Customer Reviews for

Philadelphia Chickens: A Too-Illogical Zoological Musical Revue

Average Rating 5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    My son loves this book and CD. We use the CD more than the book. My husband and I don't mind listening to it either. It's fun for all and shakes things up from the same ol' same ol' children's music. Makes a great gift too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    for all ages!

    Loved the fact that the kids are exposed to different types of music while recognizing the lyrics are stories they have had read to them over, and over and over. We play it in the van full of grandkids, and ok, I admit, I often listen to it when just me in the van! All ages will love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    This book and CD "fit the bill."

    My young granddaughter enjoys creative dancing and gymnastics. This joyful and silly music provides her with the perfect media for listening and interacting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Best baby gift ever!

    Receiving this as a gift for our newborn grandson produced marvelous calming, walking tunes for a crying infant & smiles for the grown-up walker who appreciated its subtle humor. Soon we all learned melodies & lyrics that stayed long after the CD wore out from many plays. It's one of the first books helping that baby, now 6-year old, learn to read. Sandra Boynton & her friends are wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Turn up the volume and sing along.

    Get ready to repeat this many times--and it help if you can sing (even if its off key). The lyrics are fun for kids and adults. Get ready for some serious silliness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE this book and GIFT it OFTEN!

    There are a few books in this series but this is the BEST one. My kids loved it several years ago and still love it today. The songs are so fun! It's a great gift item and one of our family favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    Better than Karoke

    This is a sing along book and CD. It is FAR FAR BETTER than Dog Train. My daughter and I sing to it constantly in the car. My favorite song is 15 Animals. But I am partial to Meryl Streeps Jazzy tune; she has an amazing voice. Every one is catchy and engaging. Even my Husband was found popping it in and singing along. One of the best I have ever had!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Wow!

    Our 18month old daughter loves Sandra Boynton books, she has since she was just a few days old. And this CD is loved and often played on our home. The Belly Button Song is her favorite and she shouts 'Belly Button' as a greeting to everybody! Just thinking about this CD bring a smile to our faces. If your kids love Sandra Boynton, they deserve this CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    So much fun for parents = more fun for kids

    This CD is our favorite. The songs are so clever and fun that we enjoy listening and singing along which greatly increases our son's amusement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    LOVED IT

    I recieved this book as a gift. I love it. I'd have to say I love it more than my children. I find myself singing the songs as the apply to everyday life. EXAMPLE... when I get a cookie... 'oh chocolate chip cookie so high on the self....'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I recieved this book as a shower gift. My son is now 10 months old and I know all the words because we listen to it so much. He loves to clap and bounce to the music. I can't wait to purchase all of the others from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    We love this Book/CD

    We found this book at a little shop while on vacation. We have been playing and reading it since my son was an infant. Now almost 4 years old he still brings the book to us to read. The music is so fun. It has a something for parents to enjoy just as much. Even a friend of ours wanted a copy and she didn't have any children. Our favorite songs: Belly Button, 15 animals, cows. One of my sons first words was 'remarkable' cows because of the song!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Perfect

    This album is perfect for the car. Enjoyable for the adults and children. My 4 year old thinks 'truly Terrible Mood' is about her and my 17 month old sings 'Suggle Puppy' outloud. The book is a great way to get old kids involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Serious music fun for the whole family

    We found this book/cd at the library and were so excited. We'd already purchased Rhinoceros Tap and LOVED it so were eager to hear the next installment from the talented Ms. Boynton. We were not disappointed! I loved the witty lyrics and jazz-inspired showtunes and my kids (4 and 6 yrs) quickly memorized the words to all their new favorites and continue to sing them even after we returned the book (sadly) to the library. We will have to purchase our own copy soon. My only, very slight, criticism of this book is that there were a few too many slower ballad-type tunes which lost the kids' attention for a bit. (However my husband and I enjoyed those too) Their favorites? The Aardvarks Intermission Song was the hands-down winner followed closely by the Busy, Busy song which is a fun tongue-twister to try and sing along with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    THE BEST OF THE BEST!

    My family has enjoyed Sandra Boynton books for years (I started buying them before my children were even born). This is one of the best of the collection. To see my children dancing little jigs and singing along to the fun songs is just priceless. As a parent and an educator (I own and operate a preschool as well) I recommend this book to all parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    WONDERFUL!

    My son received this as a gift and 'we' love it. We have the CD in the car and it makes long rides much more fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Saves us on long car trips

    Can't be too enthusiastic about the music. The entire family fell in love with the tunes, enjoys singing along and everyone has their favorite. On one long car trip the kids petitioned to hear this CD at LEAST 6 times. This is music that, happily, parents can love as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Best kids CD ever...

    We love Boynton books (husband, baby, and myself), so I thought I would give this a try, even though we have every other kids CD imaginable. This one is permanently stationed in our CD changer. As soon as 'Cows' comes on, my daughter (about to turn 1) starts 'dancing'. My husband and I are constantly singing the songs. It is especially great because it puts music to many of our Boynton favorites (ie: Snuggle Puppy) - the only downside is that I can no longer just read the books - I have to sing them! I, too, will buy this for every kid I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    FABULOUS!!!!!!!!

    I would give this more stars if possible! This book and CD are so wonderful!! I have three girls....ages one, four and six and they all LOVE this book/CD. The older kids sing along as they read the book and look at the pictures. They really get a kick out of it. Personally, I think the songs are adorable...witty and unique and....fun! Finally a CD that we can ALL enjoy in the car. By the way, I have been a Boynton fan since she first started out...I love her work and this is by far one of my favorites that she has produced...it is really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    We love it--and we don't even have any kids!

    I've loved Sandra Boynton since first reading 'Chocolate: A Consuming Passion' back in 1981. When I saw this book & CD, I couldn't resist. My husband and I both love it, and I'm buying it as a gift for every child I know (who doesn't already have it). Fun, silly, and finely crafted, you'll get a giggle and a smile from these songs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2