Customer Reviews for

Phantom in the Night (Bureau of American Defense Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Kenyon impresses me again

I am an avid reader and have read many books. They tend to meld together with similar plots and characters. but this one took me by surprise. How the twin switched places with his brother to do his time and is not out for revenge after learning when he left prison that ...
I am an avid reader and have read many books. They tend to meld together with similar plots and characters. but this one took me by surprise. How the twin switched places with his brother to do his time and is not out for revenge after learning when he left prison that his brother was murdered. now its a conspiracy and not knowing who to trust. Terri is in the same boat as Nathan, after almost being killed in a confrontation with an informant. they end up learning from each other and end up falling in love. --- the story kept me on the edge, It was suspenseful and held a story that wasn't far fetched. I recommend this book to someone who wants a good read, that likes action story's with a bit of romance.

posted by dani_kress on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

I have literally read everything Sherrilyn Kenyon has written and until I read this book loved them all. In this book however, the writing goes from a lovely flow that pulls you along (expected in Kenyon's books) to a very stilted English teacher's writing and back agai...
I have literally read everything Sherrilyn Kenyon has written and until I read this book loved them all. In this book however, the writing goes from a lovely flow that pulls you along (expected in Kenyon's books) to a very stilted English teacher's writing and back again -- which is very disconcerting. The plot wasn't as well explored as I am used to expecting in SK's books and the characters left you asking a multitude of questions; one of which is "Why did I waste my money and time reading this?"

posted by Cerulean_Talon on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Kenyon impresses me again

    I am an avid reader and have read many books. They tend to meld together with similar plots and characters. but this one took me by surprise. How the twin switched places with his brother to do his time and is not out for revenge after learning when he left prison that his brother was murdered. now its a conspiracy and not knowing who to trust. Terri is in the same boat as Nathan, after almost being killed in a confrontation with an informant. they end up learning from each other and end up falling in love. --- the story kept me on the edge, It was suspenseful and held a story that wasn't far fetched. I recommend this book to someone who wants a good read, that likes action story's with a bit of romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will appreciate this over the top thriller

    Her partner was dead and she entered rehab to recover from the injuries, but Terri Mitchell also quit the DEA to join the Bureau of American Defense. Nathan Drake walked away as a field operative after learning his mom was undergoing chemo and his brother Jamie murdered after joining the Marseaux mob. This pair has never met, but shares much negativity in common as both fight internal demons and external foes.----------------- Using guerilla tactics in New Orleans Nathan stalks the Marseaux mob focusing on leaders especially of the drug ring. This PHANTOM IN THE NIGHT and Terri meet as she is working a personal case that takes a terrorist attack spin she hopes to prevent. They need each other to achieve their mission objectives and though neither will admit it even to themselves to mend their broken souls.------------ Both lead characters are bad to the bone as neither care one iota about law when doing field work involving deadly gangsters and deadlier terrorists. Whereas Nathan is an avenging assassin, Terri has her need for vengeance too. Fans will appreciate this over the top thriller and look forward to more works from this dynamic duo.------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected

    I have literally read everything Sherrilyn Kenyon has written and until I read this book loved them all. In this book however, the writing goes from a lovely flow that pulls you along (expected in Kenyon's books) to a very stilted English teacher's writing and back again -- which is very disconcerting. The plot wasn't as well explored as I am used to expecting in SK's books and the characters left you asking a multitude of questions; one of which is "Why did I waste my money and time reading this?"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Perfect Summer Read!

    This was my first Sherrilyn Kenyon book or Diana Love book. I know where have I been! Together they have created a fun, fast read. Not your typical romantic suspense with it's over the top James Bond action, but what an incredible read. The humor. Charming and subtle. The pacing. Fast-moving and exciting. The characters. Vividly realistic. Nathan Drake is a hero with a dark side. He moves from a prison cell to the streets of New Orleans to avenge his brother's death. Terri Mitchell is a kick butt heroine with issues of her own. Not the least of which is saving Nathan from himself. Their romance sizzles. The plot's a page turner with twists and turns you'll never predict as Nathan and Terri work to stop a world threat that could take the lives of thousands of innocent people. Phantom is intriguing and emotional. I can't wait for the next B.A.D. adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Fast Paced Winner!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Dianna Love Snell's debut, RITA Award winning book, WORTH EVERY RISK!! How cool to find that she's now writing as Diana Love in collaboration with Sherrilyn Kenyon. If you're in the mood for a fast paced, page turning suspense, you won't want to miss PHANTOM IN THE NIGHT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    If you are a Sherrilyn Kenyon fan, you will love this elite agency series. They are just as additive as her other books! I hope she continues with the BAD series - it is an interesting twist and I love the covert operations. Makes you wonder what is really going on behind the scenes here in the US!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Another great series by Sherrilyn Kenyon.

    After DH series, nice to see her talent put to work on regular mortals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adrenaline pumping

    Wow! A MIA Special Ops ranger, DEA, Feds, biologial weapons, murder and secret societies. Not to mention to throw in a little romance and you've got a hell of a book. Once again - didn't realize this was part of a series - see its #2 so I guess I'll need to find out what #1 is.

    I am a fan of Kenyon's, her books holds a similar layout of the plot. Even though it is similar, the story is still good. I like how she can go from supernatural to sci-fi and now with this series to a special ops/murder mystery. She also does a good nice showing multiple angles of the story and then merges them together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    catches you!

    i really enjoyed this book..the only thing i didn't like was the kind of cliff-hanger ending. leaves you wanting MORE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5