Customer Reviews for

Pieces (A Breakaway Novel)

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was so excited to get back into this book after finishing the

    I was so excited to get back into this book after finishing the first one. I was interested to see how Naomi was doing after what she had experienced in the first book and how her feelings with Jesse had changed, if they had.

    It was good to be back with Naomi and I was happy to see that she was doing things with her life. She was in school and working to be happy and grow as an individual. She wanted to get past what had happened to her. While she wanted to leave the nightmarish parts behind her, she was more than happy to stay in love with Jesse. A lot of this book was about Naomi growing and getting past what she went through two years ago. Like in the first book, there's a lot of internal struggles that keep you on your toes.

    I was just waiting for Jesse to show up while reading this book. I wanted to see him. I was so scared that he would be a completely different person than in the first book. I wanted to know how they would react to seeing each other. Jesse is still himself but he was a bit harder. I found him to be harsher and sort of selfish in this book which made me really sad. He had been so sweet and giving in the first book and it's like he came back a little broken. I was frustrated because Naomi had been holding back all this time to be with him and I had mostly supported her love for Jesse because I knew he was good to her. But he came back and I just wanted to pull Naomi away from him. I did not want him messing with the progress she's made to get better.

    Finn was a cool character. I liked that he let Naomi have her space and never pushed her like some of the guys in her past relationships. He was obviously a healthier choice for her as a love interest but something in me kept holding back, hoping that Jesse would get better.

    The ending was satisfying and I'm okay with how it ended. While it may not have been exactly what I wanted, I was glad that Naomi had grown so much since the first book. I was just as glued to this book as I was to the first one and I'm really happy I had the chance to read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a page turner! Going into Pieces I was nervous, book 1 (The

    What a page turner! Going into Pieces I was nervous, book 1 (The Breakaway) was one of my favorite reads of 2012, and while I was super excited about there being a sequel, I was concerned I wasn't going to enjoy it as much since it was about Naomi dealing with the after math of the kidnapping and not her actually being hostage anymore. Thankfully though I enjoyed Pieces just as much as I did The Breakaway!

    Now while Pieces is definitely not the same as The Breakaway it was still equally as good and intense. In Pieces we get to see the struggles Naomi is facing with the aftermath of the kidnapping and her trying to be strong and wait for Jesse to be released. We also meet a new boy named Finn who has nothing to do with her past, but could be the future she needs.

    I have to admit Finn was my favorite part of Pieces! I thought he was such a great addition as a character, he was the sweet boy next door kind of guy which I love. He seemed to genuinely care about Naomi. Jesse on the other hand I did not enjoy in Pieces as much, he seemed to have changed since The Breakaway, and I guess that makes sense when he just got out of being in prison and given the other circumstances. Although he was one of Naomi's captors, I do believe he also wanted to make Naomi happy, and genuinely cared about her.

    Besides Finn I also very much enjoyed Naomi in Pieces, I felt like she had grown as a character tremendously since The Breakaway. She grew up alot, and even throughout Pieces you still see her growing as a character. She became a stronger, more independent version of herself.

    Overall this was an amazing addition to The Breakaway, you can read Pieces on it's own, but I highly suggest reading The Breakaway before hand (since I loved it so much). Michelle writes amazing stories of struggle, and makes you really feel for the characters. This is a series I would recommend to anyone looking for a different kind of contemporary romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I did not like this book. Mostly, I don't like the directions th

    I did not like this book. Mostly, I don't like the directions that the characters were taken. Logically I suppose it makes sense that this is how the story would play out, but I wasn't looking for logical, I was looking for the happy ending. And for me, this wasn't it. I did like Finn, though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    I thought this was written really well, and enjoyed reading Naom

    I thought this was written really well, and enjoyed reading Naomi's transition, from kidnapped girl, to a young woman in college. I definitely saw strength in her character, this time around, and I liked the choices she ultimately had to made, and one of those, was with Jesse, her lover and one of the guys that had captured her, in book 1. There were some instances though, where I felt, there could have been more writing, to just clarify a scene, a situation. There is another love interest, other than Jesse, and I liked him a lot, a lot more than Jesse. It definitely twists the story a bit, and like I mentioned about more clarification...well I would have liked to have read more of that, in the end, just to reassure me what the characters would do, and if they would be fine. Perhaps there might be a book 3? I would definitely read it, but this was a good sequel, and the Author had me hooked the whole time :)
    My Rating: 4.2/5I say PG-13 Rated (Some Mild Mature Content) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    *Don't read review unless you've read the previous novel, The Br

