BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Phoenix Rising

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This debut book was fantastic! I found myself wondering if Ms. M

This debut book was fantastic! I found myself wondering if Ms. Morgan
was really just begining her publishing career. The story is fast paced
and engaging and I had a lot of trouble putting down to do trivial
things- like eat and sleep! Morgan puts a different sort of s...
This debut book was fantastic! I found myself wondering if Ms. Morgan
was really just begining her publishing career. The story is fast paced
and engaging and I had a lot of trouble putting down to do trivial
things- like eat and sleep! Morgan puts a different sort of spin on the
vampire myth, and its was refreshing to see them portrayed differently.
It was creative and original! her main character was a different sort,
too! There were times when I cheered, others when I actually started to
tear up a little. The writing is THAT great. Morgan starts the story and
within pages, she has her hooks firmly in you. This is a YA read that
will appeal to ALL audiences. there isn't a bunch of swearing in it, or
things that may make YA feel uncomfortable. In fact, I have handed the
book to my 15 year old daughter to read. This is a great book... My
only complaint- that Morgan has left me wanting...no, NEEDING more of
this story! I can't wait for the next book in this fresh new series!

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Watts

I am Watts the leader put your looks name and power Name........Watts Power.......Electricity Looks....... Blonde hair that sometimes sticks up ....skinny....athletic Personality.....Protective of friends .....loyal.....friendly......shy Status....Single

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    This debut book was fantastic! I found myself wondering if Ms. M

    This debut book was fantastic! I found myself wondering if Ms. Morgan
    was really just begining her publishing career. The story is fast paced
    and engaging and I had a lot of trouble putting down to do trivial
    things- like eat and sleep! Morgan puts a different sort of spin on the
    vampire myth, and its was refreshing to see them portrayed differently.
    It was creative and original! her main character was a different sort,
    too! There were times when I cheered, others when I actually started to
    tear up a little. The writing is THAT great. Morgan starts the story and
    within pages, she has her hooks firmly in you. This is a YA read that
    will appeal to ALL audiences. there isn't a bunch of swearing in it, or
    things that may make YA feel uncomfortable. In fact, I have handed the
    book to my 15 year old daughter to read. This is a great book... My
    only complaint- that Morgan has left me wanting...no, NEEDING more of
    this story! I can't wait for the next book in this fresh new series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I just read Phoenix Rising (Maggie Henning and the Realm) and I

    I just read Phoenix Rising (Maggie Henning and the Realm) and I fell in love with the book and the characters. I couldn't put this book down - I started it on Monday night and finished it Tuesday afternoon...I definitely lost sleep because of this book...lol.
    The book has an interesting premise and smoothly incorporates a large variety of supernatural creatures together into a seamless story about the Realm (the supernatural world that humans don't comprehend). Maggie, the main character, was very relatable and a great female protaganist. In fact, all of the characters were great.
    If you are looking for a new YA paranormal series, then this is a great place to start...and the 2nd book in the series was just released today (10/4/12) - I already bought the 2nd book and can't wait to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HOLY SMOKES!!!! Where do I begin? 16 year old Maggie has been

    HOLY SMOKES!!!! Where do I begin?

    16 year old Maggie has been living with grief, believing that her father was a killer. Her world as she knows it is about to be turned upside down. She is drawn to the melody of a guitar in a music store, where she meets Michel. Oh Michel <3 Anyhow, her friend ditches her at the mall and Michel offers to give her a ride home...on his motorcycle. Fast forward a bit. Maggie dreads visiting her father in the mental institution. Her father never speaks during their visits. That is all about to change. Her father tries to warn her that she needs to "Guard the blood." Maggie has no clue what he is talking about and she thinks he's just crazy. She's about to learn just how serious things are about to get.

    Maggie learns that her life for the past 10 years has been a lie. She has been living with a woman she believed to be her mother. After an attack, Maggie is brought to the Trust, a safe house for beings of the Realm. It is there that she learns of what she really is and the truth about her father. Maggie is the Realm's last hope to defeat the revenants, an evil race that is determined to take over the Realm and the mortal world.

    My thoughts...

    I had mixed feelings when I read this book. The beginning got right to the point. I like when a book doesn't go on with the mundane stuff. I had a love/hate relationship with Maggie. I liked her in the beginning. But as the book started to focus on the nitty gritty, she kinda whined a lot and it was a bit of a turn off. I like my protagonist to be strong and independent and she was just lacking a bit of both. It also felt a little like insta-love. Those were my only two gripes. Now for what I loved about the story. I felt like I knew all of the characters. The author paints them in such great detail that I feel like I have a relationship with each one of them. My favorite character would have to be Luc. Who doesn't love a hot, snarky vampire with a little bit of comic relief mixed in? I know I do. I loved the Realm and the history of their world. I really enjoy it when an author puts such effort into designing a world that is all their own. I was so enthralled by the end of the story that I am really considering begging the author to let me review the second book before it comes out lol. I want to throw something at her and hug her at the same time. This book made me laugh, swoon and cry. I cannot tell you why I cried but I beg you, PLEASE READ THIS BOOK!!! I was torn between rating it 4 or a 5 so I gave it 4 1/2 stars. I round it up to a 5 for Amazon, Goodreads etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Awesome series opener

    Beautifuly written. Fresh story line. Impossible to put down. Would recomend to anyone who likes fantasy and sci fi. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    !!

