Customer Reviews for

The Piano Tuner

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Homerun!

Mr. Mason has crafted a well told story of Oriental intrigue set in the 19th century. This fluid and pulchritude novel is authentic and haunting. Nescience is never an issue because Mr. Mason has researched the novel so well.

If you dislike historical fiction, you wi...
Mr. Mason has crafted a well told story of Oriental intrigue set in the 19th century. This fluid and pulchritude novel is authentic and haunting. Nescience is never an issue because Mr. Mason has researched the novel so well.

If you dislike historical fiction, you will dislike this as well. If you enjoy high quality story telling then read this book and be prepared to be taken on a journey of constant suspense and mystrey.

posted by AK95 on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This book taught me a lot of things about Burma and piano tuning, the mechanic and historical aspects of it. However, the story lacked passion and reasons for the events that ocurred. I was never interested in the main character. Definitely not a book for women, it seem...
This book taught me a lot of things about Burma and piano tuning, the mechanic and historical aspects of it. However, the story lacked passion and reasons for the events that ocurred. I was never interested in the main character. Definitely not a book for women, it seemed more like a teenage boy book, for those young men that are struggling to find their way. I recommend it to them.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Disappointing

    This book taught me a lot of things about Burma and piano tuning, the mechanic and historical aspects of it. However, the story lacked passion and reasons for the events that ocurred. I was never interested in the main character. Definitely not a book for women, it seemed more like a teenage boy book, for those young men that are struggling to find their way. I recommend it to them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    A Dense Disappointment

    I wanted to enjoy this book. The first few pages demonstrate that Mason is a more than capable writer, his sentences poetic and his tone believably 19th century. But very quickly it is apparent that this is going to be a long haul. The characterizations are flat. Dr. Carroll is a huge letdown when he finally makes his appearance (actually, he's absent most of the time even after his entrance), and Mr. Drake so quickly devotes himself to this milktoast Svengali that the reader concludes he never had a self to lose to the mysteries of Burma. The book ultimately feels like a depository for every fact about Burma that Mason was able to scrape up in his year of research there, thus he succeeds in creating a lush stage for the action but unfortunately casts his story with puppets.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    This was a book club selection

    I was initially intriqued by this book but soon found that I was reading only so I could participate in the discussion. The book left me wondering what was real and what was a mirage. Not a satisfying read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    This was just a chore of a read for a book club.

    I just couldn't recommend this to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Homerun!

    Mr. Mason has crafted a well told story of Oriental intrigue set in the 19th century. This fluid and pulchritude novel is authentic and haunting. Nescience is never an issue because Mr. Mason has researched the novel so well.

    If you dislike historical fiction, you will dislike this as well. If you enjoy high quality story telling then read this book and be prepared to be taken on a journey of constant suspense and mystrey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    'Breathtaking

    This book was extremely insightful and thought-provoking. The ending was my favorite part as it was both surprising and moving.This book is not for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Best book ever

    The Piano Tuner by Mason
    It isa journey into a man who had lost himself. Beautifully written, the best book of our modern time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    Magnificient!!!

    In this book "The Piano Tuner" is really an thrilling and breathe-catching novel... it was really full of adventure and full of hope... and i'm really touch from how he cares about he's wife and how patient he is... this book is my favorite from all of the novel's i've read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A truly great story

    A story, a kind of poem, and a kind of allegory, all wrapped up in one neat little package. <BR/><BR/>In 1886 an unassuming middle-aged British piano tuner named Edgar Drake is called to the War Office and given a rather unusual commission. He is to travel to Burma (now known as Myanmar) and travel into the wilderness to tune a piano shipped there at the request of one Anthony Carroll, a surgeon attached to a unit of Her Majesty's armed forces. <BR/><BR/>From this simple and somewhat off-kilter idea emerges a wonderful tale of music, love, philosophy, and of stories within this story. Daniel Mason's first novel is an auspicious debut and one hopes that his next work will be just as good, although I don't see how he could top or even equal this. <BR/><BR/>I will say that the final resolution of the story was somewhat anticlimactic, but it does not take away from the power of the rest of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    The Piano Tuner

