Customer Reviews for

A Picture of Freedom: The Diary of Clotee, a Slave Girl , Belmont Plantation, Virginia, 1859 (Dear America Series)

Average Rating 5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    My 12 year old girl loved this book

    My 12year old girl loved this book she said slavery was so mean she could not believe thay did that and I feel the same

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!!!!!!!!

    I HAVE NEVER LIKED SOCIAL STUDIES CAUSE IT WAS SO BORING, BUT THIS BOOK SHOWED ME HOW INTERESTING IT CAN BE

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Adventoureous Book, 100 stars

    Just got done reading the part about "Uncle Heb" poor poor uncle Heb!!! Master Henleys like i didnt kill him, he just died after i wacked him with my gun!! Lol:);) seems likea verygood book especailly when they get a tutor for their son!! Read the book and you'll know what im talking about! Oh yeah, and theyhave the part with the kid and the horse,so sad! BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great

    Love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Touching, and eye-opening

    This is one of my favorite books in the Dear America series! I knew about slavery, but i had never known much about the Underground Railroad. I felt like I was there with Clotee in those days. I admit, it did start out a little boring, but after I kept reading it I couldn't put it down. Anyone of any age should read this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    A childhood favorite

    This book was responsible for creating a monster. I received it as a Christmas present many years ago, and after reading it, developed an interest in history. I saved up my allowance money each week until I owned every book in the Dear America series. I highly recommend this and other books in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Step Back in Time.

    This is a step back in history. "Dear America, The Diary of Clotee, a Slave Girl, A Picture of Freedom, Belmont Plantation, Virginia, 1859" by Patricia C. McKissack was both fascinating and intriguing. This novel was well written, well developed, and well researched. It made me almost "see"/visualize and "feel" the emotions of the protagonist. This "tale" of a slave was also enlightening, the cover design and style of the book reminded me of the American Girl series of novels. Patricia C. McKissack's writing style is sure to entice young readers and make it easy for them to enjoy reading Clotee's story. The history offered in this work of fiction is provided in an easy-to-read and easy-to-comprehend way. It was a delight to read this and I wanted to read straight through the weekend to find out what would happen on the Belmont Plantation. Clotee's diary gives readers insight into the life and struggles of a slave.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    GREAT BOOK 3

    this is a great book. i had to do it for a project in my LA class. at first it was kind of boring but it better and even better as i read along! you should read this if you get the chance it says only ages 9 to 12 but i think it is great for anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    An Uplifting and Inspiring Story

    I throughly enjoyed this book. It really gave me a since of what it must have been like as a slave. I also liked how the author made this story uplifting and all, when instead she could have made it very depressing. I like Clotee's charcter: a determened girl who wants to end freedom. She is smart and resourceful. Though it is in diary form it does have a plot, which is hard to do when writing this style especially about history. I would say that Mrs. McKissack has done a very good job with this book, and would recomend for grades 4-8.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Jman

    This was a class asignment.best book ever.why did they have slaves.it was humans you know.fyi.clotee hanley was real.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Awesomr!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Freedom

    Why was slavery even allowed,i mean we should be all treated equal

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    OMIGOODNESS

    This book is truly amazing. A must read plz read it its so good. Im disappointed u cant buy the sample but the book is worth 1,000,000,000,000 dollars. Trust me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    My Favorite of thousands

    I dont have it on my nook but i love it. ive read thousands of books but tihs is my favorite. It deserves morr tha 5 stras

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Chloe likes this book

    This is such a good book. I dnt have it on my nook but it is a great story. If u have any question on gettng it i"ll just tell u it almost makes me pay attention in world history.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Good Book

    Personally, I think this is the best book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    so great

    I loved this book!!! it was my favorite book i ever read in my life.It is a great book that i recomend to everyone of all ages.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I used this book for a report and thought right from the begining it was going to be a really good book for a report. I loved that it gave you time to actually get used to thinking about slavery and it didnt just throw it at you. I think everyone should get a chance to read this book because it shows alot of lessons and it makes you think about alot of different things!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    Excellent!!!!!

    This book was excellent! It is one of the best Dear America book that I have ever read and you should definatlly buy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    The best book ever!!!!!

    This book showed me the true hardships of slavery. Clotee was still a person, and she went through horrible stuff. I got my grandma and my mom to read it. I recomend this to anyone who will understand it. A must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3