Customer Reviews for

Picture Perfect

Average Rating 3.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!

The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think ...
The main idea of this book, is a woman who experiences the perfect fairy tale marriage which then turns for the worst. Troubles begin, and gets worse. The author's purpose for this book, is to grab the reader in and show situations that readers also deal with. I think this book is one hundred percent amazing. I think this is a book that everyone should read. It almost gives you a taste of the real life. Jodi Piccoult has always written "heart grabbers" and "tear jerkers" and this book has not failed to show her ability to do so. She details all her stories and shows exactly how it is. I love this book so much, because it keeps you wanting more. The more you read, the more things happen which keeps you turning the pages. The story is a about an anthropologist who suffers from amnesia. Throughout the books she uncovers who she was and how her life was before. She realizes she had lived through tons of hurt and uncovers even more pain. After uncovering her past, she escapes from the hurt and learns about the real world along the way.The most important things about this book are the characters. The people she uses in the book, are your every day, normal person. They're down to Earth, and someone you can almost relate to. They're not perfect, and that's what gives this book so much understanding. You get to see someone's life. You get to see the things that some people have to deal with, and most people hide. That's the reason for this book, and Jodi Piccoult does it very well. Looking at other books of hers, this is one of the best. It's different and exciting, and I believe by writing this book she reached a new goal. Her other books are always touching, and this one also in a new way. I think that this is a must read book. It's great for everyone, and I'm sure you'll love it. You get to see something you never may have before, or let it come close to home and make you realize it's close to your situation. Jodi Piccoult is an amazing author and this book shows her talent. Find time, and definitely read this book!

posted by SarahLittle on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not one of her best

Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laugh...
Normally I love Jodi Picoult's books and will buy anything written by her. This is one of her older books, and definitely not her best. Characters are one dimensional and the main female character is extremely weak. One small piece of the story about horses was laughably ridiculous--Jodi needs to do a little research or consult someone on subjects she is not familiar with. Would not reccommend this book unless you are desperate and have nothing else.

posted by BentleyCA on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Picture Perfect

    This was an enjoyable read. I thought the characters and the story line were very good. Something that most people could relate to on some level. When I started reading Jodi's first book, I almost gave up on her because the story was long and drawn out and hard to follow. This book was enjoyable and seemed to flow very well. I enjoyed it. Its a quick read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    An amazingly touching novel.

    A novel about a young woman suffering from amnesia and fleeting memories of domestic violence, PICTURE PERFECT by Jodi Picoult can touch the soul of everyone who reads it. The marriage of famous actor Alex Rivers and renowned anthropologist Cassie Barrett seemed to be as perfect as a fairy tale at first, especially for Cassie, who'd lived her whole life far from heavenly, but as all fairy tales, this marriage had its dark secrets.

    As Cassie struggles to remember her life with the help of Will, a half-Indian half-white police officer fighting away the memories of his past, she uncovers more pain than she would've ever imagined could come from seemingly perfect Alex Rivers.

    Staying with Cassie through her amnesia, her memories, and her fight to escape, the reader feels Cassie's pain, the silent argument with herself over whether to stay with her true love and die or to leave and live. Cassie's life is so real to the reader that PICTURE PERFECT is impossible to set down until you've finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Once I started this book I could not put it down!  Every time I

    Once I started this book I could not put it down!  Every time I had to put the book down, I just went back to it because I wanted to see what happened!!!!  I felt it was a very enjoyable read!!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great read...

    ...til the end! I don't like to be left hanging.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Pretty good

    I love Piccoult' works, this is my 5th read, and although Picture Perfect started somewhat slow for me, it was riveting. It dives head first into the issue of domestic abuse and unconditional love. I bawled at the end of the book, really thinking about what i would do in a similar situation. I do not see the msin character as weak at all; instead, she gives a voice to women in abusive relationships who decide to stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the usual Picoult Book

    I started reading this book ready for the emotion trauma I was about to put myself through, but I didnt need to be ready. This book has sad moments but I found it kind of hopefull and its one of my favorites by this autor! Its worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Should read.

    This book is great to read if you like to know about Native American Tribes. Also has a strong theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    A good Jodi book-

    I really like this author- some of her books are better than the others. I thought this was a good story but it took some time to get into it and the ending kinda leaves you hanging so I guess the middle is the best part. This is a story about a woman with amnesia. She wakes up to her "new" life to find out that she is married to a movie star. :) She has to figure out her life, why she left him and what to do about it. This is a woman's story about physical abuse. She is a geologist, the police officer that finds her tries to help her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    Picture Perfect

    I feel so weird at the end of this book. I don't know if I should feel bad for Cassie or Alex. Both characters had a bad childhood, its so false in just finding help at the last few chapters of the book. Seeing that I am a therapist, its hard for me to understand why it didn't give me more at the end. I want to know what happened after the conference.. Just a conference.. how did Alex know about it? How can we relate it to our actors and movie stars today? I have so many questions.After reading this book I can't get it out of my mind How I want it to end....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    What Happens Behind the Scenes of a Perfect Life Is Not Always So Pefect

    Cassie Barret meets hot Hollywood actor, Alex Rivers, in the middle of a desert in Tanzania where she is working for UCLA setting up a field expedition. She meets Alex when she is asked to show him what an anthropologist does for a price of $300 a day. They hit it off well and get married by the end of the summer, but when they get back to the states Alex¿s personality changes. When he gets a new role in a movie he takes it seriously if the character beats his wife he does also. In public he is a total sweetheart but within the comforts of his own home he abuses Cassie with words and actions. After an episode he begs for her forgiveness. Cassie has a secret, but is holding it inside for fear of what Alex will do. The switching of time periods in the book is a little bit confusing at first but then it started to be easy to follow. I really liked how the author expressed the characters feelings when something happened to them. A good example of this was stating how Cassie felt when she was getting abused. The book went by really fast after the first forty pages. I couldn¿t put it down after that point. This book is not part of a series, although I wish it was because it kind of leaves you hanging at the end. This book reminds me of a movie I watched on the computer. I think that any woman would enjoy this book. It really pulls at your heartstrings. This book is similar to the works of Nicholas Sparks and Nicholas Evens. This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    A real enjoyment

    I enjoyed Picture Perfect. Being a teenager I like to read about my generation and Hollywood. We read about celebrities extravagant lives and want that when its really not what it seems. Jodie Picoult explains the behind the scenes real life of Hollywood. I can see how some people wouldn't enjoy it because the story line is't her normal but different is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    Insane reviewers!!

    I have loved all the Jodi Picoult books I have read, including this one. It kept me reading. It wasn't too predictable. But I guess some books aren't for all people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    I liked it... a lot!

    I'm surprised by the other reviews because this is definitely among my favorites of Jodi Picoult's books. I really enjoy her style of telling the story from the perspectives of all involved and the flashbacks that fill in the past. Maybe I'm naive but I didn't think the storyline was predictable either. I've learned from other Picoult books to expect the unexpected, or atleast the undesirable outcome so I didn't know how this one was going to end. I definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Enjoyed this book

    Unlike most others who have reviewed this book I did enjoy it, it was the first book of Jodi Picoult's that I have read to date. A friend loaned me both Picture Perfect and Fourtune's Rocks by Anita Shreeves. Both books I could not set down. I would reccomend this book to others and will myself read some of Picoult's other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4