Customer Reviews for

The Phoenix Unchained (Enduring Flame Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really good until...

This book had a ready different feel than the first series which is one thing that made it just as original as the last ones. I just hatred the end of this book. Kind of a "screw it, I have a deadline to meet, lets cram in an ending". Other than that, it's a really amaz...
This book had a ready different feel than the first series which is one thing that made it just as original as the last ones. I just hatred the end of this book. Kind of a "screw it, I have a deadline to meet, lets cram in an ending". Other than that, it's a really amazing book and i can't wait to get the next one.

posted by 3024245 on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing and Boring

I'm a fan of Mercedes Lackey's books by and large, especially her early Valdemir books, and despite her being prolific I've managed to read most of them--this is the weakest book I've read by her, and I'm not sure how much to blame her co-writer. Some of the book's weak...
I'm a fan of Mercedes Lackey's books by and large, especially her early Valdemir books, and despite her being prolific I've managed to read most of them--this is the weakest book I've read by her, and I'm not sure how much to blame her co-writer. Some of the book's weaknesses are ones I've seen in other books of hers: mainly that she's very black and white, with little nuance in her villains and their motivations. This story actually had a lot of original elements which makes me wish this could have been a stronger book. I liked the idea behind magic in this book, and it, and the culture of the city raises some interesting questions. A lot of the problem, I think, is the protagonist, who I found whiny and hard to care about. Another part was just pacing, I think. Too much of the story made me want to skim, just didn't hold my interest. Nor is this a very interesting treatment of elves among those I've read. Feist, Moon, and, of course, Tolkien are better bets if you're looking for a good read in High Fantasy, and "Arrows of the Queen" or "Joust" would make better introductions to Lackey.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    I love it

    I luv it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    Very good book, thoroughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE PHOENIX UNCHAINED

    This book was so good. It took me sometime to finish it as I am currently in college, so busy, but to the point, it was epic, original, fascinating. The mythical creatures gave it a sort of balance, as this is a book of magic, and a tale of fantasy. I don't usually go for so MUCH fantasy, as I tend to lead toward a sense of realism. Like, the cratures, I can't deal with the descriptions in the book about the creatures, but this book made it seem almost normal to read in all books. The characters were pleasing, plain, yet comfortabley satisfactory. The main characters I felt were a bit too young, maybe if a bit nudged to another year or two, but no more older, would make it better. The twist ending was amazing... you need to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Mercedes Lackey(and James Mallory) did it again!

    I loved this book! It was just as good as the last series. I also think it had the best ending. I really want to read the next book, but good things come to those who wait. It's unforunate that Bisochim thinks that the Ballance is out of whack, which it's obviosly not(is it?), but he's not a bad guy. I sincierly hope that this isn't the last time Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory write together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    A fantastic continuing to an epic trilogy!

    I was so excited to see that my all time favorite series was continuing and the results were better than I could have imagined! The Phoenix Unchained is a spectacular pick up of The Obsidian Trilogy that introduces beautiful new characters and returns with the beloved favorites. I think the setting, plot, and character personalities create a brilliant new story that will continue the epic struggle between the forces of Light and Darkness. I'm so excited to begin reading the next book! I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    As good as I expected!

    I am 14 and I have been reading Mercedes Lackey for several years now. She IS my favorite author from the first book I read of hers which happened to be The Outstretched Shadow. The Outstretched Shadow is the first book of the series that took place in the same world as Phoenix Unchained. The Obsidian Trilogy has been my favorite series from the first time I read it and When I saw James Mallory and Mercedes Lackey come out with a new series in the same world as the Obsidian Trilogy I was overjoyed. And Phoenix Unchained did not let me down! The book starts out a little slow developing the two characters Tiercel and Harrier. Both kids are older and don't neccesarily like the jobs they are following their families into. Tiercel, as the one who loves finding information, comes across a high mage book, which has been lost for centuries sense kellen's time. As Tiercel calls the basic spell of fire, he is the first high mage for a thousand years. When Tiercel starts having wild dreams about a lake of fire and impending doom he researches and comes across some unfriendly news....if his new mage skills arn't trained he will die. Tiercel and Harrier set out on a journey to find the mysterious wild mages to hopefully get rid of tiercels new found magic. From the beggining to about the middle of the book it's not very exciting and they are only traveling the roads. It gets better after the first half when they meet a friendly centaur who travels with them and then later meet some not-so-friendly creatures. You will be glad you continued reading the book for the end starts to get much more exciting and leaves you savoring for more. You will find many changes from the time of kellen and idalia, and at the end you get a little surprise which was completely unexpected. The book gives some basic information about Bisochim, who thinks that the balance of light is overtaking the darkness. He believes it's his duty to bring the darkness back into the world but the book only slightly tells about him and his motives. You can mostly conclude that he is going to be the main villian to bring back darkness but the book doesn't cover much of him, maybe a few chapters. I absolutely loved this book and would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys a bit of adventure and magic. I would first suggest reading the obsidion trilogy(the outstretched shadow, to light a candle, and fall of darkness) or you may be confused about what they talk about at points and some of the characters. The only thing that i regret about this book is that I didn't wait to read it because now I'm dying to know what happens next and I must wait until the next book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    A Fantasy Favorite!

    This book was fantastic. I think it was even better than the preceding trilogy which felt like there was too much description and not enough action sometimes. The authors seem as though their thoughts and ideas have meshed better and instead of a long-winded and very detailed 'but great' novel, this one is full of intrigue and excitement! I love how they elude to the previous trilogy, turning Kellen, Jermayan, and Idalia into legends. I have always loved the way Mercedes Lackey writes, but working with James Mallory has spiced up her creative plots with different 'Otherfolk' and new types of magery. I highly recommend this novel to any fantasy fan but suggest reading the Obsidian Trilogy 'because it was great too' for a lesson on what is considered ancient history in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    spellbinding epic fantasy

    When the Flowering War ended, the Darkness was defeated and the land has known a millennium of peace. The elves and the rest of the other folk isolated themselves in the Northern lands. The humans multiplied along with the brownie, fauns, and centaurs, who stayed with them. Tiercel Rolfort reads a book of magic and suddenly can light fires using High Magic that he can learn unlike Wild Magic which people are blessed with instinctively knowing how to use. There is nobody to teach Tiercel magic as Wild Magic is found only in times of need. Tiercel needs a wild mage because he is kept up nights dreaming about a demonic woman, fire and another entity. They are something evil and Tiercel finally realizes that he is seeing the future and he must journey to where this woman is. First though, he and his friend Harrier journey to find a Wild Mage hoping that one knows how to stop the visions from returning. The journey takes them into the land of the elves where both learn what fate has in store for them. --- Set in the same world as the Obsidian trilogy, THE PHOENIX UNCHAINED is book one of the Enduring Flame saga and is a fantastic spellbinding epic fantasy. The heroes Tiercel and Harrier need each other as close friends will during a crisis the latter especially watches out for the former who gets them in trouble. Their repartee and quips add a touch of humor to a very enchanting quest tale. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2