Customer Reviews for

Photographs & Phantoms

Average Rating 3.5
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

It's FREE, & it's surprisingly good!

This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no ...
This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no summary I took a chance on reading it (who am I kidding, I love to read, and I'm broke & desperate, ha!)....but I just want ya'll to know that this little read was well worth my time and eye strain. ;-) Enjoy!

posted by Avid_ReaderNC on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Nice easy read

This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in ma...
This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in marriage".

posted by Arrat on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 403 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's FREE, & it's surprisingly good!

    This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no summary I took a chance on reading it (who am I kidding, I love to read, and I'm broke & desperate, ha!)....but I just want ya'll to know that this little read was well worth my time and eye strain. ;-) Enjoy!

    37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Nice easy read

    This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in marriage".

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Okay

    A light, okay read. Not much in the way of plot or characterization. Good one for a waiting room where you don't want to get too involved and expect interuptions.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Yum!

    You do not have to like steampunk to love this novella. The characters are instantly likable, the plot well-paced, and the story is just steamy enough. Great afternoon read. I can't wait to get my hands on this series and I hope there will be a lot. Fans of the Parasol Protectorate series will like this just as much.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    It was a very cute story. I don't usually like a story with romance in it but, this one was OK, not too much with some adventure thrown in.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Eh...

    It was OK. Just OK. The plot was alright, the characters at least had more than one dimension, and the ending WAS a little unexpected. I really could have done qithout all of that cheesy love at first sight crap, though. I'm not a pessimist, I'm just not a hopeless romantic. And the bedroom scene? A little TOO much information. I would have liked this book better if the romance was a little (OK, a LOT) more subtle. Otherwise it would have been more of the adventure-mystery story I was hoping for. If you want a Steampunk adventure, try The Strange Case of Finley Jayne and The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Gross!

    I thought this book was going to be a quick mystery read... instead it was like erotica. I wish it would of had a warning somewhere. Gross.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    A Must Read

    Up until now, I had never read steampunk. Now I am checking out others in the category. This book combined historical technology with historical romance with suspense and paranormal wrapped up into 1 novel. The premise of a photograph having power is an old one, but Cindy Spencer Paper spins this into a delightful novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Dumb heads

    Ok so i read all the reviews and some person wrote why did i wast my money but it was free so no money was spent hey never had sex in this book yes there was some forplay but it was not completly erotic i enjoyed the book i find thay it was a amazing combination of things and the fact that they fond true love in a day

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Sappy Romance

    I thought this book would be interesting with a bit of thriller, mystery and more but it's really more of a sappy romance book. I'm not a huge fan of romance, and the whole romance theme kind of overpowered the theme of the book. I was disappointed. It is a short book but there is potential for it to grow into something more deeper, more broad with what is happening with the pictures. Great try but not the best! I think this book is good for young adults into early 20's, and it is not for seasoned readers like I.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Excellent Story with great characters

    I loved this story. It had a bit of mysticism, a bit of spooky value & some subtle romance. I liked that it was clean enough my niece could read it without worry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Sweet...

    Amy and Kendall's story is short but sweet. A good quick romantic read about love at first sight.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Fun story.

    This was a fun story but a little predictable. I still enjoyed it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I am admittedly picky

    But I am not alone in believing that when you write a story set in a historical setting, you need to keep the behavior and dialogue of your characters true to the period. Using modern vernacular spoils the mood especially for readers who are well versed in the mannerisms typical of a given period. This piece could have been engaging based on the concept, but cliched tropes coupled with anachronisms spoiled the fun. Don't bother if you have any love of steampunk or historical genres. If you are looking for a book to guide a "what not to do" discussion, then this would be perfect.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Photographs & Phantoms by Cindy Spencer Pape

    This short book (really more a novella) had a little something for everyone. Steampunk, Magic, Romance, Mystery...you name it...this little gem had it. The premise was interesting and kept me reading to see what would happen next. The world was fascinating...Victorian England but with a bit of a "mechanical" twist. And I'd almost forgotten how much I can enjoy a little (steamy) romance thrown into the mix.


    All in all a short sweet fun and entertaining read...and for me a good mini introduction to the world of Steampunk. Just enough to wet your whistle for the rest of the series... (I'm guessing it's meant to be a teaser but stands alone well if you just want a quick read.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    strange

    I found this was a very odd read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Interesting

    I have thought of possibly reading this book since through the reviews i've heard that it is a decent book and thought i would give it a try, i also hope it will fit my expectations with which usually with a good book it would have a twist.

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Surprisingly enjoyable

    I'm not really a romance fan, and this one is definitely more romance than steampunk. The plot is mostly a backdrop to the romance between the two main characters. Even so, I found myself drawn in. It's a very quick read and can easily be finished in an afternoon.
    It's not the book that's going to rock your world, but it's still a surprisingly enjoyable light read.
    I'll give this one an extra star for making me enjoy a story in a genre that normally bores me to tears. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Good story

    My only complaint is that this wasn't a full length novel. I would have liked to spend more time with the characters and watch their relationship blossum.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    First off, this is more of a novella than a novel, and thus the

    First off, this is more of a novella than a novel, and thus the action moves very quickly. That being said, the characters acknowledged that the action was moving quickly, even if nothing was really done to explain why. It's also steampunk/fantasy, so magic and clockwork gadgets set in late Victorian England.

    Amy is a photographer who is suddenly seeing phantoms in her photographs. Which wouldn't be too bad, except that every person whose photograph it appears in dies.

    Kendall is sent to investigate what he thinks is a case of an overreacting spinster. He'd much rather have a nice vampire or goblin to deal with. He is completely surprised by Amy and the two have to band together to figure out what the phantom is before it strikes again.

    All together a very enjoyable afternoon's read. I hope there are more in this series because I really enjoyed both the world and the writing. I just hope they are a little bit longer so that the characters have time to develop a little more naturally and the world can be introduced a bit better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 403 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21