BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Picture Perfect

Average Rating 3.5
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!

The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think ...
The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think this book is one hundred percent amazing. I think this is a book that everyone should read. It almost gives you a taste of the real life. Jodi Piccoult has always written "heart grabbers" and "tear jerkers" and this book has not failed to show her ability to do so. She details all her stories and shows exactly how it is. I love this book so much, because it keeps you wanting more. The more you read, the more things happen which keeps you turning the pages. The story is a about an anthropologist who suffers from amnesia. Throughout the books she uncovers who she was and how her life was before. She realizes she had lived through tons of hurt and uncovers even more pain. After uncovering her past, she escapes from the hurt and learns about the real world along the way.The most important things about this book are the characters. The people she uses in the book, are your every day, normal person. They're down to Earth, and someone you can almost relate to. They're not perfect, and that's what gives this book so much understanding. You get to see someone's life. You get to see the things that some people have to deal with, and most people hide. That's the reason for this book, and Jodi Piccoult does it very well. Looking at other books of hers, this is one of the best. It's different and exciting, and I believe by writing this book she reached a new goal. Her other books are always touching, and this one also in a new way. I think that this is a must read book. It's great for everyone, and I'm sure you'll love it. You get to see something you never may have before, or let it come close to home and make you realize it's close to your situation. Jodi Piccoult is an amazing author and this book shows her talent. Find time, and definitely read this book!

posted by SarahLittle on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not one of her best

Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laugh...
Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laughably ridiculous--Jodi needs to do a little research or consult someone on subjects she is not familiar with. Would not reccommend this book unless you are desperate and have nothing else.

posted by BentleyCA on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not So Perfect

    Not Picoult's best. I like her later stuff a whole lot better. This book seemed to drag on, and it was never thrilling and often boring. All the characters were frustrating at times, but were relatable. This could have been edited better, and it seemed to have a lot of stuff that wasn't neccessary to the plot, and its 400 pages could have been cut down some. But like all of Jodi Picoult's novels, the language and writing was beautiful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Good

    A little slow moving. Good story although at times sappy but loves that way. Would have like to know the outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    I highly recommend it.

    This is not a book that I feel you really overly "LIKE" because of the subject matter. But I feel it was very well done. I truly felt as the characters felt and was really wanting thing to work out for them.

    I think she did a great job putting you into the mind of both the abuser and the woman being abused. It showed how %95 of the time all was well and very happy and each felt it would not happen again. The remorse and guilt of both is accurately portrayed.

    I also enjoyed the native american aspect that helps Cassey to appreciate what is important in life take control of her situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My least favorite

    I have read most of Picoult's books, however, this is my least favorite one. I'm not particularly interested in Anthropology and the subject was a huge part of the storyline. Although I finished the book, I found myself struggling to do so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not very Impressed

    I read this because I love Jodi Picoult, but I wasn't that impressed by the book. It got kind of boring towards the end, and it got to be difficult to keep going with it.
    To me it seemed like Cassie took advantage of Will, and he was only convenient when she needed somewhere to run to get away from Alex, and after she did finally get away she still went back to him.
    Also, the ending kind of left you hanging at the press conference. I know that's how good books are supposed to end, (keep the reader wondering) but I think it could've been done better. Not so sudden.

    All in all..not my fav, and probably won't keep my copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Not her best book

    This was an ok book to read. I thought some of the other books that she wrote were better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Not my favorite by Jodi Picoult

    I find Jodi Picoult to be a better than average story-teller and I am often surprised by the direction her stories take. I enjoyed the story-line of Alex and Cassie and enjoyed reading their history. I did not enjoy the Native American portion of the story. As usual I found myself in tears at the end of the story, but it is not a book that will continue to occupy my thoughts tomorrow (like some of Jodi's books).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Enjoyable, but not the best.

    It is rare to find a book that you can so completely enjoy, but then find yourself in anguish moments later. Cassie is a likable character, and she is a fun narrator, but at times, you want to wring her neck and tell her to fight back! Alex seems too perfect, and he falls apart, shattering all expectations. You honestly want it to work out, and you enjoy watching them try to mend their broken relationship 'not helped by Cassie's sudden memory loss'. I really wanted to LOVE this book, but it was impossible to love it with all the agony it put me through! 'is it wrong for me to want to shout at the top of my lungs, 'Fight BACK!''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Back and forth

    I was back and forth on this one. I would go through phases where I couldn't put it down, and then phases where I considered skimming. I didn't skim, though, b/c she has a gift for wording and phrasing. Her writing is amazing, even when I don't like the plot, so I didn't want to cheat myself out of her writing. One of the things I love about Picoult's books is that there always seems to be some sort of connection among the characters and their stories. I couldn't really find the connection here, and I guess waiting for that connection is what got me through much of the book. I hated Alex. HAAAATED him. I couldn't get past that. Oh well. This was one of her first books, I think. It's obvious she's grown tremendously, and regardless of this iffy plot, I would love to be as gifted as she.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    not up to par

    I have read several of Picoult's other books, and agree with some of the other reviewers who did not think this one to be up to snuff. It is definitely a different book for Picoult. Although I enjoyed her other books much better, this one was still good and very readable. It just didn't have any suspense to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    Okay, but not great

    I'm a huge fan of Jodi Picoult and I love all of her books. This book, however, is my least favorite. It's still OK, written in her trademark poetic narratives and peppered with descriptive, lyrical language. However, I found it hard to like any of the characters. Maybe that's because the subject matter of this book is not black and white, but rather full of gray areas. I won't say this book is bad, because it's not. I think Picoult fans will find it readable. If you are new to Jodi's work, try another one of her books first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Wasn't her best work

    As a fan of Jodi Picoult, I was very disappointed in this book. However, it wasn't unbearable to read and I would still recommend it to any of her fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3