Customer Reviews for

Pictures of You

Average Rating 3.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

The author begins the story with the effects of something as insignificant as a hornet in the car and driving in the fog but we know this can't be a good thing for Isabel, the driver. This is a beautiful story about the many facets of love, grief, guilt, secrets and dis...
The author begins the story with the effects of something as insignificant as a hornet in the car and driving in the fog but we know this can't be a good thing for Isabel, the driver. This is a beautiful story about the many facets of love, grief, guilt, secrets and disappointments in life that entangle the wonderful cast of characters. This is one of those heartrending, soul-searching novels that will keep your heart attached to this storyline long after you've finished reading it. I highly recommend!!

posted by _JAQUELINE_ on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Feeling let down

I found the book to be contrived, with portions disconnected & not adding to the depth of the story. At some points, I felt the author was using drivel to fill up space, probably thinking she was moving the theme forward. I read it to the end only because I am of the ...
I found the book to be contrived, with portions disconnected & not adding to the depth of the story. At some points, I felt the author was using drivel to fill up space, probably thinking she was moving the theme forward. I read it to the end only because I am of the personality type that finishes what I start. Foolish to do so in this case, as there are so many other great reads out there. Waste of time.

posted by 4937848 on February 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    The author begins the story with the effects of something as insignificant as a hornet in the car and driving in the fog but we know this can't be a good thing for Isabel, the driver. This is a beautiful story about the many facets of love, grief, guilt, secrets and disappointments in life that entangle the wonderful cast of characters. This is one of those heartrending, soul-searching novels that will keep your heart attached to this storyline long after you've finished reading it. I highly recommend!!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Feeling let down

    I found the book to be contrived, with portions disconnected & not adding to the depth of the story. At some points, I felt the author was using drivel to fill up space, probably thinking she was moving the theme forward. I read it to the end only because I am of the personality type that finishes what I start. Foolish to do so in this case, as there are so many other great reads out there. Waste of time.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    An absorbing, compelling, amazing read!

    I absolutely loved Pictures of You. It was a compelling, haunting, absorbing read that grabbed ahold of me from the very first page and refused to let go--even when duty and dishes called! The novel is intricately crafted, weaving multiple storylines together to craft a portrait of complex, believable and broken characters doing their best to hope and heal. Leavitt does a fantastic, unsentimental job of depicting a small child's attempt to navigate the tumultuous waters of illness and loss. She gives us a glimpse into an exquisitely rendered world where nothing is as it seems, and no choices are easy. I found myself laughing, crying and hoping right alongside her cast of imperfect characters, crossing my fingers that they'd manage to find happiness in the end. (Which they do--just not in quite the manner you'd expect.) All in all, an intriguing, touching, roller-coaster ride of a read. Highly recommend!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Unsettling and haunting

    I managed to snag a copy of this at a book festival and quickly became enthralled. Leavitt (love all her work) instantly grabs the readers attention with an eerie, haunting story about a fatal car accident and the lives of the people left behind. She manages to upend everything you think you know and builds to an ending that just about devastated me. I'd loan this book to my sister, but I can't let it out of my hands.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    This Book Will Haunt You For Days Afterward

    I just finished "Pictures of You" three nights ago and can't get the book off my mind! All the characters are haunting me. I have only had time to read two books lately, this and "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which is on sale on here on BN and I thoroughly enjoyed both of them. Buy both books and you'll understand why.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    "leave it" on the shelf

    Although this book started off promising, by the end it really disappointed me. Some of the characters just didn't ring true for me, especially Alice and Sam. The author's biography doesn't mention if she has children, but I suspect she doesn't. It was almost like different people wrote the beginning and the end of the book. I'm an avid reader, but I'll avoid this author in the future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Slow read, not engaging or interesting

    Not that every book has to have a happy ending, but I almost quit reading this due to its sad storyline and all over the place agenda. At the end I found myself asking 'What was the point?'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Blurry Picture

    I must have read a different book than the other reviewers because I thought this book was awful I'm not going to spoil things for other people by retelling the plot or giving plot points away, but the characters were cardboard and there were several plot developments that I thought were just preposterous. There are better books to spend you time with.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    A Lovely Story of the Impossibility of Love

    Caroline Leavitt captures the effects of a random moment of incredibly bad luck that could happen to any of us - along with the fall-out from it - SO well . There are too many moments to admire in this book to even begin a list. The idea that Sam would see Isabelle as an angel who might connect him to his mother is just brilliant, and so perfectly handled. And the relationship between Isabelle and Charlie ... in less talented hands, this story might have lapsed into smaltzy-ness, but this one ends in such a moving way. Pictures of You is a lovely story of the impossibility of love.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Disappointing

