Customer Reviews for

Picture Perfect

Average Rating 3.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!

The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think ...
The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think this book is one hundred percent amazing. I think this is a book that everyone should read. It almost gives you a taste of the real life. Jodi Piccoult has always written "heart grabbers" and "tear jerkers" and this book has not failed to show her ability to do so. She details all her stories and shows exactly how it is. I love this book so much, because it keeps you wanting more. The more you read, the more things happen which keeps you turning the pages. The story is a about an anthropologist who suffers from amnesia. Throughout the books she uncovers who she was and how her life was before. She realizes she had lived through tons of hurt and uncovers even more pain. After uncovering her past, she escapes from the hurt and learns about the real world along the way.The most important things about this book are the characters. The people she uses in the book, are your every day, normal person. They're down to Earth, and someone you can almost relate to. They're not perfect, and that's what gives this book so much understanding. You get to see someone's life. You get to see the things that some people have to deal with, and most people hide. That's the reason for this book, and Jodi Piccoult does it very well. Looking at other books of hers, this is one of the best. It's different and exciting, and I believe by writing this book she reached a new goal. Her other books are always touching, and this one also in a new way. I think that this is a must read book. It's great for everyone, and I'm sure you'll love it. You get to see something you never may have before, or let it come close to home and make you realize it's close to your situation. Jodi Piccoult is an amazing author and this book shows her talent. Find time, and definitely read this book!

posted by SarahLittle on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not one of her best

Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laugh...
Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laughably ridiculous--Jodi needs to do a little research or consult someone on subjects she is not familiar with. Would not reccommend this book unless you are desperate and have nothing else.

posted by BentleyCA on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Love books

    Awesome, from start to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Not very good

    Not her best book. The Pact was much better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    I highly recommend it.

    This is not a book that I feel you really overly "LIKE" because of the subject matter. But I feel it was very well done. I truly felt as the characters felt and was really wanting thing to work out for them.

    I think she did a great job putting you into the mind of both the abuser and the woman being abused. It showed how %95 of the time all was well and very happy and each felt it would not happen again. The remorse and guilt of both is accurately portrayed.

    I also enjoyed the native american aspect that helps Cassey to appreciate what is important in life take control of her situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was fantastic. I was hooked from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the usual Picoult Book

    I started reading this book ready for the emotion trauma I was about to put myself through, but I didnt need to be ready. This book has sad moments but I found it kind of hopefull and its one of my favorites by this autor! Its worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    I'd rate this lower than a 1 star if i was allowed.

    This story was ridiculous and quite predictable. I'm assuming the author was trying to get you to root for Cassie considering Alex was bad to her sometimes but I didn't feel bad for Cassie at all. I was actually rooting for Alex. I actually wanted to hurt Cassie myself. Oh and Cassie has this best friend when she was little and I got so tired of her having irrelevant flashbacks that weren't helping or hurting the story... they were just there for no apparent reason. Cassie's character was weak and being a woman myself... I'm quit offended. She was to "over the top" with her emotions and she was a terrible excuse for a woman. She was the typical character that you see in most "love stories". She's oh so in love with Alex and would do anything for him and this and that then destroys him. For no apparent reason. He told her how bad his childhood was and that he likes acting because he could become anyone he wanted to be but when Cassie took that away from him. She was a nobody and ruined Alex reputation as being a somebody. All the characters were weak including this one character called Will who helps Cassie out when he needs help. He was in love with her but he was rather boring and the whole story reminded me of twilight. The two guys fighting over a girl that has absolutely nothing special about her (bella). One was handsome and had it all (like edward) and one was indian and loved the girl but couldn't have her because someone else did (Jacob). I'm not a fan of twilight at all and the fact that this book reminded me of twilight turned me off from it even more. One more thing, Cassie had come down with amnesia. But throughout the story it doesn't really explain clearly how she got it because the story would skip around from Cassie, Will, and Alex's childhood, to them in the present being grown, to them being grown in the past. It didn't make sense and it was lacking. Horrible story. Pretty sad because her other stories are pretty good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Too Expensive and Horrible Book

    I got this from the library because I REFUSE to pay that much for an old book on my nook. Anyway, I quit reading it half way through. Just couldn't finish it. Boring, stupid, one-dimensional. Can't believe Jodi Picoult wrote this garbage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    fantastic

    this+is+a+great+read%21+I+have+already+passed+on+the+book+to+a+friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Should read.

    This book is great to read if you like to know about Native American Tribes. Also has a strong theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Made me Cry!

