Customer Reviews for

A Pig in Provence: Good Food and Simple Pleasures in the South of France

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Thoroughly enjoyable

I really enjoyed this book! I would whole-heartedly recommend it for anyone who enjoys reading about food and food preparation, life in Provence, and those who appreciate a really good bottle of wine and an espresso at the closure of a meal.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

At first I was disappointed because I thought it was a story wit

At first I was disappointed because I thought it was a story with a plot. As I got deeper into it and found myself traveling through french cooking, hunting and gathering, and learning about foods made from scratch and how to identify them and prepare them, I couldn't ...
At first I was disappointed because I thought it was a story with a plot. As I got deeper into it and found myself traveling through french cooking, hunting and gathering, and learning about foods made from scratch and how to identify them and prepare them, I couldn't quit reading. I had a bit of problem in some places since I don't know the french language. If you like to cook or just like great food, it's a great read.

posted by Montana-Spark on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book! I would whole-heartedly recommend it for anyone who enjoys reading about food and food preparation, life in Provence, and those who appreciate a really good bottle of wine and an espresso at the closure of a meal.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    An insightful book

    I enjoyed reading the author's experiences au provence.
    P


    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    At first I was disappointed because I thought it was a story wit

    At first I was disappointed because I thought it was a story with a plot. As I got deeper into it and found myself traveling through french cooking, hunting and gathering, and learning about foods made from scratch and how to identify them and prepare them, I couldn't quit reading. I had a bit of problem in some places since I don't know the french language. If you like to cook or just like great food, it's a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Evocative

    As soon as I read the sample, I had to buy the book. Now I'm considering visiting Provence. Good travel books are magic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    FLAG CLANS LEDER'S Bio

    Name hawkstar|| looks i have black fur and a white belly. I also have gray eyes.|| rank LEADER!||||| PERSONALITY I AM TOUGH BUT LOVING WEAK BUT STRONG FIRCE BUT LOVING CALM BUT HYPER!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Onyx

    She trotted in, wheeking softly to herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Waddles

    Looks at onyx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Highly recommended

    This story is really wonderful to read and to get the recipes too. Wow. It is very interesting to learn of the challenges involved in making a home, purchasing the animals, making the cheese, not to mention collecting mushrooms and herbs. Lovely. Our family loves France and have been there several times to stay with a lovely family in the Naintre area. Their daughter spent a year with us in the US and we have become a family much like this author and some of her neighbors. We have had delightful meals with and adventures together. This book brought much of our French experience back.

    I can taste the aire of France.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Waddles

    [Here]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    America

    Waddles?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Worst Book Ever - I want my money back

    How do books like this ever get published? Don't waste your money on this piece of junk. My book club read this and nobody gave it higher than one star.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Sorry. For SCAVENGER HUNT people l ment ninth

    Chow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    I love you JB

    OMG

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    You will love it

    Fresh writing, full of delicious information. A must if you love France

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Great story of life in Provence.

    I enjoy reading books about places I have visited. This one makes me want to live in Provence!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Ads

    "Please join SwiftClan at 'White Wings.' We are in desperate need of warriors! Thanks!"

    "If you need a Clan, then join BreezeClan, at 'Breezy.' We need warriors, apprentices, queens, and kits!"

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Willowsong

    Please put an ad about my book its at spray results 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 and 9

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    MISSING

    Gracefeathe if you know were she is please send her to asd or bark result 1

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2