BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pieces of Happily Ever After

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasant surprise!!!

    Review by Jen: For anyone who knows me and my book tastes, I generally stay away from chick-lit. I really like for my books to have a happily ever after, and in my experience with chick-lit, they don't always end happy. So, I wondered what I'd gotten myself into when I agreed to be a blogger for SheKnows. Pieces of Happily Ever After is the kick off selection for the book club.

    As my deadline for review loomed, I rather dreaded picking up the book to settle in and read. I finally told myself that I had to stop procrastinating and to get to reading. I was hooked on page one. I liked the imagery Irene painted of a woman being stalked by paparazzi. Perhaps this project I've signed on for won't be as bad as I thought.

    I loved the character of Alice Hirsh. She's a woman struggling with a failed marriage, adjusting to single motherhood, as well as taking care of her elderly mother. Add in a cast of diverse characters to add to the challenge of her changing life, and a book is born. I'll admit there were a few times where situations seemed over the top or characters got annoying and I wanted to throw the book against the wall. But for the most part, I was hooked and kept hoping for a happily ever after ending. I mean, how could you not with a title like Pieces of Happily Ever After?

    So, I was pleasantly surprised how much I actually enjoyed this chick-lit book. I'm not sure I'm a convert yet, but seeing as I have several more books to read and review in this project of mine called the SheKnows Book Club... who knows what will happen over the course of this year.

    Irene is at the SheKnows message boards discussing Pieces of Happily Ever After. If you'd like to know more about the book, talk with the author or just talk with others who have read the book, I encourage you to stop by and check them out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    Boring

    I didn't care too much for this book. It was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mom-Lit at it's finest!

    Alice Hirsh is about to find out what happens after "happily ever after".

    She was going along happily in her life, raising her daughter, making her house a home, working full time and thought she had a good marriage. Her attorney husband lands a huge client, Hollywood queen, Rose Maris, and she is so proud of him. But then he starts working late, going to the gym, and wearing Armani instead of his clothes from The Gap.

    Soon her husband's affair becomes public knowledge through a bunch of tabloid rags and Alice is plunged into Hollywood HELL! Paparazzi is camped outside her door as they what her thoughts on her husband's affair. He denies it of course, but moves out to "find himself". She goes through all the stages, anger, blaming herself, depression. Can she forgive him? Can she win him back? Does she even want him back?

    Add to this her mother gets kicked out her assisted living center, her daughter has a few problems at school, some crazy neighbors, even some x-rated ones, and she becomes reacquainted with an old high school beau.

    As she tries to come to grips with what is happening to her life she makes a few new friends. With them she tries to put her life in order but still wonders if she will be "happily ever after" again.



    I LOVED IT!!!!!

    I had to read this book because so many other bloggers were talking about it and I am glad I listened. I devoured this book in one evening. It is a remarkable story of friendship and how you can find friends in the most unusual ways. It also verifies that you should not pre-judge people by the way they look or their occupation or rumor. It also shows us the true meaning of friendship, your real friends are with you in good times and bad, when you look good or you look like you have crawled out from under a rock.

    I definitely must read more by this author. She tackles serious issues with humor and a unique endearing quality. I wouldn't call it chick-lit exactly, more like mom-lit, I think mom's of all ages will enjoy this book. It's been out for awhile, but if you haven't read this one yet, I highly recommend it.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: This is a book from my own private collection. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    Great Book

    great story!
    couldn't put it down once i started it, i highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Pieces of Happily Ever After (Chick-Lit Read!)

    Pieces of Happily Ever After is the story of Alice Hirsh and the events that occur in her life before and after her husband's affair with Rose Maris, one of Hollywood's Hottest's actresses and box office Queen. When Alice thought that her life was going well and feeling right at home in the San Fernando Valley, everything goes upside down! The story starts with Alice hiding in her home with her 5 year old daughter while the Paparazzi scan her house, waiting for her like vultures for the perfect shot/exclusive! Alice goes through alot in the story and through Irene Zutell's writing you can feel how she tries to lie to herself that things aren't so bad. She tried to hold one but how long can one hold in the pain and embarrasment that she has to dwell in?

    But through these hardships she finds friendship and support from the least expected of places. The Mom's of kids that go to the same school as her daughter. You'll get some good laughs from this story, when you read and learn about how the nieghborhood where Alice lives functions. This story is full of many different characters and little stories, i'm sure you will enjoy it! The pacing was VERY GOOD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    couldn't put this book down..

    I bought this book as a summer ready but it ended up being my spring read because I could not put it down. This book is heartfelt, intriguing, and well-written. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    a must read

    this is a great book. so good that i couldn't put down.
    can't wait for another book by Irene Zutell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun read

    I bought this book not because I wanted to read it but because of a contest and since I had it, then might as well. I was one of those readers who had low expectations on this book, to my surprise it was such a great story that I finished this is one day. Looking forward her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    A wonderful,"pulling-your-life-together" book!

    Wow, was I blown away by this book. I expected to think it was just ok, but I loved it. The author touched on some of life's realities in an inspired and touching way. Instead of ending with the obvious, you're left to imagine the happy ending for Alice and Gabby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A well written drama

    Entertainment lawyer Alex Hirsh accompanied by his wife Alice and their daughter five year old Gabby, relocate from New York to the San Fernando Valley. Alex lands a high maintenance client box-office queen Rose Maris. However, he also begins to change going to a gym to work out helped by a trainer and turning to Armani.

    Soon he begins to work late hours becomes a tabloid favorite for his late nights with Rose Maris. Being a native New Yorker, Alice, once her tear ducts go desert dry, is not one to back down from a confrontation even in wonderland. However, she starts wondering if she wants Alex, who now goes by the name Xander back, as two eccentric female neighbors encourage her to after two hunks she finds interesting.

    PIECES OF HAPPILY EVER AFTER is a well written drama that is saved from the stereotype cabinet by Alice who's refreshing with her New York shtick of disparaging (must have been a Brooklyn Dodger fan in a past life) of everything SO CAL. She and her new BFFs (the profanity queen and the retired porn star) bring humorous withering condemnations of Southern California especially men who think with their lower head like Xander. Yet surprisingly the strength of the novel rests with the mother and daughter relationship as Irene Zutell provides a strong family tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1