Customer Reviews for

The Phantom of Pemberley: A Pride and Prejudice Murder Mystery

Average Rating 3.5
( 799 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Darcy & Elizabeth's Phantom

Beautifully written!! Absolutely a must read! Includes much of the original text without any awkward wording; like some sequels have. It was very exiciting mystery definitly a keeper for your bookshelf. Ann De Bourgh takes a stand against her mother. You have interestin...
Beautifully written!! Absolutely a must read! Includes much of the original text without any awkward wording; like some sequels have. It was very exiciting mystery definitly a keeper for your bookshelf. Ann De Bourgh takes a stand against her mother. You have interesting new characters.

posted by Chutzpuh on September 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Exactly Jane Austen

In concept, this book had a good plot, but it falls short of what it could -- and should -- be. While the author attempts to capture Jane Austen's style, there are too many American and modern anachronisms in her writing. One very quickly realizes this is most certainly...
In concept, this book had a good plot, but it falls short of what it could -- and should -- be. While the author attempts to capture Jane Austen's style, there are too many American and modern anachronisms in her writing. One very quickly realizes this is most certainly NOT a Jane Austen novel. I did not appreciate the detail in which Darcy and Elizabeth's sex life is chronicled. It all but destroyed the romance Jane Austen built for us so long ago. Further, the amount of violence was jarring, and the number of survivals from such horrendous violence was not believable. Couple that with misleading foreshadowing and premises, and at the end I just felt off kilter. Why did I keep reading? Because, as I said, the plot is good, even riveting. The excessive violence occurs at the end, so I didn't know it was coming. I allowed my eyes to miss the sex scenes and finished the book. But I cannot say it was a satisfying read.

posted by guitarmom on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Great Book

    Loved this, read it right after reading Pride and Prejudice. It keeps with the feel of Pride and Prejudice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Worth Reading

    Not a great work but well written and offers a chance to revisit beloved characters from Pride and Predujudice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    was just ok

    loved the mystery but could have done with out all the love references. geez. that was a bit much. but otherwise i really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Shlocky Page-Turner - Not Art

    I enjoyed this book but only in the way I might enjoy a trashy bestseller. The book is a page-turner for sure, but the writing is mediocre and the plot itself borders on the ludicrous. The book also needed a good editor. How many times did we have to read sappy love scenes between Darcy and Elizabeth? Or hear Darcy's thoughts musing about how much he could not live without her? This cliched romance-novel characterization cheapened the Austen legacy and was the worst part of the book - other than one fight, there was no reality or tension in their relationship, thus removing all the spark from it and making it a one-dimensional parody. Additionally, the stupidity and reactions of the group in relation to murders going on in the house borders on the type of *dumb* you'd see in a teen horror flick: "Hey, people are being killed left and right! Let's put on a play! Let's make some dresses to go to a party!" Despite that, I still enjoyed reading this mess, if just that it was entertaining despite its flaws. I'd rather give it 2.5 stars but can't, so will graciously give it 3 instead of 2 because I did finish it and found it amusing. I wouldn't have paid for this - glad I got it on Free Friday! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Decent Read

    It's been years since I read Pride and Prejudice, so I struggled trying to remember exactly what transpired in the book so I could continue to follow along in this novel. That aside, it took a while for the book to get the mystery going and the book tended to get quite long-winded in places. I got this book when it was offered for free, so for a free book it's a decent read with a good mystery. I did not figure out the ending and I thought it was an interesting twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    A good mystery

    If you don't think of these characters as P&P characters, this is a good mystery and an enjoyable read. The people in this book did not ring true for me as continuations of Jane Austen's characters, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Murder, Mystery, Romance and Darcy

    I really enjoyed this book--kept me guessing till almost the end. One thing bugged me though--the author's overuse of the word 'rasped' kept sticking out to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Not bad

    I liked this book quite a lot. I was furiously hooked after the first page. The style is elegant yet concise, which makes for a book that is easy to read quickly or slowly, absorbing one in its lyrical wording. The author masterly handles a complex array of characters. However, the second half of the book loses momentum and falls flat by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    So So

    It was more of a romance mystery than a murder mystery. It was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    okay book to satisfy the darcy hunger

    i really enjoyed the quirky mystery part even though it felt a bit forced at times. i liked the feel of the period and the new characters introduced but i felt that this book could have been really good if it had nothing to do with pride and prejudice. by using the models of darcy and eliza to create and serve a new cast would have been refreshing. as it stands it is an okay read to serve your hunger for more of darcy and eliza and much more agreeable than 'vampire darcy's desire' the author did justice to the darcy's but i am glad that it was free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    Not finished yet but

    It is interesting how she takes lines from different Austen books to get the FEEL of Austen, but there are still some things I couldn't picture coming out of the true characters' mouths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Good characterization, but too much sensationalism

    I can't get enough of the Pride and Prejudice characters, and this did not disappoint in that area. But there were way too many murders and injuries, to the point of tedium (and evidence of a lack of finishing power in the author). But I enjoyed reading the story in spite of its lackluster ending. E for effort but I can't help but think this author is better than the end result displayed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Story is OK, but why the mystery?

    Guess I'll never understand the need to sequel Austen, GWTW or make movies based on classic TV shows. Elizabeth & Darcy belong to the ages. No need for revisiting and adapting was is perfection. If the story was about other characters, I would give it three stars. If the characters were as smart as they are made out to be, someone should have discovered the secret passage by Chapter 2. Come on, Darcy grew up at Pemberley & never heard about the passages, caves or tunnels or played in them as a child? Sad, and a bit unbelievable. Hate the mush, too. More interesting if E & D argued like real married people instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining...

    It took me a little while to try to put into words what I liked and what I didn't like about this free read. I enjoyed imagining what might come next for the Darcys and felt like this book was a fun idea for a mystery for them. It did manage to convince me it was Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam...but it was quite obvious someone else was telling the story. I also wasn't thrilled with details about their love life (or the guy spying on those details) and there were obvious glaring spots that weren't true to Austen's time. Still...I found this entertaining and fun to read. I have to credit Austen for creating characters that can stand up to someone else continuing their story. Those original characters really drove my interest in this story, truth be told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9