Customer Reviews for

Piercing Bible

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Most Complete Piercing Book on the Planet

I am trying to become a body piercer. It is a notoriously difficult industry to integrate into.

This book not only gives you a deep insight into the industry but also the standards required. It covers everything from the piercing rules, through to the equipment and ...
I am trying to become a body piercer. It is a notoriously difficult industry to integrate into.

This book not only gives you a deep insight into the industry but also the standards required. It covers everything from the piercing rules, through to the equipment and different jewellery types, also different ways of aftercare and advice on what to do if something does go wrong with your piercing!

Elayne also shares some personal stories from her vast experience of the body piercing world. Some are rather amusing, some not so but it makes for a very interesting read!

The author also gives both Pro's and Con's to each piercing or jewellery choice, which is thorough, informative and very well researched.

This book is a must for anybody interested in being a piercer or getting a number of piercings!

posted by Knightshade on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Dumb book

This is the stupidest thing i have ever seen in my life!!Dont read!

posted by 8799064 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Most Complete Piercing Book on the Planet

    I am trying to become a body piercer. It is a notoriously difficult industry to integrate into.

    This book not only gives you a deep insight into the industry but also the standards required. It covers everything from the piercing rules, through to the equipment and different jewellery types, also different ways of aftercare and advice on what to do if something does go wrong with your piercing!

    Elayne also shares some personal stories from her vast experience of the body piercing world. Some are rather amusing, some not so but it makes for a very interesting read!

    The author also gives both Pro's and Con's to each piercing or jewellery choice, which is thorough, informative and very well researched.

    This book is a must for anybody interested in being a piercer or getting a number of piercings!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    The Piercing Bible

    Thank the powers that be for Elayne Angel! Her book, The Piercing Bible, is a must-read for anyone considering this art form as a career, anyone thinking of getting pierced, anyone who is already pierced and everyone in-between.

    Elayne leaves no stone unturned in this thoroughly researched guide to safe body piercing. She delves into the history of piercing and the effect this has had, and will likely have, on many generations, before exploring it in its current form as well as its future possibilities. From deciding what to pierce, to finding an accomplished and conscientious piercer; from hygiene issues to piercing trouble-shooting, Elayne has touched on it all.

    Being relatively new to the art, I found myself starved for solid, trustworthy information and, with decades of experience under her belt, Elayne shares a wealth of knowledge, dispels many misconceptions and offers sound advice from the effects your new piercing could have on society's perceptions of you to lifestyle changes that might be necessary if you want to live in harmony with your piercing. The book also discusses different jewellery styles and sizes, equipment used during the different procedures, stretching of piercings, retiring of piercings, problems that may arise, and special situations such as breastfeeding and sex that may be compromised, or enhanced, by the piercing.

    The industry has waited a long time for this book and, after reading it, you might be able to tell your doctor a thing or two about infection control, blood-borne pathogens and cross-contamination.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    So far, pretty good!

    Great book! I wish it had color photos! But VERY informative and straight forward. Would definitely recommend it for people who want to become piercers or those interested in getting them. Elayne Angel sure knows alot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    I have a question

    I wanted to ask how to pierce my tongue myself and how to take care of it? Because i dont have very much money to buy a book and i cant get on a computer please help me thank you

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    The Only Guide You Will Ever Need

    As a nurse and soon to be someone getting my first piercing, I found this book to answer all my questions. This was written by a true arties, and love for her work. The advice made me feel comfortable in doing this. WE as nurses read a lot of medical books, and use it to advice our patients, this is the one and only book a would recommend to anyone thinking of getting a piercing. It is clear and gives something no other book does. It gives you the time it will take to recover, what size you will need, care for the site, and so much more. I'm glad I turned to her for my answers. This is well written book, and easy to understand. I give this my highest praise, and feel this book belongs with the best of medical book. Elayne Angel, even the Greek physician Hippocrates who is known as "the father of medicine" would agree, you are a true practitioner. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    THE best book on piercing

    This is THE best book out there on piercing. Elayne has covered it all. My favorite parts were the descriptions of the piercings and the section on how to locate a competent piercer. She has covered everything from the history of piercing to aftercare. This is a great book to read just for the good information but if you are even considering getting a piercing for the first time or adding to your collection, I strongly urge you to read this book cover to cover. Knowledge is power and there is everything in here to make safe and informed decisions. I would like to thank Elayne for putting the information out there for us!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    THE PIERCING BIBLE

    "The Piercing Bible" is without doubts the most comprehensive guide about the body piercing world. It is addressed to all kind of piercing lovers: beginner piercees will find useful advices on how to choose the right piercing shop and piercer and how to decide the right position according to one's tastes, anatomy and physical activities; already pierced people will find new alternative tips about aftercare, stretching and different material options; worried parents and doctors will be reassured by one of the most skilled and qualified persons about this topic, she explains to them the real risks about some piercings and what to do in order to avoid them; finally this book can be useful also to body piercers because it thoroughly explains each piercing, how to face any problems, it provides some anatomy rudiments and deals with a professional's ethics. Nearly anyone's question, doubt or myth will be treated, for this reason I would recommend it to every person who is interested in body piercing and wants to know more about this topic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    Doctors and nurses educate yourself!

