Customer Reviews for

Phantom Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book

I may not be the best judge of this book. I love the Lucas Davenport series. John Sanford is an excellent writer. I would recommend that people read the entire Prey series from beginning to end in order, although each book does stand alone. I have the complete set i...
I may not be the best judge of this book. I love the Lucas Davenport series. John Sanford is an excellent writer. I would recommend that people read the entire Prey series from beginning to end in order, although each book does stand alone. I have the complete set in my library. I make a special trip to the bookstore as soon as they come out in paperback. The books are rereadable. The characters are strong, very real, very individualistic and multi-dimensional. The villiams are evil to the core which makes them rather one-dimensional, but true evil is. The book will keep you up at night, but it is well worth the read.

posted by Anne_Dennis on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past page 20

I've read all the Prey books and this was by far the worst. By page 20 I knew there was no way I could finish it. Not surprised though. I heard an interview with John Sandford on NPR and he said he doesn't do much of the writing. He does an outline for the book and has ...
I've read all the Prey books and this was by far the worst. By page 20 I knew there was no way I could finish it. Not surprised though. I heard an interview with John Sandford on NPR and he said he doesn't do much of the writing. He does an outline for the book and has a staff of writers who fill in the rest. Seriously a waste of time. I always looked forward to reading about Lucas Davenport, but not any more.

posted by BradleyVS08 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Excellent book

    I may not be the best judge of this book. I love the Lucas Davenport series. John Sanford is an excellent writer. I would recommend that people read the entire Prey series from beginning to end in order, although each book does stand alone. I have the complete set in my library. I make a special trip to the bookstore as soon as they come out in paperback. The books are rereadable. The characters are strong, very real, very individualistic and multi-dimensional. The villiams are evil to the core which makes them rather one-dimensional, but true evil is. The book will keep you up at night, but it is well worth the read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    Couldn't get past page 20

    I've read all the Prey books and this was by far the worst. By page 20 I knew there was no way I could finish it. Not surprised though. I heard an interview with John Sandford on NPR and he said he doesn't do much of the writing. He does an outline for the book and has a staff of writers who fill in the rest. Seriously a waste of time. I always looked forward to reading about Lucas Davenport, but not any more.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable police procedural

    There is one case that Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Chief Lucas Davenport likes very much watching the home of Heather Toms whose husband Sigites ¿Siggy¿ is on the run from the police for drug dealing. Siggy fled after making bail, but Lucas believes he will return for his wife and their child, as he loves both of them very much. Heather keeps her shades open giving the surveillance cops a peep show when she strips and breastfeeds. --- Davenport leaves this scene when his wife Weather is asked by her friend Alyssa Austin to have him look into the case of her missing and presumed dead daughter Frances. Alyssa came home one day, found the alarm off, Frances gone, and blood splattered all over the house. Frances was into the Goth scene her friend Fairy egged on by Loren kills three people who the pair believes are connected to Frances¿ death. As Lucas investigates, he finds this is one of the most bizarre cases of his career as people are not quite as they first seem and those he thinks might have a grudge with Frances prove innocent. --- Putting aside the obvious issue that Lucas is not earning chief pay as the boss needs to take care of resources (funding, people, equipment and supplies, etc) while strategically planning instead of field work, fans will enjoy his latest police procedural. The protagonist is shot at and overworked with a load of paper waiting at the office, but none of that prevents him from working both cases. Neither inquiry intersects as each is separate as they run parallel subplots. PHANTOM PREY is a riveting work in which readers will need to know who the killer is and if Siggy will come home. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Long Running Series

    John Sandford brings us the 19th book in the 'Prey' series, Phantom Prey, featuring Lucas Davenport. Davenport works for the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. He is a bit of a rogue cop, not quite fitting in, with a team of like minded detectives. He's rumpled, aggressive, loyal and determined. Davenport is married to Weather, a surgeon. When she asks him as a favour to talk to her friend Alyssa about her daughter Frances' disappearance and possible murder, Lucas reluctantly agrees. The local cops haven't been able to move the case forward and he really doesn't see how he can help. Frances was dabbling in the Goth world and her mother believes this group holds the key to her missing daughter. Lucas starts making inquiries and someone starts targeting Goths. A mysterious woman - a Fairy Goth- may have answers, but can't be found. Nothing is as it seems and the closer Lucas thinks he's getting to an answer, the less things make sense. Del and Lucas are also staking out Siggy - a drug lord they've been trying to capture for awhile. This is a fun second story line. Davenport irreverence and that of his team is entertaining. Sandford never disappoints. Phantom Prey is another solid read with a great character/ Readers of Jonathan Kellerman, Jeffery Deaver and Michael Connelly will enjoy this series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Great read

    I am a huge fan of Sandford. He never disappoints and all of his characters are enjoyable. I'm eagerly awaiting his next book. No matter which character; Lucas, Virgil, or Kidd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What was this??

    This was a strange book, and not in a good way. The characters were not believable at all. The book unsuccessfully tried to merge two plots that had no significance to the other whatsoever, so the detective would be investigating the one crime - on his own - and then he would drop by an apartment to spy on a woman who's husband had committed many crimes but who had fled. The crimes were not related at all...it's like the second plot was thrown in just so there would be some kind of action. Terrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Lucas Again!