    *Don't read review unless you've read the previous novel, The Breakaway. There will be spoilers from the previous book in this review.*

    I loved the last book (The Breakaway) that followed Naomi as she was kidnapped and held captive for a year. This book takes place 2 years later. Naomi still has flashbacks to her 1 yr stay with the kidnappers. However, she still has fond memories of the female, Evelyn and Jesse, the boy who sort of became her boyfriend at the end. Jesse's been in prison this entire time but pretty soon, Naomi finds out that he's on parole and pretty soon the life that she's been living for the last 2 years is flipped upside down again.

    Of course, the author doesn't disappoint with messing with our heads. She puts us on another roller coaster ride of emotions as things play out for Naomi. First it seems like Naomi is moving on with her life and has finally found a nice guy who understands her but then Jesse is released on parole and then he's off of parole and asking her to run away with him. The entire time I will admit I was curious about Jesse but I really liked the new guy and thought he was perfect for her. However, like Naomi, I wanted to give Jesse a shot because I had mixed feelings about him. He was one of her kidnappers after all but he had done small gestures for Naomi and tried to watch out for her while she lived in their house. So I sort of liked the guy but in this book, we see Jesse out in the real world and you realize that maybe he wasn't who you thought he was.

    I like that the author decided to write a companion novel for Naomi. I would've been okay if she finished with The Breakaway but it was nice to finally get closure for the characters. It was also interesting to see Naomi in life outside of being kidnapped and Jesse outside in the real world. I'm a little sad to see the characters go but it was one hell of an emotional roller coaster ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Though Pieces can be read independently, I am glad that I read T

    Though Pieces can be read independently, I am glad that I read The Breakaway first, because it helps you to truly understand Naomi's mental state and where she is coming from.  The story begins a couple of years after Naomi's kidnapping incident.  Naomi is finally going to college at Harvard, though still in counseling and trying to sort out the emotional train wreck of her life with the help of her counselors.  She is still in love with Jesse, and has convinced herself to wait 5 years for him, until he is released from prison.  When she makes a new friend, Finn, she begins to question her feelings for Jesse.  Finn is hot, he understands her, and she is very attracted to him.  He also causes her to really look at and question her true feelings for Jesse.  Her friendship with Finn grows, as do her feelings for him, but everything changes when she receives a call and finds out that Jesse is out on parole.  Part of his parole stipulates that he can have absolutely no contact with Naomi whatsoever.  Naomi can't get Jesse out of her mind, and it eventually begins to affect her school work.  




    While on summer break back home in California, she breaks the rules and drives to Berkley where Jesse is staying, winding up seeing him, if only briefly.  A few months later she receives a text from Jesse asking her about having a passport.  Soon after this, he contacts her and informs her that his parole has been lifted, and that he has gotten a wonderful job opportunity in Italy, and wants her to come with him.  Even though her friends find the fact that Jesse is off parole and able to contact her so soon rather fishy, she choose to allow herself to be blinded to this fact, leaving it all behind to go with him, but when she gets there, things aren't what she expected.  Jesse is secretive and she knows he is keeping things from her.  She soon begins to wonder just how different this situation is from when she was held hostage before.  Then, whens she sees Jesse with some questionable men, everything is turned upside down and her world begins crashing in around her.  Forced with some very difficult choices, Naomi finally must face the truth of what is going on, but when she does, will this realization come to late? 




    I enjoyed Pieces a lot more than I did The Breakaway.  I also liked Naomi's character a lot better in this book.  I especially liked Finn.  He was just an all around great guy, and hot to.  Though Jesse grew on me in book one, I found his character to be much less likable in this book.  I felt bad for the things Naomi was going through, but was glad to see her begin to overcome her weakness and pain, and try to put the pieces of her life back together again.  The story also ended well and I was pleased and satisfied with where and how the author closed things out.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Good ending

    I loved watching her mature throughout this book. I liked the end but it could have shown how she was doing in like five years. That would have been perfect. A good rear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Great book

    Love this book. really enjoyed the first one but loved this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1