Customer Reviews for

Phantoms

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Please don't watch the movie!

I can honestly say that this is the only novel so far that has gave me chills. I have to say that the part where the police officer goes into the freezer realy did it for me. That image should be stuck in readers minds forever (read the book and you'll get it.) There...
I can honestly say that this is the only novel so far that has gave me chills. I have to say that the part where the police officer goes into the freezer realy did it for me. That image should be stuck in readers minds forever (read the book and you'll get it.) There are also many references to God, which really add to this paranormal experience. The dark tone of the story and the town being completely 'deserted' REALLY sets the mood and the characters are the best I've ever heard of in a book. Seriously, go get it.

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book is awful

I really did not like this book at all. It is not good horror. If you are looking for a ghost story, this isn't it. This is some weird sci-fi stuff that was just annoying. It was like Dean Koontz just decided half-way through the book that he needed to hurry up and ...
I really did not like this book at all. It is not good horror. If you are looking for a ghost story, this isn't it. This is some weird sci-fi stuff that was just annoying. It was like Dean Koontz just decided half-way through the book that he needed to hurry up and write the ending, so he just hurried through it and made all these impossible conclusions. It was really bad. Don't read it unless you like that sort of thing.

posted by Wendylovesmike on August 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Please don't watch the movie!

    I can honestly say that this is the only novel so far that has gave me chills. I have to say that the part where the police officer goes into the freezer realy did it for me. That image should be stuck in readers minds forever (read the book and you'll get it.) There are also many references to God, which really add to this paranormal experience. The dark tone of the story and the town being completely 'deserted' REALLY sets the mood and the characters are the best I've ever heard of in a book. Seriously, go get it.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Couldn't put it down....

    I read 55 pages the first time I opened the cover, and then I had to force myself to put it down. Creepy as hell!!! Koontz has an imagination that is out there. There were times when I was reading that I wondered if maybe D.K. needed a psychological evaluation! He's a master of his trade.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Phantoms

    The book starts when the main character, Jenny, and her sister find a dead body outside their house. They don't know the cause of death and can't figure out one. Even more strange is that their town, Snowfeld, seems like a ghost town, no one to help them or in sight for that matter. Immediately thinking something is wrong the girls start searching local homes to find more mysteriously dead bodies. As the horror builds they, surprisingly, can not get the phone to work. After what seems like hours of trying they get through to help. But the help is not enough. Soon more and more bodies are found dead and but then return to life as creatures that are not the least bit human. With only a few lasting survivors they are able to come up with a plan of attack to defeat their hellish enemies.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Creepy!

    This book is the first Koontz book I've ever read, but it's also the scariest book I've ever read. It will make you afraid to enter a walk in freezer room alone. Please don't watch the movie. The characters aren't anything like the books and it is completely B rated.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Truly A Piece of Work And An Excellent Read

    I picked up this book when I was 12 years old, and to this day, like a majority of the reviews that have already been posted have said, it is still the scariest book I've ever read. Granted, I'm not frightened easily and "scariest" may be a relative phrase, but no other book that I've read in my lifetime has given me chills quite like this one.

    The books Koontz has written within the past couple of years have been good, but he fell away from the horror/thriller genre and it's evident in his most recent books. While still good, these books haven't come even somewhat close to the storytelling and imagery conveyed in Phantoms.

    Gripping from the first page, Koontz perfects the art of mental imagery, giving you vivid scenes and relatable characters from the get go. You're thrust into a small winter town with two strong women who are faced with a chilling array of circumstances that keep you turning the page long after the lights have gone out.

    He somehow manages to incorporate a substantial amount of science and supernatural, and fact and fiction into the story, creating a web of intrigue that will leave you going "What if?" when you put the book down, no doubt at some ridiculous hour of the night.

