Customer Reviews for

Physics of Baseball: Third Edition, Revised, Updated, and Expanded

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Review

    Review of Novel


    I enjoyed my book The Physics of Baseball Third Edition and I would highly recommend it to any baseball fan or enthusiast. Although it can be a little difficult to read it can really help you comprehend and understand the game of baseball. The book blends scientific fact and baseball trivia very nicely. Another part of the book that I enjoyed was that it answered questions that you may have thought of before regarding baseball but didn't know the answer. It will also answer questions that are not realistic but are pretty amusing and fun to know, such as how much can a curve ball break. So this book has a lot of facts as I mentioned. However, that's not all. It also can change the way you play the sport. It tells you hitting the ball with back spin can easily be the difference between getting out and hitting the ball out of the ballpark. The book gives an example about if you play in Denver or somewhere with an high altitude and have thin air that batted balls can travel up to 10% farther. The book is filled with a total of 177 facts about famous players and incidents. For example, Mickey Mantel has one of the longest homerun shots on record 560 feet. With recent technology perfected by IBM tale of the tape that has estimated within 5 feet his homerun to actually be approximately 575 feet. The Physics of Baseball provides fans with fascinating insights into American's favorite pastime. You should definitely read this book if you play or if you are a baseball fan like me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    This book was basically one of the best books on how physics relates to baseball. Definately the best that I have ever read. Even if you dont like baseball you need to pick yourself up a copy and start reading like crazy. It is just amazing how the author knows so much about physics and baseball. I myself play baseball and had no idea that physics played such a role in the games outcome. For example, the author talked about how the laces on a ball can affect the balls flight path. Another example would be how the bat speed can determine how far you hit the ball. I am almost certain that if a major league baseball player were to femiliarize himself with this book it would almost immediantly make him a better player. This book also opened my eyes to the possibility that physics can play a part in baseball that it could play a part in other sports such as football. Overall this was a great book and I personally recomend it to anyone that has some free time on their hands. Actually even if you dont have some free time, make some. This book was astounding and spectacular. Any adjective in the dictionary that means good, applies to this book. Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Best Book About Baseball Ever!

    The Physics of Baseball Third Edition is a great book and reveals a lot of really cool facts about baseball. Anyone who plays baseball or is a fan of baseball definitely needs to pick themselves up a copy of this book. Even if you don't like baseball, you will find that you keep coming back to read more and more of this book because it is so informal and interesting. The author, Robert K. Adair, covers a variety of topics about baseball in this book including the basis of physical principles, the flight of balls, the liveliness of balls, the structure of bats, and the character of the collision of balls and bats. As you read this book, you will keep on learning more and more cool and interesting facts about baseball and physics and won't want to stop reading until you finish. When I read this book, I couldn't put it down because every time I finished a chapter, I loved what I read and was excited to keep on reading and see what Robert K. Adair had to say in the next chapter. You will be amazed at all of the unbelievable things that are explained about pitching and batting and just baseball in general. Every chapter of this book is full of interesting information about baseball and after reading this book, my overall thoughts and feelings were that it is the best book ever made about baseball. I would definitely recommend anyone who gets a chance to read this book, The Physics of Baseball Third Edition, because it is one of the best books that I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    More Interesting Than expected

    The Physics of Baseball, by Robert K. Adair, is a very fascinating book that reads similar to a school textbook. The book gives insight that most normal people do not know on the wonderful sport of baseball. It includes many interesting diagrams, charts, and figures to depict certain things such as path or distance of the ball, path of a bat relative to a certain pitch, and charts showing statistics from the major league ballplayers. The book starts out describing linear models and moves directly to the flight of the ball in the next chapter. It talks about things such as spin on the ball and force added to make the ball fly in a certain path. Adair also cover certain factors of baseball such as wind resistance. After the flight of the ball, Adair discusses swinging the bat, which is much more complex than I had previously thought. If you think swinging is about you just meeting the bat to the ball, you have no idea what it really is all about. Physics goes into depth about the time the ball takes to reach the plate at certain speeds and when the bat should be swung. For example, it takes a 95 mph fastball 400 millisecond to reach the plate. It takes the average major league player 150 milliseconds to swing and obviously the faster the bat speed, the farther the ball will travel when struck properly. Next after hitting, is pitching. The pitching rubber is exactly ten inches higher than the batters plate and Adair shows how certain pitches pass certain points and makes the batters job more difficult. Of course everything is much more intricately than what I have said. What I also found interesting in Physics was that taller pitchers do not have to exert as much force to make the ball travel to the plate faster as do smaller pitchers because of the angle at which the ball needs to go. Other things talked about in The Physics of Baseball are bat properties, fielding, throwing, and judging fly balls. The bat properties have to do with vibrations of the bat and the ¿sweet spot¿ where when hit the ball will travel the farthest. Overall The Physics of Baseball is very interesting though throughout it's shorter than you think 150 pages it can drag at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Now We Know...

