Customer Reviews for

Photographs & Phantoms

Average Rating 3.5
( 402 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

It's FREE, & it's surprisingly good!

This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no ...
This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no summary I took a chance on reading it (who am I kidding, I love to read, and I'm broke & desperate, ha!)....but I just want ya'll to know that this little read was well worth my time and eye strain. ;-) Enjoy!

posted by Avid_ReaderNC on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Nice easy read

This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in ma...
This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in marriage".

posted by Arrat on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's FREE, & it's surprisingly good!

    This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no summary I took a chance on reading it (who am I kidding, I love to read, and I'm broke & desperate, ha!)....but I just want ya'll to know that this little read was well worth my time and eye strain. ;-) Enjoy!

    37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Yum!

    You do not have to like steampunk to love this novella. The characters are instantly likable, the plot well-paced, and the story is just steamy enough. Great afternoon read. I can't wait to get my hands on this series and I hope there will be a lot. Fans of the Parasol Protectorate series will like this just as much.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    A Must Read

    Up until now, I had never read steampunk. Now I am checking out others in the category. This book combined historical technology with historical romance with suspense and paranormal wrapped up into 1 novel. The premise of a photograph having power is an old one, but Cindy Spencer Paper spins this into a delightful novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Dumb heads

    Ok so i read all the reviews and some person wrote why did i wast my money but it was free so no money was spent hey never had sex in this book yes there was some forplay but it was not completly erotic i enjoyed the book i find thay it was a amazing combination of things and the fact that they fond true love in a day

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Excellent Story with great characters

    I loved this story. It had a bit of mysticism, a bit of spooky value & some subtle romance. I liked that it was clean enough my niece could read it without worry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I really liked this book. It was a fast read. I read it within h

    I really liked this book. It was a fast read. I read it within hours of starting it. Love the 2 main characters. Kept me on my toes and would LOVE to see more out of the author with these two. They were great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Enchanting!

    What an uplifting tale! Characters that charm you with their quirks & intelligence, even in such a brief story. Really looking forward to more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Looks really good

    I am twelve and i dont know if this is appropriate. Help!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    The perfect blend of romance and mystery

    I found myself left wanting to know more about the lovable characters in this book. I hope there is a sequel in the works. Photographs and Phantoms made an entertaining quick read that left you wanting to know how the story would end. Give it a read, it really is worth while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wish it was longer :)

    This was a really good read, and had it been longer Im sure everything could be expanded on. I was impressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    Really enjoyed this book

    I really enjoyed this book! I generally read historical romance but this intrigued me. I will definately look for more books in this style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    This was a good story. Enjoyed reading it.

    This was a good story. Enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    like it

    it has all i like to read: mistery, and love conquers powers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Good short read

    Wish there was another following story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Steampunk!!!!

    This book is awesome. I love thr steampunk influences on the setting! Epic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    good read

    mystery/romance all around good book held my attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Great storyline filled with mystery and hot romance. I really en

    Great storyline filled with mystery and hot romance. I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Loved it

    Its all in what you likk to read.i loved this and the others pape has writen can,t wait for more,i for one hope she writes more of the knights

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Wonderful

    This short story of 169 pages was AMAZING! i loved it so much. Its a romance and mystery at the same time. This story makes you beleive in love at first sight:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Engaging

    I didn't want to put the book down. Loved the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5