Customer Reviews for

Picking Cotton: Our Memoir of Injustice and Redemption

Average Rating 4
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Thanks for sharing Jennifer and Ron...it teaches us how to forgive and love.

I found this story so inspiring at a time that we are all struggling for a reason that our world is in such disarray. It shows how very sensitive a rape can be and what can be done to overcome a judgement gone wrong. Truly goes deep into one's thoughts and emotions.

posted by 1158129 on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story, but Poorly written

"Picking Cotton" is an absorbing story of a man that is wrongly convicted, mostly by eyewitness account, of the rape of a young woman. Write in first person back and forth between the victim and the "suspect," it gives an interesting firsthand account of how each was de...
"Picking Cotton" is an absorbing story of a man that is wrongly convicted, mostly by eyewitness account, of the rape of a young woman. Write in first person back and forth between the victim and the "suspect," it gives an interesting firsthand account of how each was dealing with the situation as it unfolded. I enjoyed reading the women's point of view and how she had to learn to forgive.
I did not, however, think the book was well written. There were some awkward points where things were left unexplained and something that was seemingly unimportant to the story was talked about. I thought the editing could have been better and that's why I gave the book a 3 star rating.
I've read a lot of Innocence Project books but this one you actually get to hear the accounts from each person. I'm glad that, at least, this story had a happy ending.

posted by 3338910 on April 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    AMAZING STORY, AMAZING PEOPLE, AMAZING COURAGE

    I actually had the chance to hear Jennifer Thompson-Cannino speak about her story and it was the most powerful, amazing, wonderful, heartbreaking story that i have ever heard. I was truly touched by the forgiveness of Ronald for Jennifer. Their friendship is one for the ages. I applaude both Ronald and Jennifer for publishing their story, it is truly amazing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    Wonderful book!

    This book is a must read. It's a compelling true story, beautifully written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Great book!!!!

    This was a wonderfully written, heart warming story of courage and forgiveness. To read what both people in the book went through but still, some how, were able to come out even stronger is amazing. I can only hope that I could show such warmth and forgiveness in such a horrible situation. I thank them both for sharing their story. It reminds me to enjoy every day and just how wonderful people can be!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Amazing story

    This is by far one of the best books that I have ever read. The story is simply amazing and it touches the heart. It's a journey that will have you reading until the book is through, not want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Ma

    Make this a NOOK FIND o fthe week!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Hunter

    Why?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Must read!

    One of the best books I've read in awhile. Very powerful and emotional story. I literally couldn't put this book down until I had finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great!

    Couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    an awsome read An awsome and

    An awsome and engrosing read, a book for all time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Clever name.... watch the video

    In the video, she seems so sure of herself and confident that cotten did it. Even though she though that he was the person that raped her and I understand that it was a mistake but I think she could of said she wasnt completely sure when naming the accused. We learned about this case in AP phycology and how this is false memory. The person that really raped her wasnt even in the line up for a choice of who raped her when she was supposed to identify the man. I also find it kind of wierd how the only thong she was thinking of while she was being raped was how she was going to memorize the man's face and send bim to jail. I also find it hard to beleive that the raper was stupid enough to believe that she was going to fix him something to drink when she went downstairs. Even though she said she was 100% sure that Cotton was the one that did it, her intuition was disproved after 11 years when the technology for DNA was developed. Pretty good book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Picking cotton

    Amazzing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    A must read

    A book filled with devestation and lives canged. Overcoming adversity and the sheer power of having faith and the power of forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Intense

    Why do these situations keep showing up over and over? It seems as though no one cares until displaced justice shows up in the ties of the family. This book is written as a story. It is actually what someone lived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Amazing story

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. What a powerful story about faith, love and compassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Great book on forgiveness

    I learned about this book at a local university. I was very pleased with the book. I love the law and this book didnt disappointment me. It also taught me alot about the human heart and forgiving one another and yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Great storu

    Vert great story enjoyed it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Great book

    This unfortunatly but real story makes us think about injustices, profiling, forgiviness and new begginings. It is a must read! It was hard to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Great story

    Couldnt put it down, wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    awesome book

    I really enjoyed this one. To have to realize that you made a mistake and then the accuser forgives you, and turns their life around without any harsh feelings toward the person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Great book!!!

    I enjoyed this book tremendously! It was a great story of true forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5