Customer Reviews for

Physik (Septimus Heap Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 514 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(344)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

great book!!!!

this book is very good!!!! septimus heap is a series that I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys fantasy reading. Those who have read the Inheritance series will notice some slight similarities between Septimus Heap and Spit Fyre, and the characters Eragon and Sa...
this book is very good!!!! septimus heap is a series that I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys fantasy reading. Those who have read the Inheritance series will notice some slight similarities between Septimus Heap and Spit Fyre, and the characters Eragon and Saphira.

posted by 9049545 on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

;)

Oh, i love this sieries, and im still finishing the name of this book is secret, witch is a very good read, but any way if your reading this comment, take my advice and READ IT! thank you for your time ;)

posted by Anonymous on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 518 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    great book!!!!

    this book is very good!!!! septimus heap is a series that I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys fantasy reading. Those who have read the Inheritance series will notice some slight similarities between Septimus Heap and Spit Fyre, and the characters Eragon and Saphira.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Awesome Book!

    i love the Magyk series and dont let the people whinning below me take away your fun. i do have to admit there are slow parts in the book but it picks right up again. if you like magic, time travel, or the rest of the series, this is your book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Harry Potter, I still love you, but...........

    I was totally lost when I completed all of Harry Potters book. But, move aside my dear old friend there's a new kid in town and he's hanging out on my nookcolor. I havent been able to put this book down, I do have a life, you know. Very good reading...... enjoy!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    SPOILER ALERT

    I have just finished reading the third book in this magykal series. It has been the most mystirious and cliff hanging book i have read scince harry potter. In this book Septimus gets sucked back in time to 500 years earlyer. The Marccelles Pye needs a seventh son to complete the remedy for enternal life. When septimus helps him and the dreaded Queen Ethaldra takes it before it is ready she takes Jenna, who has come to septimus's rescue, and tries to drown jer then. But when her plan fails and Septimus, Jenna go back to there own time, leaving niko and there new friend Snori stuck 500 years back, the dreded queen Ethaldras ghost tries to finish her off with jennas own silver pistal. When she fires it and Althers beloved Alice Nettles jumps in front of her to save jenna, she gets shot in the heart and has to stay where she is for a year amd a day. Alther is staying with her. Then with queen ethaldra on the loose,marcia does some of her quick witted magyk and finishes etheldra off forever. But with niko and snori stuck back 500 years ago, what will hapen in the next thrilling adventure. Hope this was helpfull to some people!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    ahh-MAZING!

    this story is magnificent! it caugt me attention and it was soo good, i wanted to read it again!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    awesome book!!!!!

    Read the whole series. Every ones comment is saying it sucks well your wrong. cant wait for movie.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    fun book

    I found this book very entertaining. Even though I am an adult, I enjoyed the fanasty of the book and the way the author tied the happening into historiacal event and places. Lots of fun.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Well done Sage!!!! :D

    Fabulous bok I really hope Snorri and Nicko come back though. I absolutely hated Etheldredda. Lol who doesn't? Sage wrote Physic splendidly! :) It was a bit hard to keep up with the time spans though while reading but yet the book was extremely remarkable. Honest. Heehee. Man Im totally buying the next book. I can't wait to seee wat happened. I loved loved loved Ullr he was such a great character and i rly liked how he was a panther and half time cat. Lol so epic. Never doubt a cat's wrath. Snorri was also a pretty cool character and i thought it was great that nicko and her were like tarting to become good friends. Yay. Hahaaha. Point is if u have the choice to get physic get it read it love it!!!!!! Alright case closed peace homies. MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun series

    This series is often compared to Harry Potter, but I think in many ways it's much different. The only parallels that I see are that it involves a boy, who at one point is an orphan, and magic. Definitely written for a younger audience, the Septimus books have a tendency to be a little silly sometimes and the endings easily resolved. However, in contrast, Sage deftly creates an interesting world with often odd and humorous characters who have the ability to surprise the reader. The plot structures of each story vary, and, to any fantasy reader's great joy, she doesn't use the same antagonist throughout every single book. Some of the characters switch sides, and other, new bad guys emerge as the series progresses. Also, unlike many series writers, Sage will start a chain of events that last throughout several books, continuing to hook readers from book to book. She does not wrap everything up neatly, but is still able to finish a book in a way that makes the story seem complete. Then, the reader has the anticipation of discovering how some of the issues that arise in earlier books will unravel in later additions.

