Customer Reviews for

The Phantom of Pemberley: A Pride and Prejudice Murder Mystery

Average Rating 3.5
( 798 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(234)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Darcy & Elizabeth's Phantom

Beautifully written!! Absolutely a must read! Includes much of the original text without any awkward wording; like some sequels have. It was very exiciting mystery definitly a keeper for your bookshelf. Ann De Bourgh takes a stand against her mother. You have interestin...
Beautifully written!! Absolutely a must read! Includes much of the original text without any awkward wording; like some sequels have. It was very exiciting mystery definitly a keeper for your bookshelf. Ann De Bourgh takes a stand against her mother. You have interesting new characters.

posted by Chutzpuh on September 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Exactly Jane Austen

In concept, this book had a good plot, but it falls short of what it could -- and should -- be. While the author attempts to capture Jane Austen's style, there are too many American and modern anachronisms in her writing. One very quickly realizes this is most certainly...
In concept, this book had a good plot, but it falls short of what it could -- and should -- be. While the author attempts to capture Jane Austen's style, there are too many American and modern anachronisms in her writing. One very quickly realizes this is most certainly NOT a Jane Austen novel. I did not appreciate the detail in which Darcy and Elizabeth's sex life is chronicled. It all but destroyed the romance Jane Austen built for us so long ago. Further, the amount of violence was jarring, and the number of survivals from such horrendous violence was not believable. Couple that with misleading foreshadowing and premises, and at the end I just felt off kilter. Why did I keep reading? Because, as I said, the plot is good, even riveting. The excessive violence occurs at the end, so I didn't know it was coming. I allowed my eyes to miss the sex scenes and finished the book. But I cannot say it was a satisfying read.

posted by guitarmom on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Darcy & Elizabeth's Phantom

    Beautifully written!! Absolutely a must read! Includes much of the original text without any awkward wording; like some sequels have. It was very exiciting mystery definitly a keeper for your bookshelf. Ann De Bourgh takes a stand against her mother. You have interesting new characters.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    Terrific Cozy!!!

    Jeffers superbly captures the audience in her first cozy mystery. Based on the characters from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, Jeffers uses actual Austen quotes to authenicate the characters while creating a tightly woven storyline.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    Make an ebook

    I love this author. Please make this an ebook.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely reminded me of the old Victorian style

    If you liked Agatha Christie's "TEN LITTLE INDIANS" you'll love this. If you played the board game "CLUE", and liked it, that another comparison. I have not read this style of mystery since Agatha Christie and even then, she had nothing to compare to this. The PHANTOM of PEMBERLEY has love, romance,jealously, hate, murder, confusion, ghost, floating candles, uncommon footprints and this all takes place in a large old manor unexpectedly hosting many strangers during a massive snowstorm. Wonderful story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Highly recommend

    If you enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and you enjoy ready a good mystery this book is for you. I throughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good read

    I am a fan of Pride & Prejudice, always wondering how the next chapter of Elizbeth and Fitzwilliam would go. This book did not disappoint. It is a continuation of an old classic with a modern twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    a must read

    If you loved Pride and Prejudice, then you will love this book also. Join Darcy and Elizabeth to find out who the Phantom of Pemberley is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    This book was a great read and had a very surprising ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Page Turning

    I LOVED THIS BOOK?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    I enjoyed this mystery using the characters from Pride and Prejudice. It is very suspenseful and keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book was so intriguing. Found a lot of old term words that I found fascinating to be able to "look up" the meaning. The story line definitely kept me engrossed. I had downloaded several free books in the past that were short (this one is not) or just did not keep my attention, but this book met all of my expectations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Brilliant

    An amazing sequel to Austen's story. Granted, it's not Austen's style but still a great read. Romantic and mysterious, Jeffers keeps you guessing and confused until a creative twist leaves you dizzy and a little shocked. Jeffers haas hit my favorites and i will gladly reread this-something i do rarely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend!!

    I love this book! I RARELY put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Amazing.....

    This could not have been any better. I will recommend this book for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Download!

    Very enjoyable and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I recommend this to anyone who likes Pride and Prejudice! :)

    I could hardly put this book down.I thought it was sad that Lydia Wickham did not have a good relationship with her husband.She had a husband who cared very little of her.I thought it was interesting that Elizabeth Bennett and Mr.Darcy are married in this book.Elizabeth, Mr.Darcy, and their guests worked hard together to find who stole the missing items in the Darcy's mansion and who killed some of the characters.I found it interesting that Mr.Wickham called himself different names.I totally did not see it coming that he was all of those people.

    I think anyone who has read Pride and Prejudice will enjoy The Phantom of Pemberley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    highly recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed the phantom of Pemberly.. well written, and full of suspense.. thank you ..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Great Find

    This book expands upon the relationship of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy as a married couple. It was a great read and I couldn't put it down! I would really recommend this book for the suspense, complex characters, and the romance. What a great twist at the end too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    highly recommended

    This book is full of twists and turns. The actual killer is not known until close to the end. The end does not leave you feeling like something is missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10