    The Piercing Bible, Definitive Guide is excellent source. As a RN, I have worked in our emergency department and I prepare patients for surgery. I educate my patients and colleagues regarding body piercing. I have found Elayne Angel to be my educator. Her extensive knowledge and professionalism have given me the tools to better teach others. I quote from her book, and try to help remove the stigma associated with people who choose to adorn their bodies. I HIGHLY recommend this book to ALL, but also encourage my fellow healthcare professionals to be informed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    Great book for beginners and professionals

    I had ended up buying this book after reading about the princess diana piercing. I found it to be very informative and have read it from cover to cover.... It is very well written and helpful for piercees of all ages and experiences. I also highly recommend this book if you are uncertain or thinking of an unusual piercing... 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    the piercing bible

    this is a must have for those who take piercings seriously, as well as a guide for the professional piercer.If you want to understand the dynamics of the whole piercing process, then this is the book for you. Varies as a guidance book which provides some history of various piercings as well as what to expect before , during and after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    The Piercing Bible is a fascinating book, even for those people

    The Piercing Bible is a fascinating book, even for those people like me who have never considered getting a body piercing. Elayne Angel deftly teaches the reader about every aspect of piercing from its origins in ancient times to its general acceptance today. You will learn how to decide on a piercing, what style of jewelry is appropriate, what to expect from a piercing studio--and how to avoid the bad ones! Aftercare is discussed in detail to assure your piercing will not migrate or become infected. I read the book from cover to cover and thoroughly enjoyed it. I'd recommend this excellent read to anyone, even if they are not getting a piercing; it's mandatory reading for anyone who plans to be pierced! ~ Author Carrie Cross

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    How do u

    How do u pirec your own nose peas message back on here to alicia or leave a message on twitter im under LovleyAlicia i hae blonde short hair im originally a brunette tho.... thank you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    It's amazing .... for piercing lovers of course

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Very informative and well written!

    This is a great book for any body piercer regardless of experience or anyone looking for in depth information on piercing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Must Read for Potential Piercees!

    I would definitely recommend this book for pierced individuals & those contemplating a piercing (or several). Elayne goes into detail about each part of the process, including the emotional aspect as well as physical. Even goes on to address the insecurities one might have in getting a piercing. I have been able to refer to this book for information about different types of piercings, the healing process of certain piercings, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    I appreciate every word in your book.

    Dear Miss Elayne Angel,

    I realize you must get this a lot, as we 'modified' folk hold you in such high reguard, but thank you very much for your book, "The Piercing Bible". It's made my experiences getting pierced liberating, educated, and empowering. I feel SO much more confident with the decisions I've made because of your shared knowledge. I want to thank you again and again for your time and effort in the industry, and your willingness to spread the word, and celebrate self expression.

    A big fan. I hope to follow your adventures wherever they may take you :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    As a Piercer, I believe this book is a fantasitc reference and text.

    Elayne has taken her years of experience and wisdom and painted a wonderful portrait of the world of Piercing and all it contains. This book is very vital for the piecing enthusiast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    A Book Every Piercer And Piercing Enthusiast Should Have In Their Collection.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading "The Piercing Bible" and I constantly refer back to it whenever a question in my mind arises about anything regarding piercings as it is a great resource to me. My background as a Piercing Apprentice has taught me many things, but having this book has helped me to understand even more all the details that go into each type of piercing available as all subjects are well covered. This book is easy to read, follow and understand whether you are just starting to explore the world of Body Modification or have been exposed to it for years. It is complete with illustrations and detailed explanations of the types of piercings for all parts of the body for both Male and Female. Included with each piercing description is details of what to expect from a Piercer if you're going to be pierced, which is an excellent guide for anyone who might be confused or worried about what the proper procedures are. This is a book that you will find yourself referring to over and over again for answers to questions about any piercing you want to get or already have. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    This book by far is the best!

    Like the headline said, it is the best! I have been piercing for three years and i thought i knew a lot, but i recently picked up this book and it open a whole new world for me! If you like body art it is an amazing book to read and if you are learning how to perform body art then it is a must have! I have introduced all of my co-workers, friends and family to this book and all of them agree that it is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    great educational boook

    the book is the better ones i have read in a while. i wish you sold more books on body piercing and tattooing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2