    Within this book specifically is a prime example of a complicated plot structure and set of characters that break the far too often tread mold of fantasy novels. The main bad guy is a Queen named Etheldredda, who is now a ghost attempting to live forever. However, another 'bad guy' of this book is her son, Marcellus Pye who kidnaps Septimus from 500 years in the past. However, in order to create three-dimensional characters, Marcellus is shown throughout the book to be kind and fiercely intelligent, winning Septimus's admiration and trust even though he doesn't want to be back in time. Far too often, the antagonists are simply evil and have nothing more to them. It certainly makes the reading more interesting when there are levels of good and evil, and not everyone has to be simply one or the other. Even Simon, who was the bad guy in the previous book, seems to be coming around because of Lucy's influence. I recommend this to all readers 9+, skewing more toward boys.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    I have to state that it's taken me a very long time to write my review of PHYSIK, mostly because it took me such a very long time to finish the book. Although I absolutely loved MAGYK, and was nearly as impressed with FLYTE, it was much harder for me to get into the story of PHYSIK. I wasn't immediately struck by the newly introduced characters, and even some of my old favorites were, at first, acting quite different than they had originally. That being said, though, I'm glad I finally finished this third installment in the Septimus Heap saga, and can recommend it to others without feeling guilty. <BR/><BR/>The story opens with Silas Heap, father of the Heap clan, unknowingly unleashing the ghost of Queen Etheldredda, a Castle Queen who ruled long ago. Along with her spirit is also released that of her pet Aie-Aie, a rat-dog-snake hybrid that is hideous to look upon. Although Silas and his companion, Gringe, aren't first aware of what has happened, they'll soon learn that the room they unlocked would have been better left alone. <BR/><BR/>Nearly at the same time, Snorri Snorrelssen, a young North Trader, arrives at Sally Mullen's Tea and Ale House -- and can immediately sense that she's not welcome there, even if she can't understand the language that's being spoken. After weeks at sea, however, Snorri is not about to turn her back on her mission, that of following in the footsteps of her father. <BR/><BR/>Back at the Palace, Septimus Heap is putting off his studies with ExtraOrdinary Wizard Marcia Overstrand, instead indulging in his new obsession of learning all there is to know about Alchemy. He wishes to learn under the famous Alchemyst Marcellus Pye, who just so happens to be the son of the dreaded Queen Etheldredda. <BR/><BR/>All of the usual characters are back in this installment: Jenna, Nicko, Aunt Zelda, Spit Fyre, and Alther Mella, along with new ones like the above-mentioned Snorri and Marcellus Pye. Some of them act as they've always acted; some of them act in surprising ways. All of it leads up to a showdown of wits and talents and, of course, the next book in the series. <BR/><BR/>As I said, I'm glad I finally finished reading PHYSIK, as I definitely plan to read QUESTE, the fourth book. Although some readers may have trouble in the beginning, as I did, once you get into the story of Septimus and family, you'll be quite enthralled until the very end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great for all ages!!

    Great story - wonderful characters - a good read for all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Awesome book! I read this one first and it was great.

    Great humor, suspense, action, and that what-is-gonna-happen-next feeling. This book is always changing in ways you don't notice and skip over until it jumps outta the book and gets ya from behind. So watch yo back as you read this superior novel, and enjoy it. If your friend lends this book to you, you scored. Don't worry about the loan time limit, you will finish by then. This page-turner will have your fingers sore after changing pages so repeatedly. Read this book, especially if you can get it from your local library. This book is worth the time and effort. This is a must read. I highly reccomend this book to people ranging from 11-111, as it contains some serious suspense in one or two parts. My favorite characters were Alther, Septimus and Nicko. You'll love this book, and find it is one of your top ten favorite series. Have fun reading it, and enjoy!
    My top five books(just to let you know) are:
    Lord Brocktree by Brian Jacques
    Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
    Triss by Brian Jacques
    Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
    Septimus Heap Series by Angie Sage
    Also read all the rest of the Redwall books by Brian Jacques.
    Enjoy!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great read!!!

    I' ve read the past two Septimus Heap stories and have been more than pleased, and this is just another installment in that fantastic series!! I absolutely love everything about these books; the characters, setting, plot, solution and everything else. I'm sure you will be pleased with "Physik", because i know i was!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Agree with "Please..." !!

    This is a great book, but some people think it's bad, and that's ok. Aren't there some books you think are awful, and would you like it if some one was really rude to you about it....probably not. It took me a while to really get into it, but that happened fome with the first two, also, so I kept reading, and about a third of the way through, the cliffhangers got me. ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Loved It!

    I soooo love it i tought i wouldent but i do if you dont likee the begginning thene oh well just keep reading it itll be good if it isnt then sorry but your crazy thid is the best book ever and if you dont think so thene your a poop this book is awsome its the best im at snorri its really good so i suggest this book 100% from lily c

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Wow!

    Yes, simply outstanding best book in the series. I almost need to read it again I think it was so good that everyone would like to read it again and again. Fans of Magyk and Flyte will be delighted to the sequel to the Septimus's story. Thrilling and highly detailed, some passages were sad some were funny and some were plain just creepy. The best part in the book is when Spit Fire, a Dragon hatched by Septimus, learns to spit fire (laughs) Because Jenna, the queen, tries to find Septimus, her older brother,any chants this spell to Spit Fire and says , ¿ Faithful dragon seek the one whom you be imprinted on let this seek show your mind FIND!!!!¿ and they set on a journey to find Septimus. Will they make it thats for you to find out. I would highly recommend this book to any one who read Flyte or Magyk. P.S when taming a dragon to breath fire don't do it near a house.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    I loved these books

    keep you on edge of your seat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Thriling

    Words cannot describe.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    AWSOME

    This book is amazing!All the books are good i think that every one should read this book it is friken awsome I like DomDaniel and Septumas

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    SEPTIMUS HEAP

    Best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 518 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26