    Stop writing book reports!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I received this book Young Adult and Teen Readers to give an hon

    I received this book Young Adult and Teen Readers to give an honest review.

    Wow! Where do I start with this book. From the very beginning I was captured, I did not want to put this book down for nothing.

    Maggie is the last of the Phoenix, she was a regular teenager who was picked on in school because of her father. She soon learns that she has powers and there will soon be a fight for her and mankind. There is more to Maggie then meets the eye. And she learns the truth about so many things in her life, as she goes on her journey she falls in love and learns about heartache.

    I loved the character Maggie! She was just what I would expect a teenager to act like. She is courageous, lovable, and was very well thought out.

    I have to say I enjoyed the character name Autumn I guess because that is my name and I have never seen it in a book.

    Then there is the fairy Seatha who was tough but funny. Both Autumn (the witch) and Seatha they do not quite understand the world of humans so in this book the way they acted you could just find yourself laughing.

    Now in comes the brothers Michel and Luc, both were great characters to fall in love with. I found myself torn between liking Michel and Luc. Michel was very genuine and didn't mind showing his feelings. Luc on the other hand was hard because of the tough things that has happened in his life.

    Now towards the end of the book there was a new character that came into play. Davis the werewolf who Maggie meets, and the stories that Davis tells are funny and Davis becomes very likable.

    I love how the author wrote in about the garden where the flowers grew. It was very very touching, wish that would really happen in real life.

    I really can not wait to read book 2 in this series! I want to know what is Maggie going to do? Is Luc coming back? And will there be a war?

    Phoenix Rising has everything you could ask for in a book, the paranormal, vampires, love, action, the whole good vs. evil going on. I highly recommend you go and pick yourself up a copy. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Okay, let me start by saying OMG! Yes, I said it! I really was

    Okay, let me start by saying OMG! Yes, I said it! I really wasn’t expecting to really get pulled into the book, but I must say, there is greatness within these pages. I quickly fell in love with the fast pace of the book, as well as the enticing characters. There’s something to be said about a couple of well-written hunks....just saying....

    Wham, Bam, thank you Ma’am! Maggie Henning seems like your typical teenager, with only one friend, Steph, and living with her mother, while her father is locked away in a place for the mentally unstable. Supposedly, he killed a church full of people ten years ago by setting the place ablaze. When Maggie gets into a fight with her bestie, gets left at the mall, she meets Michel, a yummy specimen of a man (guy? Teen? Whatever) who gives her a lift home. This where things go wonky!

    Her Dad? Yea, not as crazy as you would think, considering where he’s locked up at. Her mom? Can’t even go there right now! And then insert Luc, Michel’s brother. I get goosebumps just thinking about those two...**Shivers** The normal teen angst goes out the window in this book as Maggie finds out who, and what, she truly is, and the fact that there is an entire faction of creatures hell-bent on her demise. You think you’ve got issues? Let me introduce you to Maggie Henning, poster child for drama! When the truth comes out, her world unravels. Will Maggie be able to overcome her fears and face down her enemies? I can’t tell you! Grrr! I wish I could, but alas, it is not meant to be. Guess you’ll have to read the book yourself! ¿

    I’m not sure if you could tell just how much I enjoyed this book or not, but if you can’t, let me just say: LISA MORGAN to the Blogger’s Office! We are in desperate need of the next book! You hooked me right from the get go and pulled me into a world that my own crazy imagination could not fathom. With that being said, I would highly recommend that you go read this book! Hurry! Why are you still sitting there? The review is over...Move along...Straight to your choice of website, bookstore, etc. Can’t wait to see YOUR review soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Not your average YA Paranormal Romance!

    There's a ton I'd like to say about Phoenix Rising, but I'd hate to spoil the experience for anyone, so I'm going to be careful. I was privileged to read this book last year, before it was published. I fell in love with the characters early on. As a mother of two teenage girls, I was impressed with Maggie. She was young, but not angst-filled, boy-crazy and all the other things that are many times present in YA fiction. She is smart, courageous, has flaws and strenghts. I enjoyed her throughout. The other characters are well developed. There are a pair of brothers, Michel and Luc, who were great fun. They are close, but had vastly different personalities. (I developed a little crush on Luc!) The fairy, Seetha, was funny and tough. This book is very visual, very much with a fantasy feel. The Realm sounded fascinating, and there are touches (like a special garden where flowers bloom in a *spoiler* way)that I adored. There are witches, vampires, magical creatures of all kind. The author's use of world-building was solid. The lore of many of creatures are switched up from the norm in ways I found very unique and greatly enjoyed. Maggie, the final Phoenix, has some impressive abilities and she is certainly taking the Hero's Journey in her path to understanding. have great passion for fanatsy, with Lord of the Rings and The Wheel of Time among my favorites. I can see this series becoming an epic, sweeping tale in that category. The bad guys, Reventants and Ossa, are evil forces to be reckoned with. There are fights, unexpected twists, heart-breaking tragedies and romance. The book hit every fantasy button I have. This is an incredible story with a beating heart and a sharp mind. Highly recommended, five starts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1