Customer Reviews for

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Average Rating 4
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

A classic that's still relevant today!

This is one of my favorite books of ALL time. I've read it over & over. Oscar Wilde was an amazing author & master of witty sarcasm. He has a thought-provoking view on life & society.

My copy is riddled with highlighted quotes that I think perfectly sum up the ...
This is one of my favorite books of ALL time. I've read it over & over. Oscar Wilde was an amazing author & master of witty sarcasm. He has a thought-provoking view on life & society.

My copy is riddled with highlighted quotes that I think perfectly sum up the quirks of human behavior. This book is a thriller, social commentary, philosophical discussion, & vocabulary lesson all in one! He can ramble at some points, but read through it because what these ramblings reveal are quite insightful. Don't be intimidated, though. It's short compared to a lot of other classics with similarly "difficult" language. Grab a dictionary, open up your mind...& you'll get a lot out of this read.

posted by Lark_LaVoix on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Riddled with errors

This ebook was poorly converted, and is riddled with errors. Find another free copy...

posted by CScottMorris on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic that's still relevant today!

    This is one of my favorite books of ALL time. I've read it over & over. Oscar Wilde was an amazing author & master of witty sarcasm. He has a thought-provoking view on life & society.<BR/><BR/>My copy is riddled with highlighted quotes that I think perfectly sum up the quirks of human behavior. This book is a thriller, social commentary, philosophical discussion, & vocabulary lesson all in one! He can ramble at some points, but read through it because what these ramblings reveal are quite insightful. Don't be intimidated, though. It's short compared to a lot of other classics with similarly "difficult" language. Grab a dictionary, open up your mind...& you'll get a lot out of this read.

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Chilling and surreal...this story surfaces your own personal demons

    I had heard the theatre tale of Dorian Gray and I wanted to know the real story. Something about the Barnes and Noble book cover of the portrait of Dorian Gray made it stand out amongst the other classics.

    I normally don't mark my books but there were so many whitty remarks and absolute truths I had to mark them so I could tell others.

    The story takes place over many years but somehow didn't feel rushed and leaves you screaming for more at the end. On top of that, the most interesting thing about the way Wilde writes this story is that he never really tells you what sins the character is guilty of, thus making you fill them in yourself.
    How wicked is your soul's own thoughts?
    Definately a buy and keep!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    An Old Classic and Still a Thriller

    I started to read this book because I had wanted to read as many of the classics and I could bear through. The Picture of Darian Grey really fooled me. I thought it would be ho-hum until I stated to read it. What a lesson about life.
    How very often we do away with someone who really loves us to get along with someone who just wants to use us......and we are too in love with ourselves to know or admit we made a mistake till it is too late.

    Oscar Wilde was a terrific writer.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    As long as you read the 20 Chapter Version this book is groundbreaking.

    I read the 13 chapter version, and then the 20 Chapter version. Never, ever read the 13ch version, it is dull and flat. The 20 version, the version we know now, is so much more provacative. While I would still recommend Frankenstein as a philosophical text of this, Dorian Gray makes you question within yourself the forces of hedonism and puritanism. The continual fight between Hedonism and Puritanism is still one we must struggle with today, and with both sides refusing to take a middle ground, Dorian Gray remains an important text.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Book!

    I was first captured by this book by Oscar Wilde's wonderful use of language. Although many of his characters are rotten and dirty at the core, they are still very eloquent and every line could be a thought provoking quote. Even the narrations are equally eloquent. Aside from the language, the story is wonderful and I really enjoyed reading the book, as it is the only novel written by Oscar Wilde. If you enjoy the classics, you better not skip this one...and if you don't: still pick this one up from B&N, you will not be disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    Great Read

    I read this book for a project in one of my english classes in high school. I loved it. The dialogue is great, the story is awesome, and I was always wondering what happened next. I recommend it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Fabulous read

    Good book club "classic"

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Great!!!!!!!

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    You get what you pay for

    If it didnt have typos it wouldnt be free. Awesome book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Wow

    By now, you should know the, shall we say "speciallized" style of writing for the free classics, so i dont care about the typos. I'm used to it as a broke srudent. But the story behind dorian gray is so... undiscribable. He sells his doul for youth! How can this be a bad story? I am definately glad i read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Review

    Tis a great book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Loved it

    I read it in my highschool english class and I loved it! :) I recomend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Yay

    Its not that bad for a free book right

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Simple Message, Great Story

    The story is pretty standard. Art comes to life or rather the other way around in this case. Oscar Wilde knew how to write to entertain and this novel is no exception. The characters except Dorian all come off as rather shallow, but I suppose that is the point of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!!!

    Get this book today!

    It has great formatting and is a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Know what you're getting into...

    I have been rather horrified to read some reviews of this tale by people who were apparently expecting some kind of Twilight-level read and love-triangle drama. Dorian Gray is the reason why Oscar Wilde is mentioned so often alongside Poe for levels of uneasy gloom and above even today's horror masters for his depths of depravity. Even the best amongst us has slivers of Dorian within our hearts and it would be foolish to try to read this without being prepared to analyze the more unmentionable pieces of oneself. Brilliant story masterfully told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book

    This is what many novelists strive to accomplish. The story is deep and the subtle change in dorian is worth navigating older vocabulary and slang. Simply intriguing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Perfect and Genius

    My favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Amazing.

    One of those books that is good the first time and only gets better. The story itself is amazing, and the writing is some of Wilde's best. There are so many amusing one-liners and philosophical throwaways that I find anew on every read. ...if only he could have left out the 11th chapter...it's the one part of the book that drags.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Dorian

    I loved this book--very quick read with great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10