Customer Reviews for

Phantom Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book

I may not be the best judge of this book. I love the Lucas Davenport series. John Sanford is an excellent writer. I would recommend that people read the entire Prey series from beginning to end in order, although each book does stand alone. I have the complete set i...
I may not be the best judge of this book. I love the Lucas Davenport series. John Sanford is an excellent writer. I would recommend that people read the entire Prey series from beginning to end in order, although each book does stand alone. I have the complete set in my library. I make a special trip to the bookstore as soon as they come out in paperback. The books are rereadable. The characters are strong, very real, very individualistic and multi-dimensional. The villiams are evil to the core which makes them rather one-dimensional, but true evil is. The book will keep you up at night, but it is well worth the read.

posted by Anne_Dennis on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past page 20

I've read all the Prey books and this was by far the worst. By page 20 I knew there was no way I could finish it. Not surprised though. I heard an interview with John Sandford on NPR and he said he doesn't do much of the writing. He does an outline for the book and has ...
I've read all the Prey books and this was by far the worst. By page 20 I knew there was no way I could finish it. Not surprised though. I heard an interview with John Sandford on NPR and he said he doesn't do much of the writing. He does an outline for the book and has a staff of writers who fill in the rest. Seriously a waste of time. I always looked forward to reading about Lucas Davenport, but not any more.

posted by BradleyVS08 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Couldn't figure out the ending.

    Love to read books about Minnesota and Minneapolis. Big city or small city, Sandford fills you in about the people and places all around you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    great reading

    this is another great and absorbing lucas davenport mystery

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    Typeface and print style are almost unreadable

    As a fan of the series, I just purchased the recently released paperback of this novel without first checking the presentation of the contents. This publication seems to have followed a disturbing trend in which the font, although not too overly large, is presented in manuscript style, i.e. at 1-1/2 to 2 line spaces. This is extremely uncomfortable to read. I am accustomed to reading most of a paragraph at a glance and this presentation makes that impossible, thus slowing my reading to an unacceptable and uncomfortable pace. I will check out the hardcover but I doubt that I will bother to read this recently purchased paperback.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    Nicely done once again

    John Sanford once again has hit a home run. I have read them all and I can say each one is as thrilling as the last. This one is the first I had on audio --loved it! The narrator was fantastic - I felt as if I was really there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    ...the plot was a bit thin. Maybe Lucas needs to divorce Weather and start running around with Del more. All of John Sandfords books have been so great that I was just expecting more. That said, his writing is still tops.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    Fairies are somewhat fantastical, especially from a 'multidimensional' point of view!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Weird, but Very Good

    This wasn't the best story John Sanford has written, but it's really good. I had a hard time figuring out who everyone was, but once it got going, it was a page turner. I liked that Del, Jenkins and Shrake played bigger parts in this one. Since Naked Prey, Del has become one of my favorite characters and I was a little worried about what was going to happen to him, but all's well. Lucas is a very, very lucky man.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Enjoyed it

    This was, admittedly, not quite as enthralling as most of the other Prey novels, but even John Sandford off his game a bit is better than almost anybody else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    VERY GOOD BOOK

    this book is very fast paced and such a page turner!! i loved it. this is the first book i have read by this author and definitely plan to read more. i recommend this book, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Another great 'Prey'.

    While this might not be one of Sandford's best Lucas Davenport novels...it still is a page turner. I guess the disappointment for me is the one-dimensional Davenport family. The kids are flat, and the wife is just too good to be true. But otherwise this book does not disappoint mystery fans. This is definitely one for summer enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Great Book!

    I really liked this book. I have to read a book a month in the summer and I'm glad I read this. But, I would have liked a less predictable ending. I would recommend this book to anyone. GREAT READ!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Waiting

    I am big fan of sanford, and have been waiting for his new book to come out, I return from a cruise on the 4th of May just/in time to purchase Phantom Prey. Other great authors or Paterson 'Cross series' and Catherine Coultre, and I'm big with Vince Flynn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6