable. Will not pay to read next but thought the author deserved from stars for plot concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Phantom Diaries by Kailin Gow Review

    I grew up loving The Phantom of the Opera and have dragged my family and friends to see it on Broadway more times than I'll admit out loud, so getting the chance to read Kailin Gow's new twist on my old favorite was very exciting for me. I wasn't sure what to expect but once I opened to the first page and dug in I couldn't put it down. It had all the old romance, mystery, tension and wonder that I was hoping for and have come to expect when dealing with this classic. Gow's writing was quick, relatable and not bogged down with unnecessary details or insignificant points of reference.

    Her characters were original in their owns ways but still stayed true with their classic predecessors. The phantom by far and away was of course my favorite character, but I must admit that the sweet and innocent Chase also gave him a run for his money. I couldn't blame Annette for not being able to decide between them half the time when I couldn't figure out how I could love one the one minute and the other the next. I was flitting back and forth all the time. Annette was a wonderful character to follow and her diary entries were fascinating to read. I'll admit at times I wanted her to wake up and take a look around her, she was too naive in parts, but aren't we all at some point in our lives?

    But without a doubt the ending of the book took my by complete surprise, I was just blown away and not expecting anything of the sort. I was shocked long after I closed the book. I was not aware that this was a series and did not appreciate the unexpected cliffhanger, but now that I've calmed down and reigned in my dissapointment, I'm counting down until I can get my hands on the sequel to find out what happens next. I'm going to have to do more research before I pick up any book to see if it's a stand alone or intended to be a part of a series so I'm not so disappointed the next time I'm expecting a clean wrap up and instead have a bomb dropped on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1