    I have, in the past, expected and received the best in reading from Algonquin. This story misses the mark so far I double checked the publisher. Sure enough, Algonquin! The writing was terribly uneven, very good a few times and disjointed and cumbersome at many others. Poor word choices, trite phrasing, and wordiness marred the author's work. Frankly, it read like an unedited proof copy. The worst offense of all was the author missing three or four good spots to end the misery. The last 50 pages were unnecessary. All that happened in them should have been left to the reader's imagination. Algonquin, get back to your earlier standards, please.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It will make you cry. Highly recommended by 'Nightstand Book Reviews' (Patti Phillips)

    We all have certain expectations of our spouses. In the best scenarios, we picture loving each other robustly, tenderly and forever. In those pictures we raise marvelous children, and journey through life’s adventures with our best friends. ‘When we are not so busy’ or ‘when the children are grown’ we’ll have time to sort out all the nagging relationship issues. Unless the sand in the hourglass runs out before we get that chance. In “Pictures of You,” two women’s lives intersect in a tragic auto accident. April dies when Isabelle swerves into her on an unfamiliar road in the fog. Isabelle, a photographer, is haunted by what she has done, even though she is cleared of any wrongdoing. She can’t forgive herself, so she doesn’t really blame anyone else in the community for ostracizing her; even welcomes being left alone. The fact of her husband’s infidelity has taken a back seat to her guilt. The little boy, Sam, who survived the accident, has lost his mother and a grieving husband, Charlie, doesn’t understand why his wife, April, would have been on that road with their son at that time of day. Secrets are revealed about April that astound her husband. He no longer knows the woman with whom he shared his life. Charlie is helpless to comfort his son, ineffective in dealing with so many ‘after death’ issues. How many of us would be any better at it? What follows is the tragic tale of three people aching for love; raw emotions and devastating truths revealed as they find a way to heal. No plot spoiler here, but photography plays an important role in the storyline. Sam is so well written, with always age appropriate vocabulary, that the reader completely understands when he feels responsible for his mother’s death. Sam mistakes Isabelle for an angel and with his nine-year-old logic, mixes reality with his desperate wish to see his mother again. Leavitt creates a world in which the reader wants to hold this little boy, take away his heartache. In an effective subplot, Isabelle suffers from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, which Leavitt depicts with insightful clarity. Isabelle shakes uncontrollably, sweats and feels nauseous when she sets foot in a car after the accident and for months afterward, must walk or ride a bike to go anywhere. Having been in a terrible car accident myself many years ago, I sympathized with the realistically intense stress the woman was going through, cringed at the nightmares she experienced. Leavitt herself, has an acute fear of being in cars, so brings considerable, painful authenticity to the reading experience. We tend to dismiss the importance of the small choices we make in life - not kissing a loved one goodbye or taking the time to listen when we’re running behind schedule - until it’s too late to get a do-over. We look back after a disaster and think: if only I had been a better dad, a better son, a better wife. If only I had stayed, or been there, or did what she/he asked. Everything would have been different. If only. Beautifully written, exquisitely shared.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Everything but a boiled bunny,,,,,,

    After accitentally killing Charlie's wife. Isabelle starts riding her bike past his home late at night and early in the morning. She continues to make contact with his son via letters and gifts despite being told not to. She harasses nurses for info about the son and tries to muscle her wsy into his hospital room. She sneaks around his house and slps gifrs through an open window! She takes the widowed dad out for a snack at the cafe where his late wife worked, Unable to comprehend grief, she demands the dad and.boy follow her to New York where she subleases a giant loft despite nrglecting to ask for het share of the house from her husband. She hangs out outside Charlie's parents'. Twenty years later, the boy, one of Bosron's top docs only a year or two outof residency is immediately contacted. To top it off, Isabelle promises she will drop in on Charlie someday!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    horrible

    Hands down the worst fiction I have ever read. Anti climatic, terrible ending. I felt cheated at the end. Dont waste your time reading this!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Undecided.

    There were times that I loved this book. Then, something would happen and I would not really care for this book. The story really is very intriguing. Some of the decisions of the characters made me just shake my head! I guess it is too close to the way life really is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    good read

    Sorry to have it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good

    A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    nice story

    easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    great

    easy read good store leaves u wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Interesting Read!

    Well written engaging story. I thought that the characters were a little underdeveloped and would have liked a more finite ending, but overall I enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I was interested in the subject matter of the book but found it

    I was interested in the subject matter of the book but found it a bit slow paced for my taste. The interaction between the main characters was well rounded and felt real, as though she knew someone who had been through something like this. I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7