    In October 1886, Edgar Drake receives an odd telegram from the British War Offices. The telegram contains a request that he leave his wife in London to travel the jungles of Burma, where he¿d find an Erard grand piano that is in need of repairing. The piano belongs to an army surgeon major by the name of Anthony Carroll, whose eccentric peacemaking techniques include music, poetry, and medicine. As Drake travels through Europe, the Red Sea, India, and into Burma, Drake meets all sorts of people and learns of their stories. The Piano Tuner by Daniel Mason is a wonderful novel. Although slow to get through in the beginning, it starts to pick up when the journey begins. Each new cultural experience Drake encounters draws in the reader with the desire to know more. If you are looking for a book that you can¿t put down, one that is adventurous and touching at the same time, The Piano Turner is an excellent choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Amazing

    This is a book that takes you into a new world full of beautiful colors and sounds. While doing this the book makes you keep THINKING right until the very end. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Overhyped

    Perhaps I'm being unfair, particularly given that this is a first novel, but the whole thing had a feeling of 'look-ma-no-hands' to me. Didactic asides, intrusive erudition, and a disappointingly familiar take on the exotic 'Orient.' Lots of potential, but if you really want a good mystery story set in southeast Asia, check out Lily Tuck's 'Siam.' Better yet, read Orwell's 'Burmese Days' or Emma Larkin's 'Looking for George Orwell in Burma.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    UP, UP and KERPLUNK!

    It seemed to me as if the author had decades to research and write the first 9/10ths of the book and then had a week to devise and write the ending! The last few chapters seemed as of they were slapped on by another author it is so separate and distinct in style and substance. I was disappointed especially after pages and pages of detail in the geography, history, etc. I would not recommend another reader going through 270 pp. to come to a conclusion with as much intelligence and relevance as a script from a reality TV program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    A great new author!

    I accidently picked up The Piano Tuner as I browsed at B&N to find a nice book to take on a trip. I was in Singapore and Malaysia when I read it, and it made me want to go up north to Myanmar and Thailand too see what Edgar Drake saw... It's a great book. Written in a style that one rarely finds in modern American literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Disappointed - me too

    This book had such promise. The descriptions of the destinations along the way are seductive and fascinating as is Burma itself. The history described and the build up to the piano tuning event are wonderful, rich and descriptive. And then it falls down with a loud thud. The suddenness of the uprising and his arrest in no way equal the intensity of the other seven eighths of the book. Its as though the whole story ran out of steam an fell off a cliff. Why no in depth explanation of what happened in Mae Lwin. The accusations of Dr. Carroll being a Russian spy and a traitor are not believeable. The turn of events is too contrived. This book needs about five more chapters for explanation and resolution and it needs a different ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Disappointed!

    I enjoyed reading where it took place - but the author hypes you up to believing a good ending like an eventual success to all that the Protagonist fought for, his return home would of made him a hero - I was up all night re-inventing the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Lost In The Jungle

    This is one of the most enchanting stories I have ever read. It is both exotic and suspenseful,lying somewhere between Graham Greene and Joseph Conrad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Use your imagination

    Daniel Mason has crafted a truly engrossing novel in The Piano Tuner. I was most impressed by Mason's ability to provide enough detail for the reader to visualize the people and events, but leave enough to the imagination that the reader is truly drawn into the story. I enjoyed the multidimensional love stories woven into the plot - Edgar Drake's love for his wife Katherine, for the power of music, for Khin Myo, for Dr. Carroll, and finally for the Erard itself. Drake's journey is as much a parallel of the Erard's into the Burmese jungle as it is the same journey. I finished this book wanting to read more, but curiously satisfied with the vivid images that remain in my imagination. I look forward to Mr. Mason's next contribution!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Excellent book!

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. Mason weaves intricate characterizations and intriguing story lines together in an almost mesmerizing and intoxicating prose. I could not believe this was his first novel. I think he needs to rethink his medical school ambition and concentrate instead on writing. And for those who have commented here that they 'couldn't get into it' yes, well maybe because this is not some run of the mill beach book. It is much more. This was simply an excellent book, and yes, as another reader has commented, it almost screams out for a movie version. The screenplay continually ran in my mind as I read Mason's descriptive prose. Great ending as well. Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2