Customer Reviews for

Photographs & Phantoms

Average Rating 3.5
( 402 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

It's FREE, & it's surprisingly good!

This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no ...
This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no summary I took a chance on reading it (who am I kidding, I love to read, and I'm broke & desperate, ha!)....but I just want ya'll to know that this little read was well worth my time and eye strain. ;-) Enjoy!

posted by Avid_ReaderNC on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Nice easy read

This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in ma...
This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in marriage".

posted by Arrat on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Nice easy read

    This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in marriage".

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Eh...

    It was OK. Just OK. The plot was alright, the characters at least had more than one dimension, and the ending WAS a little unexpected. I really could have done qithout all of that cheesy love at first sight crap, though. I'm not a pessimist, I'm just not a hopeless romantic. And the bedroom scene? A little TOO much information. I would have liked this book better if the romance was a little (OK, a LOT) more subtle. Otherwise it would have been more of the adventure-mystery story I was hoping for. If you want a Steampunk adventure, try The Strange Case of Finley Jayne and The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Fun story.

    This was a fun story but a little predictable. I still enjoyed it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Photographs & Phantoms by Cindy Spencer Pape

    This short book (really more a novella) had a little something for everyone. Steampunk, Magic, Romance, Mystery...you name it...this little gem had it. The premise was interesting and kept me reading to see what would happen next. The world was fascinating...Victorian England but with a bit of a "mechanical" twist. And I'd almost forgotten how much I can enjoy a little (steamy) romance thrown into the mix.


    All in all a short sweet fun and entertaining read...and for me a good mini introduction to the world of Steampunk. Just enough to wet your whistle for the rest of the series... (I'm guessing it's meant to be a teaser but stands alone well if you just want a quick read.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good story though a little too short. The characters were v

    Very good story though a little too short. The characters were very good and I would have liked to seen them fleshed out a bit more but the writer's style is very easy going and easy to read. As I read the story I thought Kendall Lake may have been patterned after Rhett Butler but much nicer. Would have been a 4 if not for the short length and quick rap up. I do recommend it though and look forward to more of Ms. Pape's work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    A Mix of Phantoms and Romance

    This story feels really short. I was hoping the Phantom portion of the story would be more sci-fi but there is more Romance in this book than phantoms or ghosts. It does get pretty steamy in here so I'd be sure you can handle that type of content before reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Mixed genres

    Photographs & Phantoms is a scifi, paranormal, period romance. I wished that the characters, which were interesting, had been developed more. Same for the plot. It was OK for a quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Romance with a little paranormal assistance

    The book could have been longer, more character development but for a short read (little over a 100 pages) it was well written. I think the plot was good - multiple deaths tied to photography but the villian of the book could have handled more development - it was a slight leap. I would read more by this author easily.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    short read but good

    I got this book for free and it's been in my library for awhile,but once i started it i couldn't put it down... Short story but very good !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Eh okay

    This was a cute, quick read for mature readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend- a fun distraction

    This novella is a fun and quick read. The characters are well developed for a short story and the story was interesting. I look forward to others by Cindy Spencer Pape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Meh....

    Starts off ok then goes all Harry Potter wanna be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    ok, but disappointing.

    This story started out with such promise. All the elements of a really good story were there. I really liked Amy's character, but the romance between the characters sort of came out of nowhere, and didn't really build believeably. There was an intriguing subplot concerning the magic the characters inately possessed, but this was never developed except in a rudimentary way to explain Amy's abilities, and this really frustrated me. I could see the potential for a whole world different from and yet every bit as magical as Harry Potter's, but the author did nothing with this great potential. The villain was a bit too typically mad, and it wasn't subtle enough to be beliveable. When the ending came, I was shocked and went to sesrch for the rest of the story, because it was so undeveloped and the sudden committment between main characters jarring. Lots of potential, though. I really hope the author keeps writing and developes her magical world anf takes a bit more time to build a romance between characters. It's sort of like the author didn't fully invest in or believe in the world she was creating, which is such a shame because all the elements were there for an awesome story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Cute

    Good book. Interesting setting. Wish it was longer. Seems like you are just getting into the story when someone hits fastforward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Good read

    If you can overlook and skip past the lovey dovey stuff, its a quick fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Wiuld have loved it if i had all my pages

    And im not a big guru on sex and things like that and this book has some im not immature but that is my oppnion. Im also lesbien so i mean that never appealed to me but the story was interesting to me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Quick read

    Im not into romance novels but this was a nice read. Took a few hours to read on a rainy Saturday afternoon ..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not a bad read

    Interesting in that I never realized she was going for romance until the end. I wish the ghost hunting part was more drawn out though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Meh

    It is a good book, just wish it were longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Jacqueline R

    Its an o.k book but recommend it to teens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6