Customer Reviews for

Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2002

    Powerful

    One of my favorite poem writer of all time. This is a must read poem book, that grabs at your heart and give you boast of insipriation.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    `Great, Just as Phenomenal as the title

    I am a 20 year old college student and I believe that this poem celebrates the life of black women and all women alike around the world. It makes me appreciate myself more and know how much I am worth because of how detaily God created me. It helped rebuild my self confidence.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    oustanding

    I READ THIS POEM FOR BLACK HISTORY MONTH AT MY CHURCH AND THE CONGREGATION LOVED IT! I ALSO HAVE A COPY OF THIS POEM ON MY WALL AND IT RREALLY DESCRIBES THE BLACK WOMAN TO 'T'

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For the phenomenal woman

    This book contains one of the quintessential and more celebrated writings of Dr. Maya Angelou - Phenomenal Woman. However, what makes this book outstanding is the artwork. I was immediately struck by the artwork of Paul Gauguin, including the picture of the Mayan woman on the cover. The book makes a wonderful gift for the phenomenal women in your life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Inspiring words

    I purchased this book for an elderly Aunt who is dying of cancer, she had never married and had always amazed me by the things she had accomplished in her life. The title grabbed my attention, but after reading the words to her so did the content.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Phenomenal

    This book is excatly wat the title says. It inspires women. It lets us know that we are as powerful, wonderful, beautiful human beings. That no matter wat people say or do to us we can always hold our heads high....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    this poem is great

    I love this poem it makes woman feel so good and it will help us feel better about ourselfs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    A recommendation:

    Maya Angelou does not rest on any laurels. Her poems are powerful and deep. I am thrilled about the book, she continues to write poetry that lives up to her reputation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    AWESOME PHENOMENALLY

    THIS POEM REALLY LIFTS THE MIND,BODY AND SOUL. I REMEMBER HEARING THIS PEOM 5 YEARS AGO, I COULN'T GET IT OUT OF MY HEAD. I HAD TO OWN A COPY. BEING AN AFRICAN-AMERICAN WOMAN, I WOULD SUGGEST THIS POEM TO EVERY OTHER AFRICAN-AMERICAN WOMAN OR ANY OTHER WOMAN.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    great book

    I love Maya Angelou's poems. I purchased more than one of this book and have given them to a few women as a Birthday, Christmas and Mother's day gift. I've been lucky to have a few phenomenal women in my life that have been inspirational to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Simply the best!

    What can I say other than Maya is one of my favorite writers and this poem is my favorite as well. She is truely a Phenomenal Woman...........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1