BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Picture Perfect

Average Rating 3.5
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!

The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think ...
The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think this book is one hundred percent amazing. I think this is a book that everyone should read. It almost gives you a taste of the real life. Jodi Piccoult has always written "heart grabbers" and "tear jerkers" and this book has not failed to show her ability to do so. She details all her stories and shows exactly how it is. I love this book so much, because it keeps you wanting more. The more you read, the more things happen which keeps you turning the pages. The story is a about an anthropologist who suffers from amnesia. Throughout the books she uncovers who she was and how her life was before. She realizes she had lived through tons of hurt and uncovers even more pain. After uncovering her past, she escapes from the hurt and learns about the real world along the way.The most important things about this book are the characters. The people she uses in the book, are your every day, normal person. They're down to Earth, and someone you can almost relate to. They're not perfect, and that's what gives this book so much understanding. You get to see someone's life. You get to see the things that some people have to deal with, and most people hide. That's the reason for this book, and Jodi Piccoult does it very well. Looking at other books of hers, this is one of the best. It's different and exciting, and I believe by writing this book she reached a new goal. Her other books are always touching, and this one also in a new way. I think that this is a must read book. It's great for everyone, and I'm sure you'll love it. You get to see something you never may have before, or let it come close to home and make you realize it's close to your situation. Jodi Piccoult is an amazing author and this book shows her talent. Find time, and definitely read this book!

posted by SarahLittle on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not one of her best

Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laugh...
Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laughably ridiculous--Jodi needs to do a little research or consult someone on subjects she is not familiar with. Would not reccommend this book unless you are desperate and have nothing else.

posted by BentleyCA on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    A Must Read!

    The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think this book is one hundred percent amazing. I think this is a book that everyone should read. It almost gives you a taste of the real life. Jodi Piccoult has always written "heart grabbers" and "tear jerkers" and this book has not failed to show her ability to do so. She details all her stories and shows exactly how it is. I love this book so much, because it keeps you wanting more. The more you read, the more things happen which keeps you turning the pages. The story is a about an anthropologist who suffers from amnesia. Throughout the books she uncovers who she was and how her life was before. She realizes she had lived through tons of hurt and uncovers even more pain. After uncovering her past, she escapes from the hurt and learns about the real world along the way.The most important things about this book are the characters. The people she uses in the book, are your every day, normal person. They're down to Earth, and someone you can almost relate to. They're not perfect, and that's what gives this book so much understanding. You get to see someone's life. You get to see the things that some people have to deal with, and most people hide. That's the reason for this book, and Jodi Piccoult does it very well. Looking at other books of hers, this is one of the best. It's different and exciting, and I believe by writing this book she reached a new goal. Her other books are always touching, and this one also in a new way. I think that this is a must read book. It's great for everyone, and I'm sure you'll love it. You get to see something you never may have before, or let it come close to home and make you realize it's close to your situation. Jodi Piccoult is an amazing author and this book shows her talent. Find time, and definitely read this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    Not one of her best

    Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laughably ridiculous--Jodi needs to do a little research or consult someone on subjects she is not familiar with. Would not reccommend this book unless you are desperate and have nothing else.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!!

    Jodie Picoult is one of the best writers of our time! She manages to take situations that the public would refuse to accept and makes us listen to everyone's perspectives. And at the end of each book, you can't put blame on anyone, because EVERYONE has something to do with it.
    This book, for me, is very touching. The main character reminds me of myself, I want to be an archeologist, and our personalities are also the same. Looking for people to save. So, due to that, I was able to connect with the character alot. I also like that you can't just jump to conclusions in the first few chapters, because Jodie Picoult makes sure that you are intruiged enough to keep on turning the pages.
    A five star book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Another Great Read By Jodi Picoult

    Like her other books Jodi Picoult has managed to captivate the reader in a thrilling plot which includes aspects of both a mystery and love story. Its a quick read, good for the beach, a rainy day, or just because.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Full of typos

    Just purchased this book on my Nook, & cannot get past all the horrible typos! Feel like I'm reading something that was proof read by my 2 year old. Very distracting..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Super Good Read!

    This book is amazing. The plot, the characters, the writing, everything was amazing. I could not put this book down for even a minute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Picture Perfect

    This was an enjoyable read. I thought the characters and the story line were very good. Something that most people could relate to on some level. When I started reading Jodi's first book, I almost gave up on her because the story was long and drawn out and hard to follow. This book was enjoyable and seemed to flow very well. I enjoyed it. Its a quick read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not So Perfect

    Not Picoult's best. I like her later stuff a whole lot better. This book seemed to drag on, and it was never thrilling and often boring. All the characters were frustrating at times, but were relatable. This could have been edited better, and it seemed to have a lot of stuff that wasn't neccessary to the plot, and its 400 pages could have been cut down some. But like all of Jodi Picoult's novels, the language and writing was beautiful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    An amazingly touching novel.

    A novel about a young woman suffering from amnesia and fleeting memories of domestic violence, PICTURE PERFECT by Jodi Picoult can touch the soul of everyone who reads it. The marriage of famous actor Alex Rivers and renowned anthropologist Cassie Barrett seemed to be as perfect as a fairy tale at first, especially for Cassie, who'd lived her whole life far from heavenly, but as all fairy tales, this marriage had its dark secrets.

    As Cassie struggles to remember her life with the help of Will, a half-Indian half-white police officer fighting away the memories of his past, she uncovers more pain than she would've ever imagined could come from seemingly perfect Alex Rivers.

    Staying with Cassie through her amnesia, her memories, and her fight to escape, the reader feels Cassie's pain, the silent argument with herself over whether to stay with her true love and die or to leave and live. Cassie's life is so real to the reader that PICTURE PERFECT is impossible to set down until you've finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Good

    A little slow moving. Good story although at times sappy but loves that way. Would have like to know the outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Once I started this book I could not put it down!  Every time I

    Once I started this book I could not put it down!  Every time I had to put the book down, I just went back to it because I wanted to see what happened!!!!  I felt it was a very enjoyable read!!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    E

    Email

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Loved It

    I truly believe this book captures the emotions behind a woman who is experiencing domestic violence. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    A Jodi Picoult fan!

    This story was as good as all of her others. I have read every book she has out. Just wish there were more of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great read...

    ...til the end! I don't like to be left hanging.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Beth

    Im quitting chatting....it was nice to know you....bye :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Bree

    Yupp tell me how it goes but i gtgtb. Night!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Pretty good

    I love Piccoult' works, this is my 5th read, and although Picture Perfect started somewhat slow for me, it was riveting. It dives head first into the issue of domestic abuse and unconditional love. I bawled at the end of the book, really thinking about what i would do in a similar situation. I do not see the msin character as weak at all; instead, she gives a voice to women in abusive relationships who decide to stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Awful

    One of the worst books ive read. Slow and boring with an absolutely pathetic women as the main character. Dont waste your time or money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13