Customer Reviews for

Physics of the Impossible: A Scientific Exploration into the World of Phasers, Force Fields, Teleportation, and Time Travel

Average Rating 4
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly entertaining, provocative book; great for sci-fi enthusiasts as well as anyone interested in what the future may have in store.

This is an entertaining read. Although Mr. Kaku is a quantum physicist, he is able to communicate the relevant concepts very clearly, avoiding most of the jargon and esoterica that someone of his background usually produces (S. Hawking, et al.) . As someone who likes ...
This is an entertaining read. Although Mr. Kaku is a quantum physicist, he is able to communicate the relevant concepts very clearly, avoiding most of the jargon and esoterica that someone of his background usually produces (S. Hawking, et al.) . As someone who likes to think that the impossible is not, this title jumped out and grabbed me.

I believe that whatever man can imagine, he can create. If not now, then sometime. Obviously, Kaku believes this too. But he has the chops to back up his analysis, whereas all I can do is dream.

So, a book like this really hits the spot for me. But I also think the skeptics would find this a worthwhile read, if only for the fun of trying to poke holes in the analysis. I'd wager this will be harder than they think.

posted by J_H_Bytell on July 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Change of the Way You Think

An in depth look of how things that are seemingly impossible can be proved to happen through physics of the universe. Michio Kaku explores various pieces of the impossible such as becoming invisible, psychokinesis, and teleportation. This is a very interesting and in de...
An in depth look of how things that are seemingly impossible can be proved to happen through physics of the universe. Michio Kaku explores various pieces of the impossible such as becoming invisible, psychokinesis, and teleportation. This is a very interesting and in depth reading and I only suggest it to those who have background physics. I did not have any background in physics and the book was still interesting but I feel I would have had a better grasp on the concepts with more information regarding physics and science. My favorite part of the book was the piece on time travel because it seemed so simple yet it has been disproved so many times.

posted by 1193158 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Surprisingly entertaining, provocative book; great for sci-fi enthusiasts as well as anyone interested in what the future may have in store.

    This is an entertaining read. Although Mr. Kaku is a quantum physicist, he is able to communicate the relevant concepts very clearly, avoiding most of the jargon and esoterica that someone of his background usually produces (S. Hawking, et al.) . As someone who likes to think that the impossible is not, this title jumped out and grabbed me.

    I believe that whatever man can imagine, he can create. If not now, then sometime. Obviously, Kaku believes this too. But he has the chops to back up his analysis, whereas all I can do is dream.

    So, a book like this really hits the spot for me. But I also think the skeptics would find this a worthwhile read, if only for the fun of trying to poke holes in the analysis. I'd wager this will be harder than they think.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Good job

    Easy to follow and understand. Wish I could spend an hour just asking him questions.. especially about the last part of the book. Interesting to read about all the new things planned to help solve the unknowns that still exist out there. Have read all his books and wish he would write one a year so average people like myself could continue to be informed in a manner that is understandable and fascinating.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Scientific Masterpiece

    Physics of The Impossible is a fascinating book that dives into the "impossible realms" of the physics world. The book is divided up into Class I, Class II, and Class III impossibilities. Topics include force fields, invisibility, teleportation, time travel, precognition and everything inbetween. The message in this book is that there is no such thing as "impossible". Even the most far-fetched ideas may one day become a reality, and change the course of humanity. The technologies of today were once thought to be impossible. "Radio has no future. Heavier-than-air flying machines are impossible. X-rays will prove to be a hoax." - Physicist Lord Kelvin, 1899. I recommend this book to people who have a strong interest in the physics. This book is written for advanced high school students and up. I highly recommend for other people to read this book, as it opens up a whole new light to the possibilities of the future to come. This book offers a different way of looking at the world. All of the concepts described in the book are connected to the past, present, and future. I liked that the topics discussed were relevant to me in my life, however, what I didn't like that some of the ideas were repeated more than necessary. Overall, the book was very well written. I would recommend other works by Michio Kaku, as he is a fantastic writer in this scientific field. Other works of his include Hyperspace, Parallel Worlds, Visions, and Beyond Einstein.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Wondrous Possibilities!

    In 300+ pages the author walks the reader through the state-of-the-art of physics theory. And does it with wit and literary verve, without technical jargon or mathematical formulae (except for E=MC2, which most of us are aware of even if we don't understand it through and through).

    Kaku himself is an authority and has personal access to the many others he interviewed for this book. That he can make his material so compelling, clear, and even entertaining is amazing.

