Customer Reviews for

Photographs & Phantoms

Average Rating 3.5
( 400 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

It's FREE, & it's surprisingly good!

This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no ...
This story was a quick one day read for me, but I had to review and let anyone who is interested know that it was a pleasant surprise. The story was quickly-paced and original. I enjoyed the characters, who were well developed without being tedious. Since there's no summary I took a chance on reading it (who am I kidding, I love to read, and I'm broke & desperate, ha!)....but I just want ya'll to know that this little read was well worth my time and eye strain. ;-) Enjoy!

posted by Avid_ReaderNC on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Nice easy read

This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in ma...
This was a quick easy read, a romance novel with a mystery & the supernatural. Thought the 2 main characters moved into the bedroom way too fast, they only knew each other a day. I would have like that to move a little slower especially since he "wasn't interested in marriage".

posted by Arrat on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 400 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Silly. So very silly.

    This book is an absolutely run-of-the-mill Harlequin-style bodice-ripper (you ever notice how the heroes and heroines are virtually interchangeable? When was the last time the heroine's bosom was less than bountiful, or her self-image secure? When was the last time the hero longed for love, and didn't brood and scowl his way reluctantly to the altar?), only with the puzzling addition of magic! Ghosts! Steampunk! All the things!

    ... Yeah, this book was just plain silly. I'd have given it only one star, but I give the author props for a more skilled writing style and better editing than you normally find in these sorts of books. If you liked the 'Twilight' novels, you'll probably like this. If, like me, you like your plotlines a little less stupid... don't bother with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I really liked this book. It was a fast read. I read it within h

    I really liked this book. It was a fast read. I read it within hours of starting it. Love the 2 main characters. Kept me on my toes and would LOVE to see more out of the author with these two. They were great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Enchanting!

    What an uplifting tale! Characters that charm you with their quirks & intelligence, even in such a brief story. Really looking forward to more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Well Done Steampunk

    Ms. Pape presents a steam punk story that is very satisfying and well done. The steam punk elements blend smoothly and creatively with the mystical elements, the mystery, and the everyday lives of these people drawn to each other as they meet and try to solve a problem. Ms. Pape does a good job of incorporating the necessary background information for the characters previously introduced in other books, without drowning the reader in information.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Set in Brighton, England in 1855, this Steam Punk romance is ful

    Set in Brighton, England in 1855, this Steam Punk romance is full of paranormal elements and romance. Lord Kendall Lake, a Knight of the Order of the Round Table, has been sent by his father to check on one Miss Amelie Deland, the niece of the most powerful sorcerer in the Order. Kendall does not know why he has been sent to "hold the hand" of Miss Deland, but that is his order.

    As the mission progresses, a deadly plot is uncovered, and the Hadrian family becomes involved. Mystery and intrigue abound.

    This is a quick read, since it is a novella. Very enjoyable. The only thing lacking is that it seemed to move a bit too quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good story though a little too short. The characters were v

    Very good story though a little too short. The characters were very good and I would have liked to seen them fleshed out a bit more but the writer's style is very easy going and easy to read. As I read the story I thought Kendall Lake may have been patterned after Rhett Butler but much nicer. Would have been a 4 if not for the short length and quick rap up. I do recommend it though and look forward to more of Ms. Pape's work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    A Mix of Phantoms and Romance

    This story feels really short. I was hoping the Phantom portion of the story would be more sci-fi but there is more Romance in this book than phantoms or ghosts. It does get pretty steamy in here so I'd be sure you can handle that type of content before reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Looks really good

    I am twelve and i dont know if this is appropriate. Help!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Mixed genres

    Photographs & Phantoms is a scifi, paranormal, period romance. I wished that the characters, which were interesting, had been developed more. Same for the plot. It was OK for a quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    4 stars, READ

    Would have given 5 stars but some parts are a little bit confusing. A really quick edit would do wonders to fix the flow in a couple of spots.
    (Female, 17)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Pretty good.

    I'm new to the Steampunk genre. So far it has been an interesting discovery. This is a short story that introduced me to the Order of the Round Table...a paranormal "detective" agency. The Order sends out its members to help investigate unusual situations.

    This short story takes place after Steam and Sorcery...which I just finished reading. We are introduced to Kendall Lake who is an Order member as he investigates the strange things that are showing up in Amy Deland's photos. The story moves quickly as it is a short story and we are soon discovering all the twists and turns that the author has woven within her story.

    I found this to be an enjoyable read and thus lead me to Steam and Sorcery. I will be looking forward to seeing what else this author writes in this series and am beginning one of her other novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    A lovely little tale

    A charming, engaging little story. I enjoyed the mystery, characters, and descriptive settings throughout the book. Although because of one somewhat smutty section, I don't recommend it to anyone under 17. But regardless of that, it's a great story for a rainy afternoon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Romance with a little paranormal assistance

    The book could have been longer, more character development but for a short read (little over a 100 pages) it was well written. I think the plot was good - multiple deaths tied to photography but the villian of the book could have handled more development - it was a slight leap. I would read more by this author easily.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    A different kind of story

    I was hesitant about this one, but once I started it, it turned out to be really interesting. It kept me guessing about what would happen next. A really good book, something different to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    M

    Very short, only 169 pages. Not a bad story but the sex scene was far too explicit and didnt really add to the story. Otherwise not a bad story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Help please read this

    How old should i be to read

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    short read but good

    I got this book for free and it's been in my library for awhile,but once i started it i couldn't put it down... Short story but very good !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Eh okay

    This was a cute, quick read for mature readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    I enjoyed it

    Excellent fast paced read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend- a fun distraction

    This novella is a fun and quick read. The characters are well developed for a short story and the story was interesting. I look forward to others by Cindy Spencer Pape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 400 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20