Customer Reviews for

Pies and Prejudice (The Mother-Daughter Book Club Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for Teens Read Too

Gold Star Award Winner! The girls from the book club enter high school this year. Everything changes when Emma's family announces they're moving to England for the year. Using this news as a jumping-off point, the book club decides to read PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and keep i...
Gold Star Award Winner! The girls from the book club enter high school this year. Everything changes when Emma's family announces they're moving to England for the year. Using this news as a jumping-off point, the book club decides to read PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and keep in touch with Emma and her mother via video chats. Emma and her family switch houses with someone for the year. At first, she doesn't want to leave, but when she arrives in England, she learns to love it. However, she doesn't love the people. One boy follows her around all the time. He's a mini Mr. Collins and Emma can't stand him. She's also not fond of Annabelle, who makes her life miserable both in England and also back home. Unbeknownst to her, her friends start up a pie business to purchase a plane ticket so she can visit during school vacation. Jess can't believe her best friend and her crush are both deserting her this year. She's adjusted to life at boarding school since last year. Now, everyone's figuring out their future career, but Jess can't narrow down a choice. Not knowing what she wants to do with her life deeply disturbs her. Cassidy makes a girl's league hockey team, which means lots of practices and spending lots of time with her new stepfather. She also decides to create a hockey team for girls in the local area. Calling it Chicks with Sticks, her former teacher, Mrs. Bergson, helps her get the program started. But Mrs. Bergson calls in a favor of her own. Snooty Tristan, the boy living in Emma's house, is an ice dancer. He needs a training partner to continue his work towards an exclusive competition. Soon, Cassidy's trying out figure skating and doing her best to live up to his high expectations. Meghan starts up a fashion blog - complete with fashion don'ts. She writes the snarky insults in a Jane Austen-type tone. At first, the blog remains anonymous, but after a queen bee spills the beans, everyone is up in arms, including friends, teachers, and parents. As the group reads PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and learns all about Jane Austen, changes start occurring as the girls form crushes, hopes, and dreams - all while dealing with drama and friendship dilemmas. I love this charming series and hope the book club continues throughout high school.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

As sweet and cute as a slice of pie!

The mother-daughter book club goes international with one of its duo goes across the pond for a year. What better book to discuss than Pride & Prejudice - and what better way to hold weekly discussion than webcams? In the States, Jess, Cassidy, and Megan must face fresh...
The mother-daughter book club goes international with one of its duo goes across the pond for a year. What better book to discuss than Pride & Prejudice - and what better way to hold weekly discussion than webcams? In the States, Jess, Cassidy, and Megan must face freshman year with a pining heart, figure skates instead of hockey sticks, and an anonymous Austen-esque fashion blog, respectively. The 2 British boys who replace their friend are NOT making high school any easier. Emma, on the other hand, is making the best of her last-minute move to England, but the queen bee Annabelle is set on making it memorable in the worst possible way. Will the book club survive the distance - or will they crumble like pies topped with shaving cream?

Pies & Prejudice sounds cute and it IS cute, but if you are expected a modern-day P&P this is not that sort of book. It is actually a 4th book in a series, although I felt that it could stand on its own merits. Previous books would simply serve to build relationships with these girls and their family. What threw me off was the story was told in 4 different voices. They didn't seem very distinctive from each other, so I had to go back to the chapter heading to double-check the narrator every once in a while. I also found myself favoring certain storylines over others, which doesn't allow for a smooth reading in case you are wondering. Pies & Prejudice definitely works to stimulate discussion between mothers and young daughters, especially in a book club, and I think this series is a neat idea!

posted by epicrat on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! The girls from the book club enter high school this year. Everything changes when Emma's family announces they're moving to England for the year. Using this news as a jumping-off point, the book club decides to read PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and keep in touch with Emma and her mother via video chats. Emma and her family switch houses with someone for the year. At first, she doesn't want to leave, but when she arrives in England, she learns to love it. However, she doesn't love the people. One boy follows her around all the time. He's a mini Mr. Collins and Emma can't stand him. She's also not fond of Annabelle, who makes her life miserable both in England and also back home. Unbeknownst to her, her friends start up a pie business to purchase a plane ticket so she can visit during school vacation. Jess can't believe her best friend and her crush are both deserting her this year. She's adjusted to life at boarding school since last year. Now, everyone's figuring out their future career, but Jess can't narrow down a choice. Not knowing what she wants to do with her life deeply disturbs her. Cassidy makes a girl's league hockey team, which means lots of practices and spending lots of time with her new stepfather. She also decides to create a hockey team for girls in the local area. Calling it Chicks with Sticks, her former teacher, Mrs. Bergson, helps her get the program started. But Mrs. Bergson calls in a favor of her own. Snooty Tristan, the boy living in Emma's house, is an ice dancer. He needs a training partner to continue his work towards an exclusive competition. Soon, Cassidy's trying out figure skating and doing her best to live up to his high expectations. Meghan starts up a fashion blog - complete with fashion don'ts. She writes the snarky insults in a Jane Austen-type tone. At first, the blog remains anonymous, but after a queen bee spills the beans, everyone is up in arms, including friends, teachers, and parents. As the group reads PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and learns all about Jane Austen, changes start occurring as the girls form crushes, hopes, and dreams - all while dealing with drama and friendship dilemmas. I love this charming series and hope the book club continues throughout high school.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Wonderful book, highly recommended

    Wonderful book! My 11-year old daughter received this book as a Christmas gift and loved it. She began reading it on our drive home (16 hours)and did not put the book down until she finished. Immediately she picked up Home for Christmas (the 5th book in the series) and read it. Before returning to school, she read both Pies and Prejudice and Home for Christmas, 2 times. She is re-reading them, yet, again.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    BEST MOTHER DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB!!!

