Customer Reviews for

Phoenix Rising: Firebase Freedom

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Perfect gift for all your Democrat friends.

Just finished reading Phoenix Rising during the last few weeks of Debt Debate in Washington. What a great way to spend the summer. Enjoyed it and hope there will be more like this to follow want to know what happens to Team Phoenix and how they team up with other grou...
Just finished reading Phoenix Rising during the last few weeks of Debt Debate in Washington. What a great way to spend the summer. Enjoyed it and hope there will be more like this to follow want to know what happens to Team Phoenix and how they team up with other groups around the country.

Have come to expect a good read when ever I see the Johnstone name on a book cover to have a fun and good read.

This book would be a good gift to any Democrat and Obama supporters for Christmas this year maybe they will change their Mind next year.

posted by Lost_in_Michigan on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the effort to read this book..

The worst of the William Johnston's novels. I made it halfway through and then gave up..

posted by herb34 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Excellent Book

    Enjoyed it very much. Plot almost too present day. It is hard to put down. Recommended.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Perfect gift for all your Democrat friends.

    Just finished reading Phoenix Rising during the last few weeks of Debt Debate in Washington. What a great way to spend the summer. Enjoyed it and hope there will be more like this to follow want to know what happens to Team Phoenix and how they team up with other groups around the country.

    Have come to expect a good read when ever I see the Johnstone name on a book cover to have a fun and good read.

    This book would be a good gift to any Democrat and Obama supporters for Christmas this year maybe they will change their Mind next year.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers Favorite "Phoenix Ri

    Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers Favorite

    "Phoenix Rising: Firebase Freedom" by William W. Johnstone & J. A. Johnstone is an interesting book. It is fiction but in today’s political climate it seems it could be very real. The President of the United States, Mehdi Ohmshidi, won the election with the promise of “fundamentally transforming America.” His changes are not as expected. President Ohmshidi announces that he has always been Muslin and will be turning America into an Islamic nation. Under presidential orders all Americans must now declare their beliefs and allegiance to Allah. Jake Lantz, a war veteran, along with a group of American patriots, form an alliance known as the Phoenix Group. They set up camp and do whatever it takes to restore the United States of America to its original condition. It involves going against all of the New Order’s rules. They are more than willing to do whatever it takes even when it includes stealing, murdering, lying and cheating to win.

    "Phoenix Rising" got my attention from the very first word. This book is the political answer to the 'Left Behind Series'. It is very real and scary, because this can really happen today or tomorrow or next week or next month. Johnstone gives us a very real peek into a future that no longer allows the freedoms we have fought for and defended since America was founded. "Phoenix Rising" is, however, a fictional story with strong characters and an intriguing plot. It is a definite page turner that will keep you up late into the night. Johnstone captures your imagination and keeps you wanting more. I am eagerly looking forward to the next book in this series. "Phoenix Rising: Firebase Freedom" is a five star winner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Great read, but frightening too when you consider that this could well portend the future of our country the way it is going now. William Johnstone died several years ago, and a few writers have been carrying on his name, quite well I think. Whoever wrote this book did an outstanding job. It is a shame, though, that the publishers have created an imaginary nephew in JA Johnstone, to rob the actual authors of the credit they deserve.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Wouldn't recomend this book

    Personaly I didn't like this book at all, it was boring!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Not worth the effort to read this book..

    The worst of the William Johnston's novels. I made it halfway through and then gave up..

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    To NRM

    I like the story name phoenix calling the most

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    I loved this book.  I stayed up for almost two days reading it.

    I loved this book.  I stayed up for almost two days reading it.  I think it was well written and I can see where the story and our current goings on somewhat overlap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Williams W Johnstone

    All his books are a must read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Sunshadow

    "He's not hurting me, honey. Go play with Tigerkit and Fogkit."

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    What clan is this?

    And is it deserted? Fur that is covered with stripes.(Stripes)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2