    In his characteristic style, Sanford takes Davenport on another wild ride. While aging, Sanford and his character, Lucas, are still engaging but becoming somewhat predictable.

    If you like the 'Prey' series, this will certainly please.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD THRILLER, BUT NOT GREAT

    THIS BOOK WAS A DECENT THRILLER. HOWEVER, IT DID NOT SEEM TO BE AS GOOD AS PAST "PREY" NOVELS.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Prey novel. . .

    John Sandford has delivered once again. Phantom Prey is an excellent book that features page-turning suspense. Lucas Davenport is a great character to root for. John Sandford's novels far surpass James Patterson and the works that other writers create for him. Phantom Prey is one of the best novels in the entire Prey series. This book is a must read. Two thumbs up from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    A different prey

    John Sandford¿s latest effort in the Prey series is a generally satisfying page turner that occasionally rises to the level of very good, with one significant plus, and only one frustrating turn. The story unfolds in typical Sanford style, with the reader introduced to a crime scene, and later witnessing a crime without knowing the identity of the killer. As the story unfolds and the reader gets inevitably drawn in, it is all done so well that Sandford can be forgiven for literally lifting an idea and even some stage direction from a recent Kevin Costner movie, because he adds an interesting twist to the basic concept and plays it very well. Readers will continue to find a comfort level with old characters like Del (although we all miss Slone!), will probably be wryly amused as Sandford several times plugs his other major character creation, Kidd, and will, I suspect, continue to wonder why Sandford just does not find a way to simply write Davenport¿s ward, a completely useless character, out of the series entirely. The only quibble I have with the book (and with the series of late) is that too many of Sandford¿s bad guys never really have to face the music in terms of a trial and a LONG spell in prison. After the mayhem created by most of his major villains (and even a few minor ones) it would be satisfying to see more of them rotting behind bars instead of taking the easy way out Sandford increasingly provides for them via an untimely death at the end. One of the better books in the long series, Phantom Prey is a novel addition to the collection and will certainly reward most readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    As an avid fan of John Sandford's police novels, I looked forward to his lastest effort, 'Phantom Prey'. Sandford's novels have always been complex, but satisfying. The author seems to be lost in what direction to take. If Lucas Davenport is getting a little long in the tooth and ideas are getting hard to come by, it may be time to star some other staff members. 'Dark of the Moon', his most recent novel, was excellant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Very good series

    I'm reading the whole series, love the quick pace. Plan on reading all his other books, too. Even when you know who-dun-it, you're caught up waiting to see how they get caught....or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/unabridged/suspense: Book 18 of the Lucas Davenport series.

    CD/unabridged/suspense: Book 18 of the Lucas Davenport series. I read the first two or three Prey books, so a lot has happened in Lucas' life 16 books later. Millionaire/police detective is still on the job. This time he is staking out a chick's house awaiting her thug boyfriend arrival for arrest. Lucas is asked, as a favor, to look into a case of a missing woman. Like the other books I've read, you are told early on who the murderer is and the murderer's thinking.
    Richard Ferrone does a good job with the narration. The problem was the book was anti-climatic. Davenport, as usual, has it pretty easy. He's smart AND he has his usual good luck. Yes, he gets shot, but reports are always to him in a timely manner, his secretary is always at her desk, evidence is never missing, and the plot is too convenient.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    This book ended up being a nice surprise ...

    This book ended up being a nice surprise. I began w/a neg view of the whole Goth thing & thought I could see what was ahead ... more education on subject matter I didn't really care about like the art history & business of art in the prior book. I do, however, accept the need for it to develop storylines ... even if I really don't much want to go there.

    Everything seemed unusually chaotic & confusing for a while, maybe even needlessly so ... BUT this turned into a genuine phychological thriller w/a twist I didn't see coming. Watching it unravel along w/the entertaining Heather/Siggy sidestory made it a fun ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Love this series

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Another Prey series story to keep you turning pages!

    Lucas Davenport has another murder to solve. Even when you think you know who did it, this author keeps you turing the pages. Sandford's writing style is easy to read and very entertaining. Those who live in the Midwest find it easy to identify with the places he describes. The characters are well developed and interesting. He is one of the best writers of murder mystery/suspense tales. I hope there will be more in this series. I can't get enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    very dissapointed

    I love Lucas Davenport. I have read every book (in order) John Sandford wrote with Lucas as his main character..I could not wait for this book to come out. Only to be very dissapointed. I have to say, I am glad that I didn't read this book first, if I had,,, I don't think I would have read anymore of Sandford's books. This was such a hum-drum, slow moving, boring, read.. it was painful! I am so very dissapointed. I am not one to stop reading a book if it doesn't catch my interest, I have only done that 1x.. but I honestly thought about it.. then thought.. well, maybe it will pick up.. and it never did. It just kept dragging on and and on. Not sure what Sandford has in mind, or if there will be another Davenport story, but I certainly hope it will be better then this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    worse prey book

    I am a big fan of Lucas Davenport and John Sanford- but this is a horrible story. One plot has nothing to do with the other and its like two books were combined to make one.
    I always look forward to the new prey book, and I will continue to do so as I guess everyone can have a bad day of writing.
    I agree with the other reader- read these books in order.
    They are good enough to even reread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Davenport is fun to read about

    I love the Davenport series and this is no exception.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6