    As baseball players, we likely have oft wondered why it felt so good to hit the ball hard and far. Now we know, courtesy of Professor Adair: hitting the ball at the sweet spot of the bat eliminates wobble at the handle and that stinging sensation in our hands. I echo the view that every baseball fan should own a copy of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    I enjoyed the book The Physics of baseball and I would recommend

    I enjoyed the book The Physics of baseball and I would recommend it to any baseball players or lovers of the sport. The book showed great detail in every section you read and even include pictures an diagrams to help you understand the subject. This book answered questions that I had about the sport of baseball and even taught me many new things about the sport that I had never even thought about but was fun to learn, for example the book talked about how the percentage of a home run can drastically increase or decrease depending on many variables like elevation, speed of the pitch and where the bat and ball make contact. I overall thought Adair did a good job with the book because he brought the sport of baseball into a new and interesting way to learn about the sport of baseball. (Devin K)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    "The Physics of Baseball" is a great book to understan

    "The Physics of Baseball" is a great book to understand the science behind the sport played for centuries. Mr Robert Adair examines many things in the sport of baseball through a science perspective and helps the reader understand throughout the book. Adair explains in depth on all parts of the game, including hitting the baseball, and throwing the baseball. He explains the different spins of different pitches a pitcher throws. Adair explains all the different forces that are on the baseball when thrown or batted. He also explains the running part of the game. Who reaches first base faster, either a right or a lefty? There are many graphs in the book that Adair included to make it much easier for the reader to understand any topics. This book will change the sport that you once thought was so simple, into a complex game of science.(Michael V)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    I thought this was a very interesting book with a lot of cool fa

    I thought this was a very interesting book with a lot of cool facts. However, the book had very advanced terms
     and many things I did not understand. I thought the book was good if you appreciate the sport of baseball. 


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    I found the novel very interesting. It showed people what really

    I found the novel very interesting. It showed people what really happens in the game of baseball and gave me a new appreciation of baseball players every where. Being a baseball player myself, it really surprised me some of the things that I do that obtains a certain result. This book also helped me out with baseball because I looked at some of the simple equations im learning in my class and used it to apply to my swing and pitches that really helped me. I stopped trying to just swing as hard as i could when trying to hit a home run, or just throwing the ball as hard as I could. I looked at what you need to do to reach the maximum potential in my swing, and in my pitches. I also took a look at the spin of my balls, and how i could make it better. I used what the book taught me to make my ball move more just by simply looking at the spin and wind resistance of the ball and applied it to myself when pitching. This book is a delight, and very interesting if wanting to know more about the wonderful game of baseball. If you like behind the scenes action, i highly recommend this book to you. (Walker B)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    The physics of baseball is a very interesting book. I like how t

    The physics of baseball is a very interesting book. I like how they combined science and the game of baseball. An example of how physics play a role in baseball is when the author talked about how the laces on a ball can affect the balls flight path, and another example would be how the bat speed can determine how far you hit the ball. I recommend this book to people who play baseball and are interested in how physics play a role in the game of baseball.(Brett H)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Physicist Hits Home Run

    This is an extremely well written book by an extemely intelligent professor who writes with warmth and humility. I learned more about baseball in the first ten pages than I care to admit. The charts aare terrific, the different subjects are handled with appropriate detail, and the author is very careful with his facts. I believe this is a classic that should be on your sports bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1