BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Pig Did It

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Ehh.

    It was okay. I didn't care for the style of writing. I won't be reading the sequels. The other members of my book club were even less impressed than i was, they didn't even finish it.
    Love the photo on the cover :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    NOT recommended for mystery lovers

    A lot blathering and "thinking" by Aaron, the main character, but not much much else. The mystery is never solved and is a very, very small mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    DUH!

    self-examination, drawn out physical description and yet the pig plays only a small part. Usually I don't like to get to the end of a good book, but couldn't wait for the last page of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    melodrama

    My husband and I laughed our way through this book as I read it out loud. Marvelous fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    The Pig was the best part of the book

    The book was a bit dull. My favorite parts were when the pig was in the story but unfortunately he wasn't always around. The ending comes out of left field and seem to be disjointed from the rest of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    loved it!

    I'm looking forward to the sequels. Loved the little soliliquys by the aunt. Good quotes. I loved this book and the characters in it. Quirky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Could have been a great book

    The book had several funny parts but as a whole it didn't keep my attention. The funniest parts were of course when the Irish characters were involved. But the main character is an American born Irish man who is a melodramatic creative writing professor. So the majority of the book is his thoughts written as an English professor would write them. It made the book feel like it was trying to be some great literary piece instead of what it should have been, a fun read about Irish antics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    laugh out loud funny

    I usually read murder and mayhem. But this title got my attention. I'm glad it did. Some of the chapters made me laugh so hard my kids came into my room to see what I was 'watching'. I'm Irish as well and now I now why my husband says the big 'I' (comical insanity} runs through my veins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Avid reader

    This book is a delightful read! Found myself laughing out loud! Loved the pig and his true pig antics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    The Pig Did It

    This is an absolutely delightful novel. There's mystery, love, humor, and imagination throughout. I read it in one day's time and laughed on almost every page ... sometimes outloud. It is definitely a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    Sometimes cute but for the most part I found it didn't hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific character study

    After another failed love, thirty-two years old creative writing teacher Aaron McCloud escapes New York to spend time with his Aunt Kitty in County Kerry, Ireland. Kitty like her nephew is a writer, but instead of instructing others she earns a lucrative living rewriting the classics. Aaron figures that the great English authors like Shakespeare and Dickens are turning in their grave.----------- Although he feels like a failure with his female relationships, Aaron finds a lost pig that adopts him wherever Aaron goes the pig is sure to follow him. When the pig digging in the back yard uncovers a human skeleton, Kitty says he is the missing Declan Tovey. She believes the pig¿s owner, Lolly McKeever is behind the death and burial, but she won¿t admit even owning the pig. Although he learns Lolly had a motive for Declan¿s death, Aaron is attracted to her while also wonders if his aunt, who butchers the language, might be a modern day Lady Macbeth.----------- The western Irish countryside is rarely this much macabre fun as found in THE PIG DID IT, a terrific character study. Joseph Caldwell satirizes manners using the pig and the corpse to force everyone to wrestle in the mud, dirt and sea. The whodunit is cleverly designed not as much as a murder mystery, but more to allow readers to look deep into the souls of the prime trio especially the visiting American, who must choose between desire and blood.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2