Customer Reviews for

A Piece of Cake: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 510 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(345)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Truely an inspiration...

This is the first non-fiction book that I've ever read, and I must say, it's opened the doors for me to read more of these books. I can't speak for anyone else, and I don't know if anyone feels the same as myself, but, this was truely inspirational, and very well writte...
This is the first non-fiction book that I've ever read, and I must say, it's opened the doors for me to read more of these books. I can't speak for anyone else, and I don't know if anyone feels the same as myself, but, this was truely inspirational, and very well written. It was a little dry in the beginning, but it was a page turner. I love Cupcake for what's she's accomplished, and overcome not many people, let alone women come back from that point. This book really opened my eyes to a lot of things that occur daily in society, and we overlook. I'm only 24yrs. old, and as a child, my mom smoked crack, and I never knew why, or what is was, or effect it had on her mind, or her body, but I see now. I remember her staying up all night, and sleeping all day. Now, she never sold any of our 'my sister and I' things, but she did sell quite a bit of her own, and she would be so ashamed when we asked her about it. She smoked for about 10 yrs. which was much of my child-hood, and I felt so left out as a child. But, what I can say, we were never molested, or mistreated in any way, our family stood in while she was in her addiction, and we never needed, or wanted for anything. Every holiday, or occasion, we had it all. The one thing that still hurts her til this day, was when she stayed up one night getting high, and wasn't able to get me or herself up the next morning to attend my Kindergarten Graduation. She still cries when she thinks about it. As a child, I always wondered why she couldn't just stop, but I know now, that she was addicted, and she couldn't stop on her own. But, just like Cupcake, she prayed, and spoke to God, and has been clean for 15yrs. now. And I thank the Lord for bringing her through, as well as protecting us, as she went through those things. I thank God for Cupcake as well, reading this book, brought me and my mom even closer. And I'd like to thank Cupcake for letting me into her life, to view my own more clearly. God Bless.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Not believable

I found this book in a friend's vehicle and decided to read it based on the summary. Although it is a good 'story', it is not a real believable one. Cupcake was usually too high to remember to pay her bills, take her birth control pills, and take a shower... am I reall...
I found this book in a friend's vehicle and decided to read it based on the summary. Although it is a good 'story', it is not a real believable one. Cupcake was usually too high to remember to pay her bills, take her birth control pills, and take a shower... am I really expected to believe that she can remember such intricate details to write a memoir? She was always abused, not a good day ever in this story! Give me a bigger break than she got for publishing this awful piece of work. Her story also implied how stupid the world is and she is the only smart one, she was hired over and over again by law firms 'attorneys who are well educated', interviewed and offered positions while wearing miniskirts and other revealing clothing. Also, what father do you know would allow a husband to almost kill thier daughter and he stay quiet in his room to allow her to fix her own problems. Come on Cupcake, or is it really La'vette? What planet do you think we live on? Lots of folks think this is sensational because it is. Sensationally unreal and not believable!!!

posted by Anonymous on July 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Wonderful book!...at first.

    This book was a wonderful read but i must say i stopped reading it close to the middle. It starts getting boring and predictable. It stop leaving me on the edge of my seat. But up until then this is great read. Some say its unbelievable because she was high so much, but hey maybe some of them memorie came back. Ive know people not know what they did the past two days from a night of partying hard, but later on that month or next mouth they begin to remember and eventually remember everything. so i cant speak on that one i think maybe some of it might been made up but then again i don't think so.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    a little on the boring side

    the book was okay, but one thing that got on my nerves is that she repeats herself way to much... Also the same things kept on happening to her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    A piece of cake was about the life of Cupcake Brown. In her book

    A piece of cake was about the life of Cupcake Brown. In her book she tells how her life was twisted upside down by the passing of her mother. Unfortunately, she was exposed to a life of physical /mental abuse and drugs at a very young age. She had to learn how to take care of herself while on the streets and in the foster care system in Southern California. Cupcake encountered a life of prostitution, drugs and crime just to get high, but this was all she knew. During this time he blames God for the things that she goes through but soon listens to the voice that makes her change her life around. In the end she learns that she was not alone in this life of drugs and meets someone who has a life that mirrored her own and they become close friends. Cupcake learns how life can be better without drugs and goes onto do big things. Overall, this book hit close to home for me. It lets you truly know that it doesn't matter where you come from, it matters where you end up.