    I loved this book!! It was the best one yet!! The book was full of lots of drama and romances. I always wanted to keep reading and find out what was going to happen next! This book was really good!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    LUV LUV LUV MDBC ESPECALLY THE DAUGTHER PART

    the mdbc is reading pride and prejuidice
    Emma moves to England! 1 of the 2 boys living in her house is nice and even becomes megans boyfriend!mean while,cassidy is ice dancing with tristan the snob(MR DARCY)in between the lady shawmuts.jess is heartbroken that her best friend AND her crush move 300,000 miles away.emma is having a tres bein time as Gigi would say, even though avoiding Roooopert Looomis(MR COLLINS)and annabelle "stinkerbelle" fairfax ( tristans cousin who is obsesed with him) (caroline bingley) takes the icing off the cake. Cassidy (elizibeth bennet)like elizebeth is starting warm to tristan i cant tell you any more or i would spoil it


    by the way im team tristan (t.d.s.) for poeple who have read home for the holidays

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    MOMMY DAUGHTER BOOK CLUB IS AT IT AGAIN!

    THIS BOOK IS JAM PAKED WITH LOVE AND DARCYS, NEW FRIENDS AND AND MEAN GIRLS. IF ANY OF THAT HAS HAPPENED TO YOU THAN YOU'LL LOVE THIS BOOK!
    WHILE EMMA IS MOVING AWAY TO ENGLAND (OOPS!) YOU'L JUSTT BEMOVING CLOSER TO HER AND HER FRIENDS.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Awesome book!!!!

    This book is the best one yet in the series, and it is hart to top that! I can relate to it really well. It has a lot of romance in it, more than the other books. I think every girl that is between 9-14 or older should read this. It is an awesome book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best one yet!!!!!!

    I loved this one!!!! It was so sweet, I loved all the romance in it. I just read pride and prejudice so it made it even better. All the couples are so cute and perfect together. I loved everything about this book was great!!!!
    Loved IT!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    MDBC

    This book was soo good that nothing could get me away from it !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Great book

    How great is this book you ask??????? VERY GOOD! the girls learn about long distant relashionships. Megan finds a guy but NO MORE HINTS! DROP ANYTHING AND READ THIS BOOK NOW!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Best Book !!!!!

    This book was probably the best book out of the series I have read yet. Romance, friendship.... Drama is required reading.

    Read the whole series!
    The Mother Daughter Book Club
    Much Ado About Anne
    Dear Pen Pal
    Pies & Predjudice
    Home For the Holidays
    Wish You Were Eyre (coming soon on October 23, 2012)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Question....

    Is this the fourth book or is it the other snowky one?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Adore it

    All these books are awesome, and even though parts of it are sad (Ms Bergson), it is probably my fave one in the series.

    LONG LIVE THE MOTHER DAUGHTER BOOKCLUB!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    I

    I makeing comeks. Cookie kill book. Look for me

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Best book I ever read!

    I LOVE THE SERIES! I DIDN'T READ THIS WHOLE BOOK BUT IT'S GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Pies

    A very good book must make more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Love it!

    I wish there was a book that tells what happens to the characters. After reading tis book i loved it and wished for more, but alas my long time wish didth not come true and i wish in splendid explicty that the author would have a later years books about what happens to all the girls and maybe even what there own daughters do. If the author would do this i would not be so heartbroken at the thought of this glorious series ending. But as we all know all good things come to an end and tis what happened to this series. All that i can say is you must read this series; you will be pleased with yourself, and this is where i leave you to find out by yourself on your own journey. And..............................................................................................................................................................................................READ

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    This book is aweome. I love all the characters and how they feel real. Overall excellent book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Jane Austen and the Concord Girls

    This year, the girls are reading Jane Austen's novel Pride and Prejudice for book club. Originally titled "First Impressions" Pride and Prejudice serves as a guide for the actions of certain characters in this novel. There are two new boys in town, one a Mr. Darcy and one a Mr. Bingley. There's an Elizabeth and Jane Bennet, too, winkwink. The Hawethorns surprise everyone with their sudden idea of a house swap. They go to England and the Berkeleys (including the two new boys) move in to their house (just for the year, though). Over in England, Emma deals with a new queen bee (Caroline Bingley) named Annabelle. With a new queen bee, boys vying for oblivious Cassidy's attention,Megan possibly having a realistic crush, Jess snatching conversations with her Darcy whenever possible, and Emma trying to get away from Rooooooopert (Mr. Collins), the book club is in for quite a twist. Oh, and there's also a lot of pies, fashion faux pas, and humour. READ IT! Although, if you've read the others, you will, of course, want to read this one. The next book, Home for the Holidays, sounds action packed too, and there's a sneak peak on the author's website. Check it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Heather has done it again. She has wowed me with her writing skills and surprised me with new twists in the story. I can't wait till Home for the Holidays (#5, comes out in October). Is it Becca on the cover of Home for the Holidays? Anyway, Pies and Prejudice is a MUST READ! I think Ms. Austen will be very proud of Heather and her girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    LOVE these series!

    these series are awesome and much much more! i can't put these books down and every book of this series gets better and better. i would recommend it to preteens and teens everywhere! i love how girls of different personalities can be bffs. when i finished this book i was so disappointed that i didn't have the 5th one to read next i can't wait until it does come out! this book teaches girls how to deal with problems and care for their friends and to think thorough something before you do it.PERFECT book for all girls!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10