BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Phantom Tollbooth

Average Rating 4.5
( 644 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(463)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

excellent read

Learning about words and numbers can sometimes be daunting, but Norton Juster makes it fun in the Phantom Tollbooth. Using characters that have something in common with digits or language, the Phantom Tollbooth takes young readers on an adventurous journey in a land aki...
Learning about words and numbers can sometimes be daunting, but Norton Juster makes it fun in the Phantom Tollbooth. Using characters that have something in common with digits or language, the Phantom Tollbooth takes young readers on an adventurous journey in a land akin to Wonderland.
In my opinion, this book was imaginative, fun to read and well put together. Overall, it was excellent. Children will be taken on a while adventure and learn a little along the way. A great read for parents and children.

posted by Shanella on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I don't want to be mean but.........

I didn't really enjoy this book, it didn't make sense and was very confusing. The book was strange and even though I love reading and it takes me like a day or two to finish a book this one took me about a month because it was so boring. I gave it 2 stars because I thi...
I didn't really enjoy this book, it didn't make sense and was very confusing. The book was strange and even though I love reading and it takes me like a day or two to finish a book this one took me about a month because it was so boring. I gave it 2 stars because I think it's a good book for parents to read to their YOUNG children. You have to have a weird imagination to understand this book.
Hope this helps!

posted by Anonymous on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 647 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    excellent read

    Learning about words and numbers can sometimes be daunting, but Norton Juster makes it fun in the Phantom Tollbooth. Using characters that have something in common with digits or language, the Phantom Tollbooth takes young readers on an adventurous journey in a land akin to Wonderland.
    In my opinion, this book was imaginative, fun to read and well put together. Overall, it was excellent. Children will be taken on a while adventure and learn a little along the way. A great read for parents and children.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Fabulous Read

    The first time I heard of this book was back in grade school. I had to do a book report and my mother recommended this book. At first I was hesitant but had no other book option in mind so I decided to give it a go. Years later I still think of this book! It is one of my all time favorites. The story line and characters really come to life. I could not put the book down! I would without a doubt recommend this book to any one of any age

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Great

    I read it in 4th grade. It wad great. It is a funny, clever book.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    GREAT Book

    Imagine receiving a mysterious package containing a tollbooth that magically teleports you to a strange world only dreamed about. This is just the start of The Phantom Tollbooth, a wonderful page-turner written by Norton Juster.

    In this cleverly written classic, an average boy named Milo has too much time on his hands. One day, he arrives home and finds a big package containing a tollbooth. On the package it says "for Milo, who has plenty of time." If you want to know more about the tollbooth and the lands beyond it, you'll have to read the book.

    In this book, Juster pays close attention to details and makes this a read to remember. I would confidently rate this book five out of five stars for people who like fantasy, are seven or older, and like a book that can't be put down until the very end.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    My friend has read this and she loved it i recommend to a older age like a 5th grader because of the word play

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    All-time Favorite!

    This is my all-time favorite book and has been since my mom first read it to me years ago! The characters that Juster creates are instantly identifiable and (mostly) lovable. The plays on words that Juster uses throughout the book are just as funny for adults as they are for children. It's a PERFECT book to read at night to a child who is a bit too old for Berenstain Bears/Cat in the Hat, but not old enough to say that he/she doesn't want a bedtime story! Pick up this book, and you won't be thinking about your daily life as a ho-hum drudgery - every single person you meet is a new adventure that awaits you!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Read this book!!!!!!!!!!

    Read this book right now! Its'the best book ever. No one should dislike it. If you do like it or should I say love it ur right! Every single class in the world should read this book. I LOVE this book so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so much. Read it and you'll be in awe.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Anonomus

    This is such a detailed and well pronounced story. Some people might say that this book is boring and hard to read, but its really not. Sure it might confuse you at times, but thats because its a well written book. My teacher read this book to the class. I remember my teacher would say "thats it for today class" and the whole class would say awwe. There are alot of hard words in the story, but by reading the sentences i could figure out whar the words ment. I truly recomend this book to someone who will acually sit down and read it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Very entertaining!

    Cute, engaging story - very creative from beginning to end! Just remember, there's always something new to discover. :-)

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Amazing

    Awesome book and a lot of play on words!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Best thing ever

    NEVER HAVE I READ SUCH A BOOK: ' )

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    The Phantom Tollbooth By: Sam Han

    I just finished a book called The Phantom Tollbooth in literature. This book has a very interesting setting that grabs the attention of the reader. My favorite place was Dictionopolis. Dictionopolis is a very interesting place because they sell word and letters instead of foods! How interesting is that! The king who owns Dictionopolis is very fat and hairy. His name was king Azaz. Azaz hated his brother the Mathmagician who lives in Digitopolis.
    The story is about a lazy boy named Milo that always wastes time and always seems to be bored but a tollbooth was in his room and he goes in a extreme adventure that he will learn a lesson that wasting time is not a good thing and he should use his time wisely. While in the adventure he has a conflict. He has to save the princesses to have peace with King Azaz and the Mathmagician but there are demons that will bother Milo and Tock so he is on an extreme adventure!
    You should not miss this book because if you start reading this book you can't stop reading so I suggest you reading this novel. The plot, setting, characters are all funny and fascinating so you should read this book. Thank you!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Krista blakely, eleven

    This book was overall great but sometimes, i had to skip pages to get into action. I sometimes i felt like i was lost in a dark room. There was no explanitory, but that was it.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Cool

    I read it when i was young and when i read it today it brought back memories

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    Must Read!

    The Phantom Tollbooth is a MUST read cute children's book that will get you sucked in. The book is centered on a curious boy named Milo. One day he comes home from school to see an anonymous box labeled, "FOR MILO, WHO HAS PLENT OF TIME" which contained a map and a miniature tollbooth. Milo set up the tollbooth and began driving through the "Lands Beyond." Upon arrival, Milo is faced with many odd obstacles and interesting new perspectives. Personally I could find many relations to the book through the eyes of Milo; a curious little kid that we were all similar to at one point in time. If Milo wasn't enough, the interesting word choices and concepts made it nearly impossible not to stay interested in the book. Though it may be a children's book, if you have not read it, The Phantom Tollbooth is a classic you do not want to miss.
    A. G. Floyd

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I don't want to be mean but.........

    I didn't really enjoy this book, it didn't make sense and was very confusing. The book was strange and even though I love reading and it takes me like a day or two to finish a book this one took me about a month because it was so boring. I gave it 2 stars because I think it's a good book for parents to read to their YOUNG children. You have to have a weird imagination to understand this book.
    Hope this helps!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Amazing!!

    I love this book sooooooooo much we read it in groups in school and I'm always exited when I have to go back and re-read things!!!!!!!! An amazing for all ages

    U

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    My favorite book

    I've loved this book since the first time I read it in 3rd or 4th grade. It was my favorite then (even though I probably didn't catch all the puns) and is still my favorite to this day. I love this book, always have, always will.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    worst Book ever!

    It was the worst book I ever read how could you go in a toy. It's so ... boring!!!!!

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Someonr

    I loved it and it could be confusing at first be when they start their journey to resque rhyme and reason out of the air castle it got so interesting. In other words i lllllllllllllloooooooooooovvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeddddddddddd it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;) ***************************;) *********************;)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 647 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33