    ~ Tiffani
    BBC FB Page Admin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Good Read

    Cupcake surely went through a lot as explained in her memoir. It was definitely a long read which felt that it would never end... I say Good read because I cannot say BAD read because this is pertaining to her life as she is sharing it to the world of readers.
    For future readers, please beware of the things written in this book as it may "school" you of the substances that surround us everyday.. And also how EASY it is to access these substances.. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    what do you think about cupake?

    ¿ A Piece of Cake¿ written by cupcake brown is a first person inspiring book. Cupcake Brown talks about her life from the day her best friend past away, until the day she almost dies on the streets. At the age of eleven her mother past away in her sleep, and her father was not around so the government sent her to foster care. Her foster mother was careless and just wanted to get paid for children and treated them like slaves.
    From the book we know that Cupcake is a strong person now. She went from a happy-go-lucky little girl, to a gang member that¿s addicted to drugs. From the age of eleven to her early twenties she experienced, and survived through: an abusive foster home, drug addiction, abuse,rape, alcoholism, deaths, pregnancy, and homelessness. In the book I don¿t see where the author tries to evoke the readers, as this is written in first person. The reader can feel sympathy for Cupcake as she talks about very disturbing moments, like when she gets raped multiple times by her foster mother¿s nephew, or when she got shot with a shotgun and her doctor left her to for die because she was a gang member.
    Cupcake learned many terrible things in her pre-teens that may have hilled her, but it only made her stronger. She is now a graduate from University of San Francisco Law School and works for one of the top 25 largest law firms in the nation. From time to time she does book interviews and she said, ¿ My goal is to hopefully inspire as many people as I can and to let them know no matter way challenges they may face in life, they¿re not alone, and any challenge can be overcome.¿ Through all the drug usage, multiple times getting raped, there was one specific time Cupcake recalls that made her turn her life around. She got beaten and raped by one of her drugs partners, and left for dead next to a dumpster. ¿ and saw my reflection in my eyes were sunk in my head, my lips were burned and scabbed from the crack pipe, you could see my ribs. I had seen death on other people but not on me¿ (Brown) after that day she decided to turn her life around and went to drug abuse and alcoholism meetings.
    Over all I think Cupcake Brown is a very lucky person to survive what she did. Without all of her struggles she wouldn¿t be the person she is today. Throughout her teenage years she was immature and dumb. For example she got pregnant at the age of thirteen, and didn¿t know who the father was. Her foster mother told her daughter to beat Cupcake up, which lead to a miscarriage. I think that all the pain and anger Cupcake felt, it made her succeed more in life. She learned how to use her bad experience into motivation. I feel like that is how she got to where she is today, a lawyer in a top firm.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    As The Pages Turn Book Club

    Summary of the Groups Review 2-28-09
    We give this book 2 1/2 to 3 stars, we felt the book was drawn out and may have been embellished at times; but with various experiences of life's struggles in search for Love; Cupcake Brown's life was full of drugs, abuse, prostitution, rape, robbery, gang bangin, hatetrid, grief, low self-esteem and a failed foster care system; however on the other hand this book showed faith, great determination, survival, trust, self-esteem and overcoming adversity as well as accomplishing goals. Cupcake Brown overcame many obstacles and set out to become a Lawyer and with the help of God, her 12-step program sponsors, family and true friends she successfully reached her goals!
    We find this book to be inspirational to many that may or may not have traveled the same path as Cupcake Brown and with the faith of your God all things are possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    ridiculous

    Good book but it just got annoying after a while. Same things kept happening and it's hard to believe that someone on so many drugs would remember all of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2