    That said, neophytes (myself included) should not expect a quick, light read. Well worth a bit of time and patience.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well written by a Genius

    I am a college student double-majoring in computer science and physics. I have seen Michio Kaku on The Science Channel many times. I was intrigued and wanted to learn more from him. I looked him up and saw that he has written a few books. This was my first book I chose to read written by him. He writes detailed and constructs his ideas in a way so that the general reader will understand. For those uninterested in physics, but like science a little enough to appreaciate technology or science fiction, then read this book. There are many interesting topics covered such as lasers, invisibility, teleportation, robots and such. He gives some history on scientists or scientific ideas throughout each concept covered. To other college students pursuing the science degree, though you have probably heard of most of the ideas covered, you will still find this interesting to read. Michio is a inspiration and I look forward to reading his other books that I bought; "Parallel Worlds" and "Einstein's Cosmos".

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PHYSICS OF THE IMPOSSIBLE!

    Dr. Kaku, and another great book! After reading his book, PHYSICS OF THE IMPOSSIBLE, It really made me see how advanced the world of today is, yet how much longer there is until the things in this book become a reality. Like the Super conductors at room temperature, or the teleportation methods, or even Time travel! Its all a mystery right now, but in the very near future even 5 years from now, it can all become a reality. In his book, He makes sure that not only Physics experts could read his book, But even the average reader like myself. Kaku Brings up many refrences to star trek showing that he is a star treck fan, yet in star treck every single thing that he describes in his book is a reality. From invisibility, to force fields, to warp-speed, He explains how this is possible, and the latest news upon these subjects. Kaku is a great writer, and can really hook the reader, onto the subject. Every chapter talks about something new, so that its not just a repetitive book. He is a great writer, and keeps what he talking about, every now and again mentioning star treck, and how in star treck they use what ever he's talking about (mostly force fields). He talks about how it could improve the everyday life of the human civilization, and greatly make the world of tomorrow today. Its a recomended book for any one who likes sci-fi, yet has a feel for physics. It covers what most Sci-Fi movies/Books contain, Yet Has an understanding of physics, so its not just a book talking about who knows what, but it has a purpose, and meaning.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Michio Kaku is no cuckoo

    Dr. Kaku strikes again with Physics of The Impossible. After reading his book, Hyperspace, I decided to sit down with this one, which had been picking at my interest for a while. As usual, it didn't disappoint.
    >>The author takes a slightly different approach from his other works, focusing specifically on science fiction! The comprehensible method he uses in each chapter allows the reader to easily transition from what was fictionalized, to what professional research has theorized to be just as good, and finally ends with his opinion of the feasibility and time-line of it all. Personally, I believe it was the best way to go about writing it.
    >>He spares no concepts that he finds relevant and the topics he discusses will stir images in your mind of fantastic sizes, speeds, strengths, and sheer cleverness of engineering. His subtle explanations can make you to think past what outstanding ideas he just proposed and, after a short delay, you'll drop the book in your lap and think, Holy cow. Yeah, that COULD work!
    >>From Star Wars and Star Trek, to Isaac Asimov and beyond, Michio Kaku explains how far we have come in our understanding (along with a rough quantification of how far we have to go) to reaching our dreams of the once-thought-to-be impossible.
    >>Personally, I am biased toward Kaku's ability to write, I enjoy his descriptions and explanations, not to mention his wearily optimistic approach to the future. But what I can say for certain is Michio Kaku is an inspiration for creative thinkers to follow their dreams. We are moving into an age where impossibilities in nature are meeting the ingenuity of human technology, the outcome of which is eerily mind boggling.
    >>If you're a fan of his previous works and are unsure of how this piece is, I'll say that while it isn't the most earth-shattering thing he's produced, it is certainly a colorful icing on the cake of his other works.
    >>Physics of The Impossible should be in the personal library of anyone who wants another beautiful escape from reality, directed by none other than Michio Kaku.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    fascinating reading

    Hits most of the hot spots on things that are talked about but seem impossible. Easy and good reading.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Fascinating

    Dr Kaku, as in his numerous other works, excels at breaking down the sophisticated foundations of physics and cosmology and applying them to the futuristic fantasies of science fiction in language the average person can comprehend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Good

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Michel

    I will then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Decades from now

    Humm.. we have polarized invisable cloaks now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Must read

    Know the future read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Loved this book!

    This book is a must read if you are interested in what the future holds for mankind. Easy to read and packed full of good info.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Shadowpaw

    Picks the first nest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Very Entertaining

    I had seen Michio Kaku on television several times, and always found his explanations of scientific theories and phenomena easy to understand. When I ran across this title I decided to give it a try. The book certainly follows his tv persona, with an engaging style that makes for an easy read. The subjects are varied, and I learned a few things while reading it. Definitely recommend this for the armchair amateur physicist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    excelent

    The points about physics made, cannot be disputed. This is hard core science on the cutting edge of what mankind can do, and where we are headed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Kaku

    Awesome !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Fun...

    Fun read for all who are interested in Physics and science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7