Customer Reviews for

Physics of the Impossible: A Scientific Exploration into the World of Phasers, Force Fields, Teleportation, and Time Travel

Average Rating 4
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly entertaining, provocative book; great for sci-fi enthusiasts as well as anyone interested in what the future may have in store.

This is an entertaining read. Although Mr. Kaku is a quantum physicist, he is able to communicate the relevant concepts very clearly, avoiding most of the jargon and esoterica that someone of his background usually produces (S. Hawking, et al.) . As someone who likes ...
This is an entertaining read. Although Mr. Kaku is a quantum physicist, he is able to communicate the relevant concepts very clearly, avoiding most of the jargon and esoterica that someone of his background usually produces (S. Hawking, et al.) . As someone who likes to think that the impossible is not, this title jumped out and grabbed me.

I believe that whatever man can imagine, he can create. If not now, then sometime. Obviously, Kaku believes this too. But he has the chops to back up his analysis, whereas all I can do is dream.

So, a book like this really hits the spot for me. But I also think the skeptics would find this a worthwhile read, if only for the fun of trying to poke holes in the analysis. I'd wager this will be harder than they think.

posted by J_H_Bytell on July 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Change of the Way You Think

An in depth look of how things that are seemingly impossible can be proved to happen through physics of the universe. Michio Kaku explores various pieces of the impossible such as becoming invisible, psychokinesis, and teleportation. This is a very interesting and in de...
An in depth look of how things that are seemingly impossible can be proved to happen through physics of the universe. Michio Kaku explores various pieces of the impossible such as becoming invisible, psychokinesis, and teleportation. This is a very interesting and in depth reading and I only suggest it to those who have background physics. I did not have any background in physics and the book was still interesting but I feel I would have had a better grasp on the concepts with more information regarding physics and science. My favorite part of the book was the piece on time travel because it seemed so simple yet it has been disproved so many times.

posted by 1193158 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Loved this book!

    This book is a must read if you are interested in what the future holds for mankind. Easy to read and packed full of good info.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Shadowpaw

    Picks the first nest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Very Entertaining

    I had seen Michio Kaku on television several times, and always found his explanations of scientific theories and phenomena easy to understand. When I ran across this title I decided to give it a try. The book certainly follows his tv persona, with an engaging style that makes for an easy read. The subjects are varied, and I learned a few things while reading it. Definitely recommend this for the armchair amateur physicist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    excelent

    The points about physics made, cannot be disputed. This is hard core science on the cutting edge of what mankind can do, and where we are headed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Kaku

    Awesome !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Fun...

    Fun read for all who are interested in Physics and science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Really great

    This is a really good book. It is understandable but doesnt dull down the material at all, and it not written at a complete textbook format that just goes on and on about the simple subjects of the book. I love this book alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Loading problem

    A lot of my friends and I tried to downlaod it but it would.not showbany thing on the pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Horrible

    I bought this book and I can't even open it. I read the sample and it was good but this wouldn't open up. If you know how to fix this, please leave a comment telling me how to fix this. Thanks again, Anonymous.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    COMPELLING

    If you are interested in the topics of time travel, worm holes, teleporting, mind reading, and other subjects covered in this book, and ever wondered if they could be possible--by all means read this book. Michio Kaku breaks the current information on these subjects down to a very understandable level. He succeeds in making these subjects interesting without taking away from the truly scientific aspects. He leaves you knowing that the impossible may not always be the impossible, although it may be years and years from now when we have a more complete knowledge of physics and quantam theories, that we are just now becoming aware of. If you are able to accept that not all things can be explained in simple terms, and accept that Mr. Kaku makes it as simple as he can without taking away from the subjects he discusses than grab this book and begin to discover the remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Fun and interesting

    M. Kaku discusses the seemingly impossible and what it could take to make these impossibilities a reality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Impossible not to like! Physics of the Impossible, by Michio Ka

    Impossible not to like!

    Physics of the Impossible, by Michio Kaku, is an outstanding book in which the relative term “impossible” is categorized in three sections based on the time period they may or may not be accomplished. Kaku talks about the physics behind force fields, invisibility, teleportation, time travel, and more. He explains where scientists are at in the current topic and the technology we still need. Major themes of the book include: relativity, impossibility, human knowledge and limits, achievement, way of life, and futurism. I really appreciated that Kaku writes in a way that the common person can read and understand it, rather than target the book towards higher-level physicists. I also liked how he included some history on each topic; knowing that famous scientists thought our daily technology was impossible is really eye-opening. It allows us hope that humans can achieve so many more things. There was honestly nothing I didn’t like about the book! Physics of the Impossible should be read by anyone remotely interested in physics and has the time to read for understanding on the topics. It will give you great appreciation for the knowledge of the human race and how far we have come. If you enjoyed this book, I would recommend reading A Brief History of Time, by Stephen Hawking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    simplified science

    Physics of the impossible explores common themes in science fiction, and explains in simplified physics whether such things are possible soon, or far in the future. Kaku has an engaging writing style, and his physics is basic enough that most popular readers would be able to follow. However, I don’t think people who follow physics regularly would enjoy the simplified science. I enjoyed this book, though I have one major complaint: Kaku would give examples of science fiction phenomena from popular novels. Apparently assuming that everyone has read all of these books, he almost always tells the ending of the book. I hadn’t read several of these books and was quite annoyed since telling the end of the book did not add any merit to his own arguments. The book lost star-points because of this problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Good book...

    Very interesting. Only for people who like sci-fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Far out, man

    This is so deep, if you drop it, you may never find it again. If you have a mind, prepare for it to be blown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Good good good. So good!

    Read this book! It will change your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Amazingly written

    While physics, espcially the physics talked about in this book, is no easy thing to wrap one's mind Kaku does a wonderful job of communicating such advanced information in a simple and very understandable way. Overall great book for those interested in physics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    scince kind of book

    its good for anyone intrested in science and advanced phyics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Best scientific book I have read!

    Physics of The Impossible is a scientific approach to concepts and inventions that have not been created yet. It describes technology in classes based on their possibility in the future. A major theme involved in the book is that what we know today can drastically change in the way we look at it tomorrow. Very few technologies are truly impossible; most have just not been invented yet, such as teleportation and invisibility. A theme also included is curiosity. In science, "The most exciting phrase to hear is not 'Eureka!' but 'That's funny...'". Scientists everywhere have started billions upon billions of dollars worth of research triggered that one phrase. I like how the author, Michio Kaku, writes so that the average Joe can understand advanced physics. He also describes the history of the topic, where it appears in media, approximately how long it may take to reach the technology, and how accurate science fiction writers have been. I do not like, however, how short the book is; I wanted to read more! I highly recommend this book for anybody interested in modern sciences. Next on my reading list is Michio Maku's "Hyperspace" because I like the way he writes and I have heard good things about all of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding Book

    As far as books about theoretical physics are concerned, this one rates at the top. Michio Kaku has a brilliant way of decribing concepts that I have not seen in the other books I've read. I've also read "Einstein's Cosmos" by Michio Kaku and this book is much more engaging.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12