BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Picture Of Dorian Gray

Average Rating 4
( 368 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

A classic that's still relevant today!

This is one of my favorite books of ALL time. I've read it over & over. Oscar Wilde was an amazing author & master of witty sarcasm. He has a thought-provoking view on life & society.

My copy is riddled with highlighted quotes that I think perfectly sum up the ...
This is one of my favorite books of ALL time. I've read it over & over. Oscar Wilde was an amazing author & master of witty sarcasm. He has a thought-provoking view on life & society.

My copy is riddled with highlighted quotes that I think perfectly sum up the quirks of human behavior. This book is a thriller, social commentary, philosophical discussion, & vocabulary lesson all in one! He can ramble at some points, but read through it because what these ramblings reveal are quite insightful. Don't be intimidated, though. It's short compared to a lot of other classics with similarly "difficult" language. Grab a dictionary, open up your mind...& you'll get a lot out of this read.

posted by Lark_LaVoix on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Riddled with errors

This ebook was poorly converted, and is riddled with errors. Find another free copy...

posted by CScottMorris on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Its good

    The errors take away from the book, thoughit is good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Storm

    :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    good read. but a hand full of typos

    love the book its self. however this version has a good bit of typos, which is mainly just anoying but nothing terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Longwinded but good

    Longwinded but good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Good read

    I liked the book mainly because it was very quotable. Wilde uses a lot of epigrams in his writing. It is very philosophical and makes you think. At some points the plot is very slow, but otherwise, it was an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    good read

    i loved this book. the only problem was that there are sections that are too wordy and can bore you until he picks it back up to a good pace.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Never gets old to me.....

    I've read this story a few times, and I always like it just as much as I did the first time I read it. It's a great classic, with a really unique plot/twist. It's also interesting to read about the different charteristics of the general public during that time frame of history. Will always be a good book to enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh Dorian !!

    Wilde's story telling is beautiful, if he were living today he would be one of the best movie directors ever. The beginning and end of the book were outstanding.. the middle got to be a little to drawn out but overall very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Look At Image

    I read this book for a poem I was writing for my poetry 2010 class. I chose to interpret a song by the Devil Wears Prada. "This Song Is Called" quotes this book and describes a warning for those people who focus too much on hedonism, and beauty.

    I do not usually read classic books, however I made an exception for this book, and I really liked it. I found it hilarious, whether it was meant to be or not I have no idea. The humor added refreshment, and helped me to keep reading. I like the way Wilde writes; unique and charming.

    Near the middle of the book it rambles on about all the possessions that Gray obtains. It was my least favorite part, and I would recommend skipping it, it seemed completely pointless.

    The context in which I read the book kept me from thinking too deeply about the meanings Wilde hid within the text, so I would have to read it again to get better feel for what he was going for. Overall a very interesting read. It gets one thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Jekyll and Hyde with a better theme

    The Picture of Dorian Gray is a very good book although somewhat boring at times. This is only because it Oscar Wilde gets kind of wordy in a few sections. The theme in the book is developed superbly and the character development is outstanding. Many of the characters are extremely witty and humorous, Lord Henry Wotton being the case in point. The only word of caution is that if you're one of those annoying people who is easily offended, this may not be the book for you. Because of the time period it was written in, the characters are often a little racist and chauvinistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Morbidly Wonderful!

    The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde was a very dark and morbid story that is quite captivating. It had me turning the pages one after the other wondering what was going to happen next. It's a wonderful tale of insanity and what corruption will do to you. If you're looking to read something with meaning behind it then this is the book for you, my friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    GREAT

    THE BOOK WAS SOOOOO GOOD!! IT HAD TO BE THE BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ. I STRONGLY ENCOURAGE EVERYBODY TO READ THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6