Customer Reviews for

Physics of the Future: How Science Will Shape Human Destiny and Our Daily Lives by the Year 2100

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this book by Michio Kaku. I have several of his other

    I enjoyed this book by Michio Kaku. I have several of his others and have always found them beneficial to expanding my understanding. As with the other books, the writing style is very smooth and flows great. Kaku has a real knack for explaining the complex to the average Joe and I greatly appreciate that.

    I also liked the way he divided the various topics into short term, mid-term and long range thinking. This slice and dice approach made the book read much better than if he had tried to shoehorn all three time frames into a single heading.

    As a critique, there were 3 things I was frustrated with. Frustrated is the wrong word. Minor annoyance is better:
    1. There was no mention of LENR (Low Energy Nuclear Reaction). This field is really beginning to gain ground in the past year. Oh sure, there are snake oil salesman out there but there is also some serious work being produced. Regarding the world’s energy problems, this would be the greatest gift to mankind since the printing press. I would love to have heard his take on this fledging field.
    2. I was disappointed to not see Jack Horner an American paleontologist mentioned in the section explaining the potential to recreate ancient animals including the dinosaur. As most people that even have a casual interest in science knows Horner is currently engaged in reverse engineering a chicken through genetic manipulation thereby hoping to create a quasi-dinosaur.
    3. In the artificial intelligence section, I was pleased to see the mention of IBM’s big blue but was sorely upset to not read about the strides made by Watson. You know, the Jeopardy Champion.

    As a final assessment, I believe authors that are trying to reach a mass audience should avoid the overuse controversial figures such as Richard Dawkins. While he may be a fine scientist, he is much better known for his radical atheist activism. This turns a large number of people off. There are many fine cutting edge scientists doing work in evolutionary genetics and it is my personal opinion that Kaku would have served his readers better by picking one of them to interview and include in the tome.

    With these observations stated, I continue to say I really enjoyed the book and look for to Mr. Kaku’s future work. The world needs bold thinkers If we are to stop killing each other and advance our civilization.

    I hope you find this review / opinion helpful.

    Michael L. Gooch, SPHR – Author of Wingtips with Spurs.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book

    This is textbook science 101 in it's simplest form. Michio explains everything from stars, the future , to space travel in detail and upmost simplest terms. I would sign up for his classes but there is a LONG waiting period, so I guess his books will do. Enjoy readers!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Kaku goes pop

    Far from his best writing, this book was still entertaining but in the form of light reading. Can't blame the author for this trend he is pursuing as he is only trying to appeal to a broader audience which equals more money in his pocket. I much prefer his earlier works that force one to think a little: recalling concepts from a college modern physics and/or dif-eq course taken many years ago. However, it is Summer and this book is perfect for lounging in a hammock in the shade on a lazy afternoon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Best Book Ever

    It's great for nerdy people like me. :D

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    This is a fun read! Now is the time for innovation and fresh perspectives.

    Read this now and enjoy the ride, or be shocked by the next year or decade. Do not get stuck asking yourself "now why didn't I see this coming." The USA needs to take the future in its hands.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Imaginative, Entertaining . . . Bombastic

    It was a great read for the most part, well laid out in the way it moved from one topic to the logical next topic. The things we humans are imagining today are incredible.

    That said, however, as much as I like Dr. Kaku, I found his writing style to be tediously self-absorbed. For example, he writes "When I keynoted a major Microsoft tech conference . . . " as opposed to the more minimalist, less grandiose "While attending a Microsoft tech conference . . . " The fact that he was a keynote speaker at the conference adds nothing to the topic and has no importance other than to Dr. Kaku's ego. I found that annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    One of the best books I have read in a long time!

    This book is a solid five stars, anyone who enjoys to think about the possibilities of what the future holds in store for mankind will enjoy this book. Not only that but Kaku rights it in such a way that it is easy to understand even if you are completely uneducated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    I really like this book

    It is a fascinating read. Michio takes a very "cup is half full," view of the future. I share much of his vision and really looked forward to each chapter. But, he draws out each idea. Some of his thoughts are repeated over and over. The book could have been a bit shorter by omitting these repetitions. But don't let that stop you from reading this book. It is very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highest Recommendation Ever !!

    Best Non-Fiction Book I ever read... Because I read Physics of the Future I can see clearly now.

    There are things that you might like to know about the past, the present and the future. Read it and take a look at the years 2020, 2050, 2080, and 2100.

    You will be so amazed that you will hope that you live that long to see this wonderful tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    To infinity and beyond....

    Very interesting and insightful book. Offers some optimistic outlooks for the future of humanity, assuming we achieve the status of a Class 1 planetary civilization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Michio Kaku is the lay reader’s dream – an accomplis

    Michio Kaku is the lay reader’s dream – an accomplished scientist who communicates intricate concepts in a way anyone can comprehend. In his book, Kaku offers a deeply researched study of the technologies that will create society’s future. He tackles everything from computer screens on contact lenses to magnetic levitation, artificial intelligence and nanotechnology. To keep his treatise reader-friendly, he brings in examples from Greek mythology, Star Trek and the Terminator movies. At times Kaku seems a bit too optimistic about the gee-whiz direction of the world, which he believes eventually will be free of cancer, car crashes and the ravages of aging. But he does temper some of his predictions: He points out the limits of stem cells and artificial intelligence, and he notes the dangers of global warming. getAbstract recommends his analysis to readers seeking an erudite but easy-to-digest survey of the innovations shaping the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    A wonderful, easy to read book about what our future will be lik

    A wonderful, easy to read book about what our future will be like. Makes learning fun and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Fabulous!

    While reading Stephen Hawkins gives one well-researched, thorough information and purports to be reader-friendly, I'm left to scratch my head at the end of each paragraph; forced to re-read it several times in order to digest the material. On the other hand, Michio Kaku has the rare gift to take that same information and churn it into a book that maintains the reader's interest while not reducing the subject into pablum.

    The book is not loaded with complex theories and formulae. Rather, it gives a clear insight into the future that will be of interest to just about anyone. This is not a book whose appeal is not limited to the scientifically oriented. At the same time, it is not insultingly written in the manner of a "Dummies" book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Immposible to put down!

    I was surprised when this book ended, then realized that there was no more, and promptly re-read it. Wonderful, how well it was articulated, could not stop reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Eye opening

    This book was eye opening it allows your mind to openly think and imagine the future that Dr.kaku creates for you. Its a great read for all audiences and all beleives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8