Customer Reviews for

Pictures of You

Average Rating 3.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

The author begins the story with the effects of something as insignificant as a hornet in the car and driving in the fog but we know this can't be a good thing for Isabel, the driver. This is a beautiful story about the many facets of love, grief, guilt, secrets and dis...
The author begins the story with the effects of something as insignificant as a hornet in the car and driving in the fog but we know this can't be a good thing for Isabel, the driver. This is a beautiful story about the many facets of love, grief, guilt, secrets and disappointments in life that entangle the wonderful cast of characters. This is one of those heartrending, soul-searching novels that will keep your heart attached to this storyline long after you've finished reading it. I highly recommend!!

posted by _JAQUELINE_ on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Feeling let down

I found the book to be contrived, with portions disconnected & not adding to the depth of the story. At some points, I felt the author was using drivel to fill up space, probably thinking she was moving the theme forward. I read it to the end only because I am of the ...
I found the book to be contrived, with portions disconnected & not adding to the depth of the story. At some points, I felt the author was using drivel to fill up space, probably thinking she was moving the theme forward. I read it to the end only because I am of the personality type that finishes what I start. Foolish to do so in this case, as there are so many other great reads out there. Waste of time.

posted by 4937848 on February 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    The author begins the story with the effects of something as insignificant as a hornet in the car and driving in the fog but we know this can't be a good thing for Isabel, the driver. This is a beautiful story about the many facets of love, grief, guilt, secrets and disappointments in life that entangle the wonderful cast of characters. This is one of those heartrending, soul-searching novels that will keep your heart attached to this storyline long after you've finished reading it. I highly recommend!!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    An absorbing, compelling, amazing read!

    I absolutely loved Pictures of You. It was a compelling, haunting, absorbing read that grabbed ahold of me from the very first page and refused to let go--even when duty and dishes called! The novel is intricately crafted, weaving multiple storylines together to craft a portrait of complex, believable and broken characters doing their best to hope and heal. Leavitt does a fantastic, unsentimental job of depicting a small child's attempt to navigate the tumultuous waters of illness and loss. She gives us a glimpse into an exquisitely rendered world where nothing is as it seems, and no choices are easy. I found myself laughing, crying and hoping right alongside her cast of imperfect characters, crossing my fingers that they'd manage to find happiness in the end. (Which they do--just not in quite the manner you'd expect.) All in all, an intriguing, touching, roller-coaster ride of a read. Highly recommend!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Unsettling and haunting

    I managed to snag a copy of this at a book festival and quickly became enthralled. Leavitt (love all her work) instantly grabs the readers attention with an eerie, haunting story about a fatal car accident and the lives of the people left behind. She manages to upend everything you think you know and builds to an ending that just about devastated me. I'd loan this book to my sister, but I can't let it out of my hands.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    This Book Will Haunt You For Days Afterward

    I just finished "Pictures of You" three nights ago and can't get the book off my mind! All the characters are haunting me. I have only had time to read two books lately, this and "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which is on sale on here on BN and I thoroughly enjoyed both of them. Buy both books and you'll understand why.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    A Lovely Story of the Impossibility of Love

    Caroline Leavitt captures the effects of a random moment of incredibly bad luck that could happen to any of us - along with the fall-out from it - SO well . There are too many moments to admire in this book to even begin a list. The idea that Sam would see Isabelle as an angel who might connect him to his mother is just brilliant, and so perfectly handled. And the relationship between Isabelle and Charlie ... in less talented hands, this story might have lapsed into smaltzy-ness, but this one ends in such a moving way. Pictures of You is a lovely story of the impossibility of love.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    great

    easy read good store leaves u wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Love love love love love

    This was the best book i have probably ever read. And i totally maen that. If u r ever looking for a good read that u can't put down, read this! Reading about the characters gow together and figure out who they really are, is one of those things that just keeps u reading. If u are a sucker for reading about tow people that just don't fit together at all, i HIGHLY recommend this book. It'll keep u guessing. I hope u like it as much as i did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Beth Seres

    This book came across on nook reccomendation. I'm so glad I read it. The story just flowed and had some unexpected parts. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Lovely Novel

    Loved it for its depth of emotion and lovely writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is my first (but far from last) read from this wonderful au

    This is my first (but far from last) read from this wonderful author. This will leave you yearning for just "one more page", over and over again....heartbreaking, poignant, haunting, lovely, bittersweet....it is everything to love in a remarkably well written novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Highly recommend this!

    Heard about this book in O Magazine and really liked it. The author truly has a wasy with words. The way she describes things really hit home with me. While the ending was bittersweet and I wanted a little more, it was still a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I read it through tears

    I had to read this book through tears most of the time. It is so moving, and the characters are so real. I loved how much Charlie adored his wife, and how dedicated he was to his son Sam, even though his grief threatened to engulf him.
    The writing is sublime. After April's death, when Charlie is asked about the organ donor card found in his wife's wallet, he thinks, "someone else would touch April's skin. Someone else would see through her eyes." Those lines just killed me, and told you all you needed to know about Charlie's love for April.

    Another line that got me was the author's description of Luke's attraction to the much younger Isabelle. "When he smiled at Isabelle, his eyes were full of light. He looked at her like she was the most interesting thing he had ever seen." You understand why Isabelle became so smitten with Luke; what woman wouldn't want a man to look at her like that?

    Leavitt uses imagery beautifully in this novel. When Isabelle realizes too late that Luke has been cheating on her, she recalls how he had been nice to her after she found earrings the house that weren't hers or smelled perfume, "how he'd taken her out to a fancy dinner, how he reeled her back in so tenderly that she didn't notice the sharpness of the hook." You can just see Isabelle as the poor fish hooked on Luke's line.

    Photography plays a big part in the book. Isabelle is a photographer and she teaches Sam how to take photos. It bonds them together, and becomes the one thing that helps Sam overcome his grief and guilt over his mother's death. She tells Sam that photographs sometimes shows things that aren't there, things that you have to look deeper for the hidden meaning. Much of this lovely novel is people realizing they really don't know the ones they love most.

    I so enjoy when the ending of a book surprises me, and Leavitt does a brilliant job with the resolution of the story. It takes you to unexpected, but satisfactory, places. She jumps forward in time, and lets the reader know how these characters have fared, but leaves enough questions lingering that allows these wonderful characters to live ons. I will not forget Charlie, Isabelle and Sam, and will think of them fondly for a very long time.

    Pictures of You is a moving, heartbreaking novel about the power of healing and forgiveness, with interesting, yet flawed, characters. Fans of good fiction who want to be taken on an emotional journey should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Pictures of You is an artfully crafted novel that explores the ways people are forever reshaped after tragedy. The characters are richly drawn and their lives are threaded together seamlessly, creating a heartbreaking yet ultimately hopeful story. Leavitt knows her craft and never crosses the line from tender understanding to emotional sentimentality as she delves into tough themes of loss, survival, grief and forgiveness. This is an exceptional, multi-layered story where undercurrents of tension and mystery combined with the carefully timed exposure of individual and collective truths make for a bona fide page-turner from beginning to end. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    A Book Club MUST-READ

    Caroline Leavitt is a writers' writer--her voice is nuanced and original, and her truths are universal. The suspense combined with the lyrical writing (and just enough humor for leavening) makes this book a stunning, compulsive read.
    PICTURES OF YOU would make an excellent book-club book--the idea of stopping time--of photography's images revealed, of the unseen detail--and the mesmerizing story--is ideal for discussion (and everyone will finish before the meeting--even if it means staying up all night; it's one of those books).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3