Customer Reviews for

The Physics of Superheroes

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK!

This book was so much fun to read! As a physical science student I repeatedly saw some equations that I was using show up in the text. James Kakalios brilliantly made this book laugh out loud funny and at the same time, extremely entertaining. This is a great book for a...
This book was so much fun to read! As a physical science student I repeatedly saw some equations that I was using show up in the text. James Kakalios brilliantly made this book laugh out loud funny and at the same time, extremely entertaining. This is a great book for anyone who has ever watched a superhero movie and wondered if any of the things occurring in the movie could really happen. For a superman fan, this book talks about the Krypton explosion and Kakalios dissects the information and finds out weather it actually has any truth to it. For people like me who are big Spiderman fans, Kakalios talks about a scene in the comic book “The Amazing Spiderman” where Spiderman’s girlfriend at the time, Gwen Stacey, dies. In the comic, Spiderman slings his web and catches Stacey before she hits the ground but when he sees her she is already dead. Then the person who throws her off, the Green Goblin, comes and tells Spiderman that the fall killed her and she didn’t need to hit the ground to die. This is when Kakalios talks about weather it was the fall that killed her or weather it was the web that caused the death. Find out what he discovered in this incredibly entertaining story from James Kakalios.

posted by 11380133 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looking for a fun way to learn your Physics?

This book is not it. As much fun as it might seem, learning physics is learning physics. No superhero is going to make it any better. I did enjoy the comic book history and storyline info, though. I'm just saying, if you don't already like physics, this won't make you l...
This book is not it. As much fun as it might seem, learning physics is learning physics. No superhero is going to make it any better. I did enjoy the comic book history and storyline info, though. I'm just saying, if you don't already like physics, this won't make you like it.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Way To Learn Physics

    I am a student at Milton High School and I to read The Physics of Superheroes by James Kakalios for my Parrallel Reading Project for Mr. Lanham's Honors Physical Science Class. The Book is a very unique and interesting read. It explains several aspects of physics while still keeping the reader entertained. While being very educational, superheroes thatmost people are familiar with are used as examples,so you really enjoy learning about their physics. I garuntee you will learn more in this book than you wouldif you read some boring plain old physics book. Superheroes are used accurately as examples in the book because Kakalios uses boring physics to explain interesting things like how superman can jump so high or how the Flash can run so fast. This combines the boring and the fun so that you really enjoy learning the material. It is genius how Kakalios takes real information from the comic books and puts them into some sort of equation to prove how it would be possible for the superheroes to do what they do to make it physics fun.

    When I first started reading the book, I thought it was going to be boring and a terrible book overall.Because I was reading it for a project, that gave me even more of an assurance that it would be boring and way to educational. When I got past the first few pages or so, I was very surprised. It was really interesting and I could hardly put the book down. I thought that use of superheroes to teach physics was genius. I wish I could learn everything like this. He provides you with pictures of the actual comic books and all the information you need to follow along so it was really smooth. By giving you the background you need and the inforation you need,you could no almost nothing about superheroes or physics, then start reading this book and not get confused at all. After reading, I feel like I have learned a lot, but it was fun to learn the material.

    The Physics of Superheroes is by far the greatest and most fun educational book I have ever read. If you need to learn about physics or just looking for an interesting read, then read this book. You will not be disappointed. I recommend this book to anyone learning physics you will learn a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    A great informative read!

    The Physics of Superheroes by James Kakalios is a great book. It covers all almost all aspects of physics from Newton's three laws to Quantum Mechanics. The book is very easy to read and is very educational. After you read this book, you will not believe how much you have learned. The book uses superheroes to show that most of the things that they do can be proven possible by physics. In addition, the author combines the correct amount of humor and scientific information to prevent the book from getting boring.
    When I first picked up the book, I was not too sure if I would enjoy it. I read the book for a project and was afraid that it would be mainly focused on physics, causing the book to be a little boring. Fortunately, I was wrong. The use of popular superheroes to explain physics can actually be quite interesting. You don't even have needed to read a single comic book before in order to enjoy this book. The author provides a good background for all of the superheroes before he starts talking about how their abilities relate for physics. Even if you have little knowledge in physics, this book can still be enjoyed. It explains everything you learn in a through way that is easy to under stand.
    The book is a great book if you want to learn physics in a not so boring way. I had never read a comic book before and I had found this book to be entertaining. I feel that anyone who has ever read a comic book and has a slight interest in physics will enjoy this book. It makes for a great way to learn physics and it is a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is the type of book that brings physics alive in a way that is outside the box of normal thinking. From figuring out how the planet Krypton is 15 times more dense than the Earth or why Gwen Stacey died from the fall on the bridge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Jasper rating

    An amazingly intresting and hilariouse book i want more of his bookes!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Wow

    I am a student at Milton High School, and for my Parallel Reading Project I read ¿The Physics of Superheroes¿ by Professor James Kakalios. Personal I totally dislike physics and everything having to do with them. However, I have to hand it to Professor Kakalios. He did an excellent job of teaching me physics but at the same time entertaining me with superhero stories. At first I dreaded reading a book about physics, so I postponed reading it until the last minute. But after the first chapter I was hooked. I couldn¿t stop reading the book. I was so entranced in this novel that I accidental skipped dinner one night. After I quickly devoured the book I was shocked. I couldn¿t believe that I had just read an entire book on physics. But the most startling thing of all was the fact that I had actually enjoyed it. I am usually not the type of person who will enjoy reading, I would much rather lift weights or run. Nevertheless this book truly captivated me and kept me on the edge of my seat. Once I finished the book I had learned many things such as Newton¿s Three Laws of Motion, Centripetal Acceleration, The Three Laws of Thermodynamics, Coulomb¿s Law of Electrostatic Attraction, Ohm¿s Law, Debroglie Relationship, and Schrödinger¿s Equation. I as so learned some important superhero trivia such as the true name of the Flash, Barry Allen. Another thing I learned was that Superman¿s legs could lift over 5,000 pounds, and that he would weight 3,000 pounds on his home planet of Krypton. This book really is awesome, who wouldn¿t like to know how much Superman could squat. Overall I was stunned that a book about physics could be this good. If you are the average Joe who wants to learn some important facts and formulas about physics this book is perfect for you. Or if you are fond of comics you will enjoy this book too. All in all it was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1