Customer Reviews for

Phineas Gage: A Gruesome but True Story About Brain Science

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Wow! I ust got done reading this book in my 5th grade reading class and its amazing that Phineas lived for another 11 years,6 months, and 19 days after the tamping iron wen tthrough his skull!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

cjf3301 Phineas Gage

This is a very gory book about a man named Phineas Gage. He was injured in a railroad accident were a rod went through his cheek and then right through his head. Surprisingly he lived to tell about his horrible accident. Doctors were not sure how or why he lived, but...
This is a very gory book about a man named Phineas Gage. He was injured in a railroad accident were a rod went through his cheek and then right through his head. Surprisingly he lived to tell about his horrible accident. Doctors were not sure how or why he lived, but what they did know was that he became a completely different person than he was before the incident. His people from his town no longer wanted anything to do with this previous good willed man. He started to star in traveling shows as the living man with a hole in his head. This is a real life twisted story with interesting detail.

I personally did not enjoy this book it was a little too graphic for me. It was very science oriented and went into very specific detail about the brain and about medicine. I would recommend it for someone that loves science and that wants to learn about the brain and brain injuries. I did find interesting the effects that injury takes on the brain. So this is a great book just not for the non-science non-gruesome person.

posted by cjf3301 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Good book

    Wow! I ust got done reading this book in my 5th grade reading class and its amazing that Phineas lived for another 11 years,6 months, and 19 days after the tamping iron wen tthrough his skull!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Great Story! Very Gory! I Loved IT!!!

    This story is a docamentry about a man named Phineas Gage, a young man that got a a sharp-rod shaped stick in his head and lived for anothe 11 years. This story included alotot of gory parts in including a picture with the sharp stick through phineas head!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Phineas Gage

    I think that this book is remarkable. Its the best book you will every read on a brain accident

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    cjf3301 Phineas Gage

    This is a very gory book about a man named Phineas Gage. He was injured in a railroad accident were a rod went through his cheek and then right through his head. Surprisingly he lived to tell about his horrible accident. Doctors were not sure how or why he lived, but what they did know was that he became a completely different person than he was before the incident. His people from his town no longer wanted anything to do with this previous good willed man. He started to star in traveling shows as the living man with a hole in his head. This is a real life twisted story with interesting detail.

    I personally did not enjoy this book it was a little too graphic for me. It was very science oriented and went into very specific detail about the brain and about medicine. I would recommend it for someone that loves science and that wants to learn about the brain and brain injuries. I did find interesting the effects that injury takes on the brain. So this is a great book just not for the non-science non-gruesome person.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    They should make a movie

    Great book with tons of info

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Its times like these im glad im a worm

    Hshdv

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Great book

    My teacher mrs landis told my class we should read this it turns out it was very good i love medical science!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Koolz

    I read this in i think 7th grade

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Sceary

    :(

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Interesting

    I thought it was very interesting and imformative.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    With the line

    This book is so good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    This book....

    Very interesting true story of a man who should have died or been left brain dead from his injuries. Althou he was changed after the accident but by the grace of God he lived 11 yrs. after his accident!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Ggg

    Hhh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Good, but it is as if the author tried too hard to make the book longer than it is

    This is the a book about the accident of Phineas Gage in Vermont. But I would say about 40+% of the book is about brain science, and it often gets carried away with these explanations. These should be here just not all of it should be be here. So the beginning of the book gives an interesting description of the horrible accident that happened to PG and how he is somehow still alive with a pole going through his skull and brain. But it then describes the beliefs of brain science that existed back then. The problem is the fact that that chapter isn't very related to what the author had just described. The information is good, but not what I was looking for/wanted from this book. It does tell a brief story of the rest of Phineas's life though. But there are some chapters that were not very related to the incident itself, although I believe that one of these chapters explains why and how Phineas changed so much after his so called, "Full Recovery." These other chapters are not out of the ballpark, but not really the information we want from a book describing a horrible accident in Vermont and what the survivor did after enduring an injury that you would think would kill anyone instantly. YES, HOWEVER, it is still a cool book, and if you like reading about really amazing things, you should at least check this out. Although it didn't affect me, certain people might be scared/creeped out by this story, so don't read this if you are rather sensitive to these kinds of things, but if you are, you probably aren't reading this review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Very Helpful

    My mother recently had a massive stroke in her right frontal lobe. Physically she is doing very well, but mentally, she just isn't the same. This book and Phineas' story helped me to better visualize and understand just what that stroke did to her. And it's a very interesting story in its own right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Phineas Gage: A gruesome but Boring Story about Brain Science

    If you like brain science, this is the book for you, but if not, I would not recommend it. The reason why I bought it was because I thought it was going to be a gruesome and interesting, but instead it was not that gruesome and not very interesting. The author talks about the brain way too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2