    If you never read another Dean Koontz book again, or have even read them all, this is the one to not miss, by any means. And in terms of the movie, it is what it is, just make sure you read the book first, because that is the one that will leave you searching for a flashlight in the daytime, in preperation for nightfall.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    Fiction with fascinating historical foundations

    Terrific plot that pulls together little-known incidents of mass disappearances throughout human history into a single explanation--an explanation that is typically Koontzian in that it fuses science and the supernatural. Even though it's fiction, I keep wondering if some natural phenomenon of this sort could really be at work on our earth. I thought the film was stupid, but (as usual) the book was much better. A bit of insight into the Koontz formula I got from this book is that Koontz always uses cartharsis via flirting with forbidden topics of sex and violence--a formula which seems to work extremely well for selling large quantities of books. I expected everyone (and every *thing*) in the plot to be a little bit more intelligent than they were, but I liked the mystery aspect, the dark shadows moving in the shadowy passage, and the creepy motorcycle gang.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    A hmm moment...

    I love Dean Koontz and although this book makes you think about what could have happened to the colonies that have disappeared in history, i just didn't like it. There were too many stories about characters that didn't need to exist. I was curious about all of the back story so I continued to read it until the end. Fantastic writer...definitely not my favorite book of his.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    This book is awful

    I really did not like this book at all. It is not good horror. If you are looking for a ghost story, this isn't it. This is some weird sci-fi stuff that was just annoying. It was like Dean Koontz just decided half-way through the book that he needed to hurry up and write the ending, so he just hurried through it and made all these impossible conclusions. It was really bad. Don't read it unless you like that sort of thing.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    I READ THIS BOOK SERVERAL YEARS BACK, I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! THIS IS A NAIL BITING, HAIR PULLING, SCARE YOUR PANTS OFF, OMG OMG WHATS GONNA HAPPEN NEXT KINDA BOOK! GAVE ME NIGHTMARES FOR MONTHS AFTER READING IT! EXCELLENT! BEST BOOK IVE EVER READ, AND FIXING TO START IT ALL OVER AGAIN!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    WOW !

    i have been able to read a few of Dean Koontz' novels, but phantoms to me was by far the best.It is gripping and exciting after each page.Read it,i promise you wont be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    HIS BEST ONE YET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was sooooooooooooo good. It was the first book in a while that made me afraid to read it. All horror fans and Dean Koontz fans will love this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    What is Evil?

    I was scared at the start of the book and most books don't have that affect on me. I was hooked the minute I started reading. I was kind of leary when I got a fourth of the way in but the book recovered. It made you think and that is something that keeps me reading a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Gripping

    Very suspensful and exciting. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. My only problem was how Koontz seems to make this enemy almost omnipotent, yet the people are able to find ways to work around it anyways. . . Don't see the movie that was based off of this...it's silly and stupid and I'm just glad I saw it AFTER I read the book so it didn't ruin my experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    A truly Great Read!

    This was the first book I had ever read from Dean Koontz. I read it in high school, and was absolutely fascinated with the imagery that the author was able to create. I could see everything happening in my mind as I read it. It left the right amount of suspense, thrills, suprises and horror at the right time to keep the reader hooked! I would recommend this book highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Phenomenal

    I was around 11 I think when I first read this book, and it was the first book that actually gave me nightmares. It's a book you want to put down because you can't take no more or you're 'Full up', (Thomas in 'The Bad Place'.) but you feel the need to continue it. I'm 14 now and I think I've read it over 100 times. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Pretty good...

    Fairly well written...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Great Reading!!!

    Fast moving. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    It is a good read! I really enjoyed it. The suspense builds slow

    It is a good read! I really enjoyed it. The suspense builds slowly but steadily. How you might think the ending will be keeps you guessing until the actual ending. It's like a horror story in ways, but not in other ways. In my opinion, the book is well worth the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Ja

    Gtg bbl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Christine

    Ypu can be Phantom, meg, mme giry, raoul, carlota, piangi, buqet, andre, firmin or some one made up. Do you know the story line of phantom of the opera

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15