    Excellent read! I am a big Jodi fan, so I read book after book of hers, and this one is defff in my top three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not good!

    I read anything Jodi Piccoult writes but I found this story to be somewhat boring. I could tell that it was one of her older stories b/c it was not at all as engaging as other stories. I found half of the plot to be interesting, half to be boring and too drawn out. As well she put words together, used the native american language often, just found it unnecessary and too difficult to follow easily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can't finish it for the life of me!

    Let me start by saying, that I am a Jodi Picoult fan. I love her books...I devour them. This one I've owned for MONTHS and I just can't get wrapped up in it as I've done with her other books. It's so sluggish, it literally puts me to sleep. If you have absolutely nothing else to do with your life and someone lends you the book, read it, otherwise save your time and money. I hate to say it, but even thinking about picking the book back up seems cumbersome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    A good Jodi book-

    I really like this author- some of her books are better than the others. I thought this was a good story but it took some time to get into it and the ending kinda leaves you hanging so I guess the middle is the best part. This is a story about a woman with amnesia. She wakes up to her "new" life to find out that she is married to a movie star. :) She has to figure out her life, why she left him and what to do about it. This is a woman's story about physical abuse. She is a geologist, the police officer that finds her tries to help her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My least favorite

    I have read most of Picoult's books, however, this is my least favorite one. I'm not particularly interested in Anthropology and the subject was a huge part of the storyline. Although I finished the book, I found myself struggling to do so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    Not so picture perfect

    I read my very first Picoult book about a week ago titled "Handle With Care" and truly loved it, so I thought I'd go to Borders in search of another one by her. I love anything and everything that has to do with the field of Anthropology so of course when I read on the back of this book that Cassie Barrett was a "renowned anthropologist", I had to buy it. I wanted Alex and Cassie to be able to work things out. I wanted Alex to want to fix himself so that he could one day look in the mirror and not see his father and the horrible things that he did. Then there's Will, I really loved his character and a part of me wanted he and Cassie to be together as well and in the end I was hoping that she was heading off to be with him. I think the part of the book I enjoyed the most was when they were in Tanzania and Cassie was in her element, digging. They were away from the prying eyes of "Hollywood" and there was no abuse happening yet. I judge books by whether or not I'd read them again and I'd definitely read this one again. It was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not very Impressed

    I read this because I love Jodi Picoult, but I wasn't that impressed by the book. It got kind of boring towards the end, and it got to be difficult to keep going with it.
    To me it seemed like Cassie took advantage of Will, and he was only convenient when she needed somewhere to run to get away from Alex, and after she did finally get away she still went back to him.
    Also, the ending kind of left you hanging at the press conference. I know that's how good books are supposed to end, (keep the reader wondering) but I think it could've been done better. Not so sudden.

    All in all..not my fav, and probably won't keep my copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Not her best book

    This was an ok book to read. I thought some of the other books that she wrote were better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    Picture Perfect

    I feel so weird at the end of this book. I don't know if I should feel bad for Cassie or Alex. Both characters had a bad childhood, its so false in just finding help at the last few chapters of the book. Seeing that I am a therapist, its hard for me to understand why it didn't give me more at the end. I want to know what happened after the conference.. Just a conference.. how did Alex know about it? How can we relate it to our actors and movie stars today? I have so many questions.After reading this book I can't get it out of my mind How I want it to end....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    Tears....

    I am usually an unmoveable person when it comes to books. This is the first Picoult I've read and I haven't stopped since. I cried when Cassie got beaten up. In the end I cried for about an hour after the press conference. The book had emotional ups and downs, Picoult takes you through all of that. She makes you understand the entire character and gives each of them their own background. She's so good,I cried for both Cassies AND Alex in the end, and the baby boy too, of course. Only a middleschooler, (a bright one, if I do say so myself), Picoult's books, I found are great for reports. I got my teachers reading them! They are deeper than the kiddie end of the proverbial swimming pool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!

    I really liked this one. Picoult could have easily made Cassie into a helpless victim that I really would have hated but she didn't. Cassie was strong and forgiving and maybe a little naive. I really enjoyed getting to know her. And yes Alex is abusive. But I've never seen this sort of perspective from an abusive person. He eventually realizes that he's hurting her, rather than pretending he's the greatest guy in the world. And while I dislike him for what he did to Cassie I still sympathize for him as well. I felt bad for Will though. I think he deserved more out of life and some happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 239 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12