Customer Reviews for

Photographs & Phantoms

Average Rating 3.5
( 402 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

It's FREE, & it's surprisingly good!

This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no ...
This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no summary I took a chance on reading it (who am I kidding, I love to read, and I'm broke & desperate, ha!)....but I just want ya'll to know that this little read was well worth my time and eye strain. ;-) Enjoy!

posted by Avid_ReaderNC on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Nice easy read

This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in ma...
This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in marriage".

posted by Arrat on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Okay

    A light, okay read. Not much in the way of plot or characterization. Good one for a waiting room where you don't want to get too involved and expect interuptions.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Sappy Romance

    I thought this book would be interesting with a bit of thriller, mystery and more but it's really more of a sappy romance book. I'm not a huge fan of romance, and the whole romance theme kind of overpowered the theme of the book. I was disappointed. It is a short book but there is potential for it to grow into something more deeper, more broad with what is happening with the pictures. Great try but not the best! I think this book is good for young adults into early 20's, and it is not for seasoned readers like I.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I am admittedly picky

    But I am not alone in believing that when you write a story set in a historical setting, you need to keep the behavior and dialogue of your characters true to the period. Using modern vernacular spoils the mood especially for readers who are well versed in the mannerisms typical of a given period. This piece could have been engaging based on the concept, but cliched tropes coupled with anachronisms spoiled the fun. Don't bother if you have any love of steampunk or historical genres. If you are looking for a book to guide a "what not to do" discussion, then this would be perfect.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    strange

    I found this was a very odd read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Interesting

    I have thought of possibly reading this book since through the reviews i've heard that it is a decent book and thought i would give it a try, i also hope it will fit my expectations with which usually with a good book it would have a twist.

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Silly. So very silly.

    This book is an absolutely run-of-the-mill Harlequin-style bodice-ripper (you ever notice how the heroes and heroines are virtually interchangeable? When was the last time the heroine's bosom was less than bountiful, or her self-image secure? When was the last time the hero longed for love, and didn't brood and scowl his way reluctantly to the altar?), only with the puzzling addition of magic! Ghosts! Steampunk! All the things!

    ... Yeah, this book was just plain silly. I'd have given it only one star, but I give the author props for a more skilled writing style and better editing than you normally find in these sorts of books. If you liked the 'Twilight' novels, you'll probably like this. If, like me, you like your plotlines a little less stupid... don't bother with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    M

    Very short, only 169 pages. Not a bad story but the sex scene was far too explicit and didnt really add to the story. Otherwise not a bad story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    ?..

    Strange, was writen like it was in the past but talked of things in the now.SM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    An Interesting light read

    Good thing this story is relatively short. The plot was good but if less time were spent on carnal desire, a truly entertaining good novel could have been there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Strange